We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a view!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albergo Bernini

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Albergo Bernini
Ranked #17 of 118 Siena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“What a view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2004

This hotel has a wonderful patio overlooking the town of Siena. What a beautiful view. Breakfast was served on the patio. The staff knew some English and were very helpful to us. We contacted them shortly before our trip and the only room available was an apartment down the hill from the Hotel. The were three nice sized rooms but the walls were so thin that we were able to easily hear conversations from another room. Next time we visit Siena we will try to get a room with a view in the hotel building.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    138
    27
    10
    7
See reviews for
62
244
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2004

We stayed at the Bernini late September 2004. A great location, you can walk there from where the Sita (Citta) bus lets you off in town. If you are coming from Florence, be sure to take this bus versus the train, as the train station is outside the Siena wall and not nearly as convenient.

The hosts are friendly, very helpful and gracious. Although we shared a bathroom, we had a sink in our room and it was not a problem at all. The room was clean and cosy. They have a wonderful terrace in the back with a great view of the Duomo. Be sure to ask about the dinners they prepare each evening. After exploring all day, it was nice to have a relaxing good meal and not have to leave the hotel! We would definitely stay there again!

Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2004

We must have been here on an off week compared to other reviews. The price was excellent compared to other Siena hotels. The rooms were generally clean and the location and view from this hotel are hard to beat but we didn't find the folks running the place particularly helpful or friendly though. The shared bathrooms were dirty and smelled poorly. Probably a good bet if you get a room with a private bathroom.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okmulgee, OK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2004

Small, family atmosphere, wonderful people; loved Chico the gatto; good showers/toilets nearby down the hall; nice size rooms, comfortable but plain. Good location, watched what seemed like the whole town going by waving banners and singing when the Siena pro basketball team won the (national) title (if I understood correctly). Just enough English. Good breakfasts on an upper patio with great views. Was there in June 2004. Would stay there again, gladly.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2004

I just returned from a 2 week trip in Italy, with 2 nights in Siena at Albergo Bernini. I absolutely fell in love with everything about this centrally located hotel. I had a charming and comfortable single room with a bathroom and an unbelievable view of the Duomo. Alessandro (the son) was so friendly and helpful, and made me feel right at home. As a single female traveling alone, I immediately felt comfortable, welcomed, and safe. A delicious breakfast (eggs, bacon, toast, muffin, cappucino, juice) is served on the balcony with the most amazing view of Siena. I even had a scrumptious dinner one evening on the balcony. I was actually sad to leave the folks at Albergo Bernini, and I can't wait to go back to Siena to visit.

Helpful?
5 Thank Rabouhana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2004

We stayed at the Albergo Bernini in June 2004 and really liked it. The location is really good - near to San Domenico and St. Catherine's house. Every day we would hear the bells from both of these places - it was awesome! Our two rooms both had incredible views!! There was no TV or phone in our room but there was a payphone in the hall. The family cat, Chico, frequented our room and entertained us most nights. The room size was average, nothing extraordinary and the baths were small but good. Their terrace is really nice, unless your window faces it and you can hear everything that goes on up there - we liked hanging out up there though. We would defintely stay here again - it was a good deal with some of the best views of the city and the Tuscan countryside.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2004

My husband and I stayed at the Bernini for 3 nights. Siena is a wonderful place to visit and this hotel was centrally located, a good value and a true Italian experience. As others have mentioned, the family of owners are warm and welcoming. The rooms are clean and simple. Unfortunately, our room looked out onto the street, and was noisy at night. When we told the owner, he immediately moved us to another room and promised us a "very special" view (from the bathroom!). The family has a mynah bird who says "ciao" when you walk by. Who can resist that?

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#5 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,051 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alma Domus
Hotel Alma Domus
#19 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chiusarelli
Hotel Chiusarelli
#18 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B Il Corso
B&B Il Corso
#4 of 118 in Siena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.1 mi away
Il Battistero Siena
Il Battistero Siena
#7 of 118 in Siena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Bernini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Bernini

Property: Albergo Bernini
Address: Via della Sapienza 15, 53100, Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 118 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Albergo Bernini 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is in the heart of Siena, with 10 nice rooms and a great view from our wonderful terrace that is 24 h open to all the guests.we have wireless connection, breakfast service, ceiling fun in all of the rooms and the staff is always glad to be at your services for all your problems.We will be very happy to welcome you in our house! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Albergo Bernini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Bernini Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing