We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great hotel close to the city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Santa Caterina
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Rishon Le Zion, HaMerkaz, Israel
Level Contributor
89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A great hotel close to the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

After searching for a hotel in Siena, we came upon Hotel Santa Caterina. A friendly staff, fair price, close to the old city, a large room and its own parking space. What else do you need from a hotel when staying in Siena?

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sagi Ve Ilana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorycap, Direttore at Hotel Santa Caterina, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

we are extremely happy you enjoyed our Hotel. We are always willing to make you stay perfect and your words testify our goal achievement. It’ a pleasure to have had you with us and that you had such a good experience. We wish to welcome you again in a near future, maybe during the warm season when we serve breakfast on the patio, to start the day in the terrace over Heaven.

The Manager and the Staff all !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    257
    43
    13
    3
See reviews for
160
371
30
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

These are outstanding accommodations! The hosts are attentive, the location and the rooms are outstanding…away from the tourist mob yet close walking distance to the old town. We had the luxury of speaking English with the staff. Rick Steves was right…stay here. We’re going back this spring!

Room Tip: choose the side with the view if you can, but you don't come here to sit in your room, so it rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JimJanetCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorycap, Direttore at Hotel Santa Caterina, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all THANK YOU for your nice words!
We are very happy you had a great time at our Hotel and that you liked so much your accomodation!
We always work to make it happen and as we know we did it we cannot be more happy!
Thank you again! We cannot wait to have you here again this spring.

Best regards and see you soon,

The Manager and all the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Santa Caterina. The hotel was very easy to find and we had no issues parking our car (mid-size sedan). We were warmly welcomed and the man at the desk (I unfortunately did not catch his name!) helped us with our bags and greeted our dog. We were given room 24 at the end the (European) first floor hallway. The room was quiet and inviting, and the view was amazing. The walk into Siena was pleasant and took us about ten minutes to reach Piazza del Campo (this was a stroll - you could get there faster if you wanted, but it is a nice walk). The bed was comfortable and the hotel was very quiet at night, despite being on a rather busy road. The shower and shower amenities were nice; I especially liked the ginger body wash provided. Wifi worked well and the television had the standard CNN/BBC English channels. Breakfast had a nice cold selection of meats, cheese, breads, pastries, cakes, plus juice and coffee. Unfortunately we were only here one night, but will definitely stay again should we ever return to Siena!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel for a lovely view of the Tuscan countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dms9815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorycap, Direttore at Hotel Santa Caterina, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your words. We are delighted you really enjoyed your stay at Our Hotel.
Your words are the best prize for our job !
We are very happy you liked the room, the location, the breakfast and our new bath products. We cannot wait to welcome here again, with a small simple advise which will make you stay even more special: during the warmer season we serve the breakfast on the garden.
A small heaven with a patio over Tuscany!!!!

Our Best Regards
The Manager and all the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC area
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

I rarely have no complaints but this place was exactly what I envisioned of a tuscan vacation. Lucco (spelling?) was a real gem and so helpful and hospitable. He parked our rental car for us since I couldn't get it in the lot, even allowed us to choose our rooms! The inn is on the most beautiful hill into town. Definitely ask for a garden view!


The breakfast was also beautiful, felt very "Downton Abbey" with the china and silverware. :)

I plan to come back and stay longer ...perfect pace to escape city life!

Room Tip: garden view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyingflipflops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorycap, Direttore at Hotel Santa Caterina, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

It’s wonderful to read your words.
We are extremely happy we could meet your highest expectation.
It’s has been a pleasure to have had you here and to know that you really enjoyed our Hotel.
We cannot wait to welcome here again!

Best Regards,
The Manager and the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful room 19 with a balcony to view the countryside. Excellent staff to direct you with any questions. Lovely breakfast and service, we hope to return!! A short walk to heart of Siena through Porta Romana gate, a perfect stay!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Travel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorycap, Direttore at Hotel Santa Caterina, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice words.
It’s a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your room. We wish to have you here with us again soon, hoping that the next time it will be during the hot season when we serve breakfast on the patio and you can start the day with the real picture of Tuscany in front of you!

Warm and kind regards,
The Manager and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville MN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

We spent 3 weeks in Greece and Italy in June 2013. The absolute greatest memory we have of the entire trip is our stay at Santa Caterina. We were two couples and stayed in the "Annex." This was our private villa (without kitchen) with the most beautiful views of the Tuscan country side. Breakfast was served in a garden also looking over the beautiful countryside.
We rented a car, which I would recommend. The hotel is on the opposite side of the city from the train station. Hotel has two parking areas.
We would not hesitate to go back to Santa caterina again.

Room Tip: If there are four of you, ask for the Annex, our villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorycap, Direttore at Hotel Santa Caterina, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great words.
It’s a pleasure and a reward to know that our guest had the best experience staying with us. We deeply appreciate that you like our place so much and we are very happy for your wonderful time at our Hotel.

Again Thank You,

Best Regards
The Manager and the Staff all
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we stepped into the entry,the greeting was helpful & friendly.Luceo attended to us in a manner that was so attentive & yet we felt very comfortable & at home.
The hotel has a wonderful atmosphere,quaint,traditional yet very clean & has all the creature comforts.
Love the feeling of this place.The view from our bedroom is beautiful facing the rear.
Just outside the city wall,excellent if you have a car as there is parking & yet so handy to the centre by foot.My husband & I walked everywhere but there is also a bus if you prefer & you can buy bus tickets at reception.
Highly recommended!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Florum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorycap, Direttore at Hotel Santa Caterina, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

You cannot imagine how pleased we are by your words.
Your review it’s the best reward for our job. We always try to make the best for our guest and your lines pay off our efforts. Altought we have to say that on the other side of the desk there was a lovely couple that made our job extremely easy. So, thank you for staying at our hotel and again for your words. We are already looking forward to have you here again.

All the best
The Manager and all the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#5 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,102 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#3 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Caterina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Caterina

Property: Hotel Santa Caterina
Address: Via Enea Silvio Piccolomini 7, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Siena
#4 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santa Caterina 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Caterina Hotel in Siena offers more than a bed and a breakfast service. Housed in a renovated 18th-century patrician villa, it is a small and cosy hotel lying just a few metres from Porta Romana (Roman Gate), one of the medieval accesses to the town centre of Siena.If you are looking among all the hotels in Tuscany - and specifically among the hotels in Siena - for the one that can serve you both as a base for daily excursions and as a comfortable pied-à-terre within the city limits, our 22-room facility will meet your needs. All rooms have en-suite bathrooms, direct telephone, TV Sat, minibar, air conditioning, wireless Internet access, and are furnished, as the lounge is, in the typical old Tuscan style.Providing guests with the cheerfulness and cosiness of a typical Siena’s bed and breakfast, Santa Caterina guarantees much more. The wide and luxuriant garden with its veranda where breakfast is served can offer you what other Siena hotels cannot, that is, a view over the splendid Siena landscapes that will paint before your eyes every morning unexpected, changing colour shades among hilly lines. The refined but homely atmosphere and its privileged location, make this hotel the ideal place for a romantic and pleasant stay in the land locals love to call the old-fashioned way, "Terra di Siena", the land of Siena in Italy's heart. At Santa Caterina, “hotels in Siena” means home. Come and enjoy our home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Santa Caterina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing