We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our own villa in Tuscany”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Santa Caterina
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Roseville MN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our own villa in Tuscany”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We spent 3 weeks in Greece and Italy in June 2013. The absolute greatest memory we have of the entire trip is our stay at Santa Caterina. We were two couples and stayed in the "Annex." This was our private villa (without kitchen) with the most beautiful views of the Tuscan country side. Breakfast was served in a garden also looking over the beautiful countryside.
We rented a car, which I would recommend. The hotel is on the opposite side of the city from the train station. Hotel has two parking areas.
We would not hesitate to go back to Santa caterina again.

Room Tip: If there are four of you, ask for the Annex, our villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorycap, Direttore at Hotel Santa Caterina, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great words.
It’s a pleasure and a reward to know that our guest had the best experience staying with us. We deeply appreciate that you like our place so much and we are very happy for your wonderful time at our Hotel.

Again Thank You,

Best Regards
The Manager and the Staff all
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    261
    43
    13
    3
See reviews for
161
379
30
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we stepped into the entry,the greeting was helpful & friendly.Luceo attended to us in a manner that was so attentive & yet we felt very comfortable & at home.
The hotel has a wonderful atmosphere,quaint,traditional yet very clean & has all the creature comforts.
Love the feeling of this place.The view from our bedroom is beautiful facing the rear.
Just outside the city wall,excellent if you have a car as there is parking & yet so handy to the centre by foot.My husband & I walked everywhere but there is also a bus if you prefer & you can buy bus tickets at reception.
Highly recommended!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Florum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorycap, Direttore at Hotel Santa Caterina, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

You cannot imagine how pleased we are by your words.
Your review it’s the best reward for our job. We always try to make the best for our guest and your lines pay off our efforts. Altought we have to say that on the other side of the desk there was a lovely couple that made our job extremely easy. So, thank you for staying at our hotel and again for your words. We are already looking forward to have you here again.

All the best
The Manager and all the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

The "albergo" is a 18th-century elegant villa, the breakfast room is light and there's a beautiful garden with open views to the hills. The room was perfect: cosy, spacious and quiet; very good shower. Staff friendly and helpful. Good location, specially if you go by car - it's just outside the city walls, next to the Porta Romana, and the hotel has its own private car park. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LorenaMartins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorycap, Direttore at Hotel Santa Caterina, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all let me thank you for choosing our hotel.
We are delighted you liked our hotel so much. Thank you for your wonderful words: your experience is a goal we are always looking forward to accomplish! We are very happy to have had you here and we cannot wait to have you here again, especially during the hot season, when we set the tables on the Patio for the breakfast. You will experience the most amazing start of the day!!!

We wish you all the best
The Manager and all the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We enjoyed the quiet location of this hotel, outside the walls of Siena, with it's beautiful view of the Tuscan landscape. We arrived abit stressed due to a cancelled flight and lost luggage. Lorenzo, Allessandro and Roberto's personable friendly service quickly put us at ease, and made for an unforgettable, way to begin our month long walking holiday in Italy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolh2o_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorycap, Direttore at Hotel Santa Caterina, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Your review is a blessing, knowing that we accomplished our goal to make your vacation unforgettable!!!
We really appreciated you words which are the sweetest reward for our job! We hope that your experience at the Hotel Santa Caterina will remain a wonderful memory and we wish to see you again here!!!

Warm and best regards,
Manager and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
115 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

In general, I will go back again whether travelling along or with friends.

Pros:
1. Super view of Tuscany rolling hills, from my window, I requested a room with a view, No.9 single room (but double bed).
2. Cleaness, good taste of interior. A bit small room, but enough for myself.
3. Somehow family/ individual small hotel has its own charm. Very charistmatic lady boss and waitresses to take care of coffee, breakfast, cleaning and etc. Just feel happy to be surrended by them.
4. Featured backyard with a view again, just sit there to spend the holiday without rolling into all attractions is already SOMETHING.
5. Give glory to reception gentlemen. They are friendly and polite. Last day, I lost one important card, he calmed me down and gave me good advice, thank you very much.
6. Very fair price, booked directly from its web, lowest price.

Cons:
Not bothering me too much, but the sound insulation is not as excellent as other things, but again, not a great deal.

Room Tip: Write emails to ask for a room facing the backside. I had NO.9 single room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jude9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorycap, Direttore at Hotel Santa Caterina, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your words.
We really enjoyed having you here and we wish to thank you infinitely for your nice words. Your review is a goal we always work hard to accomplish and to have it is gives us an enormous pleasure. We are delighted you relly liked the place and our staff. Even if we always work hard to make it perfect, our job has been very easy with such a nice person as you!!!

Warm regards, hoping to have you soon back here

The Manager and the Staff all
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This property is outside the old walls of Siena. We wanted a quiet property, and this was perfect. Note, that some rooms face out to the street. I requested a room on the backside, which provided a beautiful view. They have a lovely garden to enjoy in the evening. A real nice continental breakfast each morning with great "Americano" coffee. All of the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Hotel Santa Caterina is first rate. Among its many assets--an excellent staff that is professional and helpful. Lovely, comfortable and wonderfully clean rooms. A garden terrace that looks out onto a view of the Tuscan landscape thatican best be described as dreamlike. A substantial breakfast buffet (juice, coffee, cereal, pastries, cheeses, and meats) that is served in a light and airy room with walls of windows overlooking the terrace garden.

If I had thought to ask for a garden-side room this hotel would get a 5 plus. However, I didn't and so I had constant traffic noise at night. Still the setting, the service, and the comfortable rooms would bring me back here even if couldn't get a room on the quiet side. But if you're reading this don't make my mistake. Ask for a garden-side room.

Hotel Santa Caterina is located just outside the city walls, but not to worry. A city bus stop is located steps away from the front door and buses roll by every 12 minutes or so and drop one off close to the campo (town square). Cost--1.2 euros per ticket. Be sure and get the tickets at the desk. You'll only be charged for those you use, And enter at the rear of the bus. It wasn't until an elegant Italian matron gave me the evil eye as I started to get on the bus from the front that I realized the error of my ways. And time stamp your ticket once you're on the bus

Another hint--we brought back sandwiches and wine and ate out on the terrace two of our three nights. But there is also a nice little local restaurant located about three blocks down the hill on the opposite side of the road from the Hotel Santa Caterina. It's a bit past the pizza place. Just be aware that there are cars parked in front of the pizza place that straddle the sidewalk, so be extremely cautious of cars coming down the hill as you'll be walking in the roadway unless you cross the street.

Great value. And thanks to the Hotel Santa Caterina staff who graciously helped us with many details, including providing guidance on restaurants and bus travel to the hill towns (Siena being a great place to hop on a bus and go explore the countryside--one need not sign up for an expensive tour to see some beautiful scenery and get to places like San Gimignano).

Room Tip: Ask for the garden-side rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GogoOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#7 of 40 in Siena
3,180 reviews
0.7 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#4 of 40 in Siena
1,401 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 40 in Siena
2,021 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
1.9 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#12 of 40 in Siena
2,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Caterina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Caterina

Property: Hotel Santa Caterina
Address: Via Enea Silvio Piccolomini 7, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Siena
#4 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santa Caterina 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Caterina Hotel in Siena offers more than a bed and a breakfast service. Housed in a renovated 18th-century patrician villa, it is a small and cosy hotel lying just a few metres from Porta Romana (Roman Gate), one of the medieval accesses to the town centre of Siena.If you are looking among all the hotels in Tuscany - and specifically among the hotels in Siena - for the one that can serve you both as a base for daily excursions and as a comfortable pied-à-terre within the city limits, our 22-room facility will meet your needs. All rooms have en-suite bathrooms, direct telephone, TV Sat, minibar, air conditioning, wireless Internet access, and are furnished, as the lounge is, in the typical old Tuscan style.Providing guests with the cheerfulness and cosiness of a typical Siena’s bed and breakfast, Santa Caterina guarantees much more. The wide and luxuriant garden with its veranda where breakfast is served can offer you what other Siena hotels cannot, that is, a view over the splendid Siena landscapes that will paint before your eyes every morning unexpected, changing colour shades among hilly lines. The refined but homely atmosphere and its privileged location, make this hotel the ideal place for a romantic and pleasant stay in the land locals love to call the old-fashioned way, "Terra di Siena", the land of Siena in Italy's heart. At Santa Caterina, “hotels in Siena” means home. Come and enjoy our home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Santa Caterina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing