We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice hotel in great sienna location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albergo Cannon d'Oro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Albergo Cannon d'Oro
Ranked #31 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“nice hotel in great sienna location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We parked at the stadium. The hotel was surprisingly easy to find after an easy walk of perhaps 10 minutes. The hotel is perfectly situated in the center of Sienna. We had a large family room with and extra bed for the five of us. It turned out to be a very good value. The room was very comfortable. Breakfast was not spectacular but better than we expected. But, perhaps the best reason to stay was the helpful hotel management. We enjoyed chatting as they gave us excellent advice regarding where to eat and what to do around Sienna.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt_ATX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    182
    169
    59
    19
See reviews for
80
196
30
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

The Cannon d'Oro is a lovely small hotel right in the centre of Siena. It is clean, quiet, and beautifully kept - a perfect base for exploring the city. We arrived on the bus from Florence, knowing little about Siena, and discovered that not only is the Cannon d'Oro only 5 minutes' walk from the bus station, it is only 5 minutes' walk from most of the beautiful sights of Siena and is in the middle of the main shopping area.

The hotel is set back from the main shopping street (via Montanini/via Banchi di Sopra) and you enter it through a small covered lane which speaks of the centuries of history of this lovely place. Hence, noise levels are low even though the hotel is in the centre of things. While only rated two stars, the hotel is kept spotless and the rooms are beautiful and romantic. It represents excellent value for money. No air conditioning, but the ceiling fans do make a difference.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street (via Montanini) would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JR_NZ42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling Scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

The hotel is ideally situated in the centre of town and a 5 min walk away from the main bus and coach station. Staff are very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable and the place is kept very clean.
The location is great if travelling with kids as you can always go back for an hour rest when the museum visits get too much! Family room for 4 people was spacious & had a fan to keep mosquitos away and cool.Good value for money in this expensive town during high season.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaBirgitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolzano, Italy
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

It is is a very good hotel. It is located in the downtown of the city, but it is important to know how to reach it. I have to take a taxi, because I don't know Siena has a modern system of escalators that comunicates the train station (which is outside of the city) with the downtown.

The breakfast is ok, but the coffee is not a real coffee, but made of barley (italian toasted barley).

Room Tip: The rooms are good there
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmcuencaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxahachie, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

This hotel wasn't very upscale or impressive, but if all you need is a clean bed and a good shower, it fits the bill. Great location on the main street in Siena, only 5 minutes walking to the Piazza del Campo, the main square, so everything is very easily accessible.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerBR11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

The Cannon D' Oro was booked by my husband based on the reviews he read on trip advisor. The hotel is located in a nice area close to the Campo and walking distance to the Basilica and stores.

The hotel felt more like a hostel to me. It would be perfect for travelers who don't care about ammenities. However this is not a place for me.

The room is very sparse and the noise level at times was loud due to the echoey hallways and thin doors. There is literally one outlet in the entire room and none in the bathroom. There is also no hair dryer although one can be provided at the front desk. Our room did have air conditioning, but our kids room did not. Even with the air conditioning, it never got comfortably cool in the room. The ventilation in the bathroom was horrible and had a funky smell.

There is a elevator, but it only accesses a small section of the hotel. So if walking up stairs with luggage is a difficulty - this isn't the hotel for you.

Breakfast was simple and satisfactory with one exception....the coffee was horrible! If you are like me and enjoy a delicious cup of Italian cappuccino to jump start your day - you definitely will be disappointed.

Wifi is spotty and my room didn't get it but my boys room did. As for the staff, they were very nice and helpful so no bad marks on the staff.

So If you are looking for a hotel verses hostel experience, you might wanna rethink this one.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laney1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Siena hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Palmerton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Need a clean room, hot shower, and a place to lay your head at night, a short walk from all the interesting bits of Siena while sticking to a budget? Then this may be your hotel. I was booked as part of a group so don't know the specific price for our accommodations, but I am guessing our Italian host was making her pennies count.

Rooms are very basic, but clean. The towels were weirdly non-absorbant. No trouble with hot water or bad smells in the bathroom. View was an alleyway, not exactly a thrill but not noisy with traffic at night, either.

Location is great, just walk out the door and you'll find shops, restaurants, and a short hike will bring you to many historic sites and the Campo. Staff was very pleasant as well. Breakfast was fine, nothing to write home about for good or for ill.

Noise was . . . well, a factor. The first night our radiator for reasons of its own began to glurg and gurgle. Loudly. First we thought the toilet tank was leaking, but then I figured out it was the radiators--which we were not using. I tried to tighten the knob to no avail. Eventually we wrapped it up like a burrito in extra bedding to muffle the racket. After about two hours of glugging and gurgling it just stopped, never to make another sound the rest of our stay.

That aside, it is impossible to walk, talk, move luggage, or open and shut a door without making one heck of a racket, no matter how quiet you are trying to be. If you are a light sleeper, this is going to be annoying. If you are really tired and can sleep through sounds, you're good to go. Beds are comfy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tre Donzelle
Hotel Tre Donzelle
#27 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
#24 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel la Perla
Hotel la Perla
#34 of 40 in Siena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alma Domus
Hotel Alma Domus
#19 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chiusarelli
Hotel Chiusarelli
#18 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Centrale
Hotel Centrale
#30 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Cannon d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Cannon d'Oro

Property: Albergo Cannon d'Oro
Address: Via Dei Montanini 28, 53100, Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Albergo Cannon d'Oro 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Albergo Cannon d'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Cannon d`Oro Hotel Siena
Albergo Cannon d Oro Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing