We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Bernini

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Albergo Bernini to your Saves list
Albergo Bernini
Via della Sapienza 15, 53100, Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 111 Siena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well located”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

An excellent, old world charm decorated with real old furniture, pictures, lamp shades!

The family ( mostly sisters ) runs it well with personal charm and attention, you get a sense of living with great hospitality unlike a cold 5 star ( or 3 or 4)
chain hotel. Yet there is privacy.

Siena is best reached by bus from Florence, within 1 hour and the bus terminal is less than 10 mins from the hotel. The streets are largely cobbled and dragging your Samsonite through it can damage the wheels.
But if you wheel it along the road pavement it should be fine.

It is also within 10mins of the Duomo, Campo and all the quaint side streets, gardens. Take time to discover all the ways and you'll find even shorter routes to these attraction! Even the Chapel of Caterina is just next door!

I would recommend staying here. I had WiFi issues here that was not resolved. ( I did not pursue this with them, It was probably a password problem on their end of the set up, as I could access other WiFi hotspots in the vicinity.)

Room Tip: We stayed in room #2 which has ensuite toilet & shower. If you dont mind a wet floor after showe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SQcrew77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We arrived to a warm welcome and great hospitality! We had a nice comfortable room with bath, and a street view. Our one wish was for thicker, more absorbant towels. The stunning views are from the rooftop dining terrace, where both evening and morning are delightful, with changing light making for excellent photo opportunities, and time to just soak in the atmosphere of Sienna, (including romantic moonlit nights over the city when we were there). The location provides easy walking access to great restaurants, and all the sites. Overall, we were very satisfied, and will return when next in Siena.

Room Tip: We had Room 4, which provided a private bath, a nice window overlooking the street, and good ventila...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tappahannock, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My sister from Falls Church wrote a review about our wonderful stay in Siena at the Albergo Bernini. We do love Carlotta, and it turns out she loves us, too. She even made a homemade fruit tart for my sister's birthday breakfast. I would definitely stay here again, and highly recommend it to anyone looking for a comfortable, well-run and well-situated B&B in Siena. My only regret was having to leave.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lrennolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Please please do yourselves a favor and stay at Albergo Bernini when visiting Siena! My sister and I were there last week for 3 nights and wished we could stay longer! The rooms are well laid out -- simple, but nice and very clean. Have never shared a bathroom before, but it was NOT an issue. The terrace is to die for! Just what you imagine of old world Italy with stunning views of Siena, the Cathedral (go see St Caterina's head), and the Duemo! We met some other guests who were from Canada and we all became fast friends under the warm inviting spell of the Albergo Bernini and our experiences in Siena!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

First, I must say that my one and only regret about staying here was that we could only spend one night. There was only one night available when planning our trip, and we snapped it up because of how many great reviews I've read about Albergo Bernini. How glad I am that we did!!! When Carlotta ushered us into our room, I got CHILLS. The view from our room was worth at least a million bucks! The cathedral was perfectly framed in our large bedroom window, and through a small window in our bathroom, we had a stunning view of Siena itself.

The terrace is incredibly peaceful, and the breakfast is totally worth the extra cost! We soaked up every single minute on that terrace, whether we were enjoying the eggs, toast, pastries, yogurt and coffee or sipping glasses of wine and watching the sunset. Purely delightful.

And finally, Carlotta was a wonderful hostess. She is warm and friendly and gave us extremely helpful advice on what to see on our journey through Tuscany. In addition to reserving a cab for us, she allowed us to leave our bags after checkout and then return to rest/recharge in the common area while we finalized the next leg of our journey. Again, this is AFTER we had checked out.

Albergo Bernini is superbly welcoming and a wonderful value. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShannonPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We agree with anyone who mentioned that the rooms are basic and no-frills however all of that pales into insignificance when you get shown out onto the terrace and get your first panorama of Siena. It faces straight onto the hill with the Duoma and the Cathedral and having that view - without a horde of tourists around us snapping away makes you feel wealthier than you are. Also you can use it throughout the day and it's lovely to sip a beer or chat while digesting the day's sightseeing.
I know it seems a bit of overkill to go on about the terrace but it's fairly rare in the B-and-B land to have that type of communal - yet quiet space.

Apart from the terrace, welcome and help from Carlotta was excellent. She spoke to us about what to see and was of invaluable assistance when we wanted to plan a half-day bicycle excursion.

The location is excellent - you are very near everything including a supermarket where you can buy lunchy things to eat on - yes you've guessed it - the terrace.
Our room didn't have the panorama but did onto a picturesque narrow street. The bed was not quite as firm as it could be but everything is clean and tidy (and basic hence the 3star, but no probs ) but it's excellent value and was the cheapest place we stayed in Italy on a trip that included Florence and Bologna.

One tip - for those wondering where the curtains are in Room 2(?) there are none - you have to close the shutters to avoid giving the friendly family 10 feet across the street an eyeful when you get changed.
We didn't have the breakfast but based on what others are saying this was a bit of an oversight so it's probably lovely.
It has wireless which may not be great in all the rooms but is a strong signal in the sitting room area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Colm1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This hotel has a very welcoming feeling and Daniella is a wonderful person. She is always willing to help you and provide honest recommendations. We felt so much peace and relaxing. The view from the terrace and our rooms left us speechless. It is very close to the Piazza and next door to St Catalina's home. We had a share bathroom, no problem clean all the time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yohaira A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#4 of 39 in Siena
4.5 of 5 stars 2,489 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alma Domus
Hotel Alma Domus
#14 of 39 in Siena
4.0 of 5 stars 641 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 39 in Siena
4.5 of 5 stars 1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Chicca B&B
La Chicca B&B
#17 of 111 in Siena
4.5 of 5 stars 65 reviews
0.1 mi away
Il Battistero Siena B&B
0.0 mi away
Campo Regio Relais
Campo Regio Relais
#8 of 111 in Siena
5.0 of 5 stars 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Bernini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Bernini

Address: Via della Sapienza 15, 53100, Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is in the heart of Siena, with 10 nice rooms and a great view from our wonderful terrace that is 24 h open to all the guests.we have wireless connection, breakfast service, ceiling fun in all of the rooms and the staff is always glad to be at your services for all your problems.We will be very happy to welcome you in our house! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Albergo Bernini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Bernini Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing