We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After all, I would be back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
Ranked #24 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Reviewed June 22, 2013

The location is the main advantage of this hotel. Nice staff, new and clean place. Good rooms. But there is no breakfast included in the price and the speed of the internet is terrible. It's impossible to access Facebook and your email depending the time... Sometimes, you arrive at the hotel and there is no one to see you but after a couple of days you're at home there. If you go there in June or July, keep in mind that the street's noise is impossible to tolerate. But this is the price of its excellent location.

Room Tip: Choose for a back room in the last floor. Quieter than others...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HeitorLoureiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
There are newer reviews for Piccolo Hotel Etruria
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 277 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2013

This small hotel is 20 metres far from Piazza del Campo, so, if you want to stay as central as possible, the location is unbeatable. There is an obvious downside though (you can't have everything in life): noise. A lot of. If you're not a heavy sleeper, impossibile to do without earplugs: people shouting until very late and, if there happens to be some celebration by one of the "contrade" in which the town is divided, more people playing drums along the streets since 7 in the morning. If this is not a problem for you, the hotel is a good choice in Siena: fairly priced, nice and helpful staff, clean and big enough rooms (yet average and a bit tired: as a matter of fact, they are undergoing a refurbishment very soon). Breakfast has an additional cost of € 6.50, perfectly reasonable if you consider it's a continental buffet. If you usually have just a coffee or cappuccino and one or two pastries at breakfast though, you'd better go to the café down the corner. Ah, one last piece of information: there is a lift, a sort of service elevator, where you have to push the button all the time to call it and keep it moving once you're in it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bathor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Picolo Hotel Etruria is a small, family-run hotel in central Siena. Its location is ideal for seeing Siena, though slightly cumbersome as a base for daytrips to the rest of Toscana (Tuscany). The owners are friendly, while rooms are plain.

This hotel faces a small alley branching off from the busy Via Banchi di Sotto that, together with Via di Città, encircles the town center of Piazza del Campo. It is one block away from the University of Siena, and is close to Via Banchi di Sopra, the main shopping street of walled Siena. Location-wise, it doesn’t get much better than this for exploring Siena on foot. Just like many other hilly Tuscan towns, however, parking lots are on the edge of the town, and the train station down below needs a bus ride. Still, this is more of a nuisance than a showstopper for Tuscan field trips, and the bus stop at Viale Tozzi with many long-distance connections is less than 10 minutes away.

The hotel has on the ground floor its front desk and a room doubling as lounge and breakfast room. There is a tiny elevator for rooms above. Some rooms look over Via Banchi di Sotto, while others face the said small alley. Understandably they are not so quiet, exacerbated by the practically non-existent soundproofing. They are plain, simple, acceptably clean, and with few amenities as to be expected. Our small bathroom without any toiletry was also relatively clean and usable, though towel hangers are in awkward places. The shower stall has some mold, and its doors would not close properly so that water would inevitably leak. Breakfast costs extra and is very modest, so probably it is better to have the meal elsewhere.

A brother and a sister run this property, and they are both friendly and helpful. The cheerful brother made suggestions on local restaurants, one of which proved to be particularly enchanting.

In summary, Picolo Hotel Etruria is a mixture of good location, friendly people, plain rooms, and average sleep quality. Overall our impression is slightly above-average, between 3 and 3.5 points in TripAdvisor scale.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dessertmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The location is fantastic and staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The room was very small but sufficient. The bathroom is problematic as when you shower the bathroom floods and the shower curtain had mould on it.
We were happy to have a comfy bed!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We found the owners of this hotel to be extremely friendly, helpful, and accommodating to whatever needs we had. The rooms were spacious and clean, and the location was excellent for sightseeing. They also spoke English and kindly helped me with my tenuous Italian. Prices were also very competitive. I would definitely return there in a future visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Excellent location for exploring Siena (mere steps away from il Campo the main square) as well as day trips to the Tuscan countryside and San Gimignano. The room was spacious, quiet and clean. The staff were amazing - friendly and helpful and fluent in English. Good value! Extra charge for breakfast if you want it.

Room Tip: If arriving by train take a taxi as its a long trek from the station. 10€ ride
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franny2337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed here in April 2013. The brother and sister team who manage this hotel could not have been more helpful, assisting us with restaurant selections and all our transportation needs. We were leaving on "workers day" when to our surprise no buses were running. They went out of their way to help us find alternative means of travel to get to our next destination.
The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast is the only weak link here, I would eat at the cafe just around the corner from the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tre Donzelle
Hotel Tre Donzelle
#27 of 40 in Siena
246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel la Perla
Hotel la Perla
#32 of 40 in Siena
178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Centrale
Hotel Centrale
#28 of 40 in Siena
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alma Domus
Hotel Alma Domus
#21 of 40 in Siena
836 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Chiusarelli
Hotel Chiusarelli
#15 of 40 in Siena
1,001 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Duomo
Hotel Duomo
#17 of 40 in Siena
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piccolo Hotel Etruria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piccolo Hotel Etruria

Address: Via delle Donzelle 3, 53100, Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Price Range: $75 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Piccolo Hotel Etruria 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming small hotel in the heart of the old town steps away from the main Campo Square ( Il Campo )famous worldwide for its historical horse race twice a year. Twenty rooms with highspeed wifi, airco ensuite bathroom and safetybox, Everything you may need for a quick stay in Siena. My sister and I we will personally welcome you to give a pleasant and memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Piccolo Hotel Etruria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing