We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Santa Caterina
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A lovely hotel”
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We have visited the Hotel Santa Caterina several times and it is always the same high standard. The hotel and staff are lovely and it is situated just outside the old city so very easy to walk in for shopping or eating. Rooms are very comfortable and those at the back of the hotel have a great view across the hills around Siena.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    261
    43
    13
    3
See reviews for
160
374
30
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
623 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

My wife booked this hotel. She did well. We stayed for 4 nights during the Palio festival, when it's hard to find good places to stay. Santa Caterina is in a pleasant location just outside the city walls. The view from the garden / terrace restaurant is breathtaking. It is everything us foreigners think Tuscany is. Rolling hills, green forests, rose coloured soil in undulating fields and cypress trees pointing to a blue sky, with the odd church and country estate dotted here or there. This view greeted us on arrival from the rear car park and it lifted our spirits.

Inside we found a small reception with some eclectic chaise long etc. The staff were dressed in traditional black and white uniforms and seemed very friendly. You could tell this was not a chain. Most had obviously worked here for years and some were undoubtedly relatives. We were given a cup of tea and some biscuits. A nice welcome. Electing to climb the stairs rather than use the lift, we were taken to our room. A nice looking room, but oh dear. A very strong smell of smoke - probably cigars, I felt. We sat down and thought about it for a few moments, not wanting to complain when they had been so welcoming. Eventually though, we went back down and asked if they could find us a non-smoking room. They apologised. "You see you did not say you wanted a non-smoking room as a special request on your booking," the receptionist said. Being English I apologised but it seemed it should have been a special request to smoke not vice versa. We were given another room on the top floor which we liked better anyway.

We enjoyed this hotel. The breakfasts on the garden terrace was the highlight for me. The rooms are fine but nothing special really. Having said that, we had a room at the front of the hotel over the street and my wife (as she does) peeked into one of the rooms overlooking the back (with the view). It was so much nicer, she said.

I thought the price was high. My wife assured me that in comparison to others in Siena, it was not. Perhaps it was due to the festival. Anyway, I liked it but I was glad to get back to my camper van for the rest of the trip.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back with a view. Much nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donsafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Lovely place for us. Had outside parking for our camper van, air conditioned rooms for summer, lovely spacious rooms but our room was facing the street and not the garden. That didn't bother me.
The staff were all really helpful, they gave maps, recommendations of where to go, they booked a place for dinner for us, they seemed to bend over backwards for their customers. Lovely breakfast, served normally outside in their private garden (it was raining so it was inside).
Perfect location outside the city walls. A 10min easy walk into the center of Siena. We will go back again!

Room Tip: Select with the view of the garden. Quieter and beautiful big windows to get a good view of the Tusc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We enjoyed our stay. Very close to el compo, very friendly and helpful young man, Lucho. Lucio helped giving maps and directions to wine tours, directions to the Abbey, and always with a smile!
Walsh and McShanes USA

Room Tip: Our rooms were facing the noisy street... No view. The loft has steep steps and very hard to navigat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

A highly recommendable hotel on one condition: Get one of the rooms on the back of the hotel that have the delightful view of the garden and the Tuscan hills. The rooms on the front of the hotel get a view of a busy street.

This became clear to us as soon as our taxi dropped us off at Hotel Santa Caterina on a recent Friday afternoon. So when we checked in, we asked the front desk clerk if a room with a garden room was available. Rather than simply saying yes or no, the clerk took this as an opportunity to chastise us for not requesting a garden-view room before we arrived. In fact, he instructed us that, whenever we check into any hotel anywhere, we should make any room requests prior to our arrival. Well, aside from the fact that, in our travels in various countries, we’ve often asked for certain rooms upon arrival, like an upper-floor room, without ever getting such a response, this seemed like a very strange way to welcome paying guests.

When we told him we didn’t realize there was such a difference between the two sides of the hotel until we arrived, the clerk didn’t leave it at that. Instead, he went on to say that we should’ve researched the hotel’s website beforehand. Looking at the website now, I see no indication in its language or photos that there are rooms facing a busy street. But again, more to the point: Why was the clerk addressing us this way?

To make it all the more bizarre, after his little lecture he then informed us we were in luck: They had a garden-view room for us after all. So…to our initial question he could have simply replied, “Yes.”

Puzzled by this strange encounter, we finally got to our room. And the view was indeed beautiful: the rolling green Tuscan hills that seem to go on forever. Glimpsing inside a couple other hotel rooms during our stay, we realized we were lucky to get not only a room with a view but a corner room, since its small bedroom and bathroom were separated by a little hallway. The other rooms’ bathrooms seemed to be tucked inside the tiny bedroom spaces. Though small, the room was comfortable and clean, and again, the view was gorgeous—and almost worth the clerk’s lecture.

Despite that employee, the other staff members we encountered were all kind and professional—especially the very sweet lady who took coffee orders at the included breakfast buffet, which offered tasty pastries, juice, salamis, cheeses and breads. Guests can have breakfast inside a bright, window-walled atrium or outside in the well-tended garden. We chose the latter everyday to take advantage of those lovely views. The hotel has a pleasant sitting area inside but not much else. Not that we needed anything else—it’s just a short walk to the center of Siena.

We’d certainly return to this hotel, but next time we’ll make sure to request a garden view beforehand—and we’ll pray we don’t get the same clerk.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChiTravel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I cant imagine ever wanting or needing more from a city hotel. With a great location just outside the walls, this charming characterful classy hotel was spot on. The rooms were extremely comfortable, the staff were friendly, colourful and helpful and the breakfast views were stunning.

Thank you for being so accomodation of a 3 person family and for making our stay so pleasurable.

We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BennyDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We realised that we got a booking wrong, we thought we were staying near Perugia tonight but turns out we're booked in for tomorrow! So we booked this place randomly, first place we saw online and what a find. Really friendly reception, everything is nice, clean, tidy, matching, vintage and not tacky. The courtyard is beautiful and we have an amazing room for only €110 for the night.
This is what we came to Italy for. Boom.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielfilmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,142 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#5 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,382 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Caterina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Caterina

Property: Hotel Santa Caterina
Address: Via Enea Silvio Piccolomini 7, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Siena
#4 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santa Caterina 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Caterina Hotel in Siena offers more than a bed and a breakfast service. Housed in a renovated 18th-century patrician villa, it is a small and cosy hotel lying just a few metres from Porta Romana (Roman Gate), one of the medieval accesses to the town centre of Siena.If you are looking among all the hotels in Tuscany - and specifically among the hotels in Siena - for the one that can serve you both as a base for daily excursions and as a comfortable pied-à-terre within the city limits, our 22-room facility will meet your needs. All rooms have en-suite bathrooms, direct telephone, TV Sat, minibar, air conditioning, wireless Internet access, and are furnished, as the lounge is, in the typical old Tuscan style.Providing guests with the cheerfulness and cosiness of a typical Siena’s bed and breakfast, Santa Caterina guarantees much more. The wide and luxuriant garden with its veranda where breakfast is served can offer you what other Siena hotels cannot, that is, a view over the splendid Siena landscapes that will paint before your eyes every morning unexpected, changing colour shades among hilly lines. The refined but homely atmosphere and its privileged location, make this hotel the ideal place for a romantic and pleasant stay in the land locals love to call the old-fashioned way, "Terra di Siena", the land of Siena in Italy's heart. At Santa Caterina, “hotels in Siena” means home. Come and enjoy our home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Santa Caterina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing