We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff in a great location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Italia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Italia
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Port Neill, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff in a great location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We caught the Sena busline from Rome. It dropped us at the train station. We had to walk through the shopping mall and go up quite a few escalators to the street level.From there it was only about a 300 metre walk to hotel.
Girls on the desk were wonderful. Gave us a map and marked things of interest within walking distance.
Free Wii Fi and delicious breakfast. Rooms were clean and basic. Nice little lounge downstairs where you could enjoy a wine or coffee.
Stroll to old city centre, restaurants or grocery store etc.
Front desk staff also booked.a few day trips for us too. Highly.recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louisejaynemcdonough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-italia-siena, Direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thanks a lot for leaving this nice review about us.
It’s really very important to us knowing your opinion to improve more and more our service.
I’m glad you chose Hotel Italia for you visit in Siena and I’m very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us!
Just a note…WIFI is free just for direct reservation as yours!
Lokking forward to your nex visit, please aaccept our kindest regards,

Federica Fiochi and the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    994
    775
    161
    33
    13
See reviews for
367
1,029
97
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We arrived in Siena without having a booking, in general Siena hotels dont seem to come cheap. This hotel was a great bargain. It was pristine, and had everything you would look for in a hotel. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, the rooms are nice and big with aircon, the breakfast was one of the best we had on our travels. I would highly recommend this hotel. It's about a 20minute walk from Siena centre and it cost us about 8euro to get a taxi back that evening. There is free parking with the hotel. The one thing I wasn't very happy about was the lack of free wifi. There was a charge of 1e per hour for wifi, as we did not book directly via the hotel website. So keep this in mind when booking. Other than that we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lidias123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-italia-siena, Direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Lidias123, thanks for your nice review.
I’m surprised about what you report on the wifi. For direct booking…and if you walked in…it was definitively a direct one…WIFI is completely free of charge. I don’t know what happened, I’m so sorry about that, really, if you’ll come back I’ll find the way to make me forgive.
I’m glad you appreciated your stay anyway and many thanks for recommending us…I really appreciate it.
Best regards from me and the Staff,

Federica Fiochi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

What a great place to stay. Wished we could have stayed longer and just taken day trips from Siena. Arriving by train is it super easy to walk to hotel. Escalators take you up from station to street level easily and then just take a right for about 2-3 blocks and you have arrived. Make your reservations online and get free wi-fi. Checking in was fast, easy and the staff speak very good English. They are so friendly and helpful and make you, the customer, feel special. We were able to drop off bags and be on our way on a tour the front desk made for us that picked us up right at the front door - how awesome is that? We had a double superior room that was extremely clean, nicely furnished, A/C, private bath, mini fridge, TV, room safe, large closet,Firm beds, quiet room but...the best part is breakfast. What a great buffet of items. Europeans are much better at making breakfast a true "meal" than in america. Everything was fresh, clean and replenished quickly. How often does one find chocolate fondue on a breakfast buffett? The walk to the center of the old town is a bit of a walk (maybe a mile?) but the hotel itself is only about 2 blocks from a bus stop that takes you to other towns in the area or around town. I would love to return to stay at this place and also would highly recommend it to anyone wanting a smaller, less urban place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vistaviewer77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-italia-siena, Direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
GRAZIE! GRAZIE! GRAZIE! I really don’t have words enough to transimt you how happy I am with this incredible review!!!
What a satisfaction!!! I’m so glad your stay was that good, I love giving a nice welcome, people “must” feel good here, that’s what we want…me and all my staff.
So many thanks for posting this amazing review and above all for choosing us and for witing that you would defitively come back…we trust you…and wait for you!
Warmest regards from all of us,

Federica Fiochi and the Staff

p.s: distance from the beginning of the old town 300 meters=0,186 miles, from Piazza del Campo 1,2 km= 0,746 miles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Italia for one night while traveling between Orvieto and Gaiole. We chose to stay outside the city walls for convenience of parking etc. The hotel was clean, rooms were large and mostly comfortable though we found the bed a bit hard. Breakfast was very good with lots of choices, one of the better buffet breakfasts we had. Best of all was the location to the city walls. About a 10 min walk had us inside the gate and into Piazza del Campo.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingWineaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-italia-siena, Direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest, many thanks for posting this nice review about us. I’m sorry about the bed but it’s very subjective and we had to choose one kind.
I’m glad that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our services and location.
Let’s come and vivit us again soon.
Best regards from me and the Staff,

Federica Fiochi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

What a gem of a hotel, we felt like we were in our home, not a hotel. The women at the front desk are efficient, charming, and work hard to make your stay perfect. The hotel is a short walk from the escalators in the train station, and a very brief walk to the main entrance to old Sienna. The rooms are not huge, but the bathrooms are large and the big windows open out to the street at the front; not sure what was at the back of the hotel. We are so glad we experienced Sienna while enjoying this hotel, I would highly recommend it!

Room Tip: they do have some hard beds which I bet they are replacing ... if that is an issue, maybe ask them
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toes123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-italia-siena, Direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear toes123…TO BE WONDERFUL IS YOUR REVIEW!!! Grazie, thanks!
For your next visit (…we hope so… :-)) you could try another kind of room…you’ll find always the best offers and price on our web site.
A warm regards from Siena,

Federica Fiochi and the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Last August My wife and I stayed in Hotel Italia in Siena as part of our 4 weeks honeymoon trip in Belpaese!
We have asked during the booking of this hotel, for one of the nicest room for a fresh married couple and the staff made us super happy. When we walked in room we had a lovely message and nice biscuits in the shape of a heart for a newly marriage.Room big and spotless, modern bathroom, nice balcony with chairs and table good breakfast and very helpful staff!
Siena is a stunning city and it has a unique style different from other places in Tuscany...
So much to see in Siena, Piazza del Campo and the city's narrows streets are the highlights!
Siena has good restaurant but in the city centre they can be overpriced...
The hotel Italia it is not right in the centre of Siena, probably good 20 minutes walking from the main attractions, but very good value for a very touristic place.
Grazie ancora cordiali saluti
Ermanno

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ermanno I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-italia-siena, Direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Ermanno, many thanks for sharing your nice comment!
I’m really glad that you and your wife appreciated our small present to wish you all the best!
Siena is a really stunning city and it can be different in every season…so let’s come back soon!!!
Me and the Staff look forward to welcoming you again.
Sincere regards,

Federica Fiochi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

The hotels reception were so friendly and helpful. We felt welcome as soon as we walked through the door.
Our room was well decorated, second floor, back of the hotel.
Breakfast was adequate although sometimes quite busy and crowded.
It is a pleasant walk to the centre and approximately 20 minute walk to Il Campo with plenty of restaurants on the way.
we would definitely return if in the area again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alfiew05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-italia-siena, Direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear alfiew05….THANKS! I really want to thank you for this great review. It’s always nice reading good comments but when you point out something so good about my staff I’m particularly happy and proud because I believe they deserve all the best . So, many many thanks for writing those nice words.
Awaiting to receive your next visit please accept my kindest regards.

Federica Fiochi and the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#5 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,104 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#11 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,988 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
1.9 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#16 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Italia

Property: Hotel Italia
Address: Viale Camillo Benso di Cavour 67, 53100, Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Siena
#7 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#7 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Italia 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly 3 star Hotel close to the Siena City Centre,completely refreshed, easy access from the train station by the escalator, parking (to be reserved). All comforts: Air Conditioned, Tv Lcd Sat with free Sky Channels, WiFi (free for reservation on our web site),Great Buffet Breakfast with cold and hot delicacies, dainties for the sweet tooth guests, gluten free and vegan food.From May to September enjoy for free Garden Hotel’s swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Italia Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing