We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, great location just outside the city walls.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Santa Caterina
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, great location just outside the city walls.”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Lovely place for us. Had outside parking for our camper van, air conditioned rooms for summer, lovely spacious rooms but our room was facing the street and not the garden. That didn't bother me.
The staff were all really helpful, they gave maps, recommendations of where to go, they booked a place for dinner for us, they seemed to bend over backwards for their customers. Lovely breakfast, served normally outside in their private garden (it was raining so it was inside).
Perfect location outside the city walls. A 10min easy walk into the center of Siena. We will go back again!

Room Tip: Select with the view of the garden. Quieter and beautiful big windows to get a good view of the Tusc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    261
    43
    13
    3
See reviews for
161
379
30
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We enjoyed our stay. Very close to el compo, very friendly and helpful young man, Lucho. Lucio helped giving maps and directions to wine tours, directions to the Abbey, and always with a smile!
Walsh and McShanes USA

Room Tip: Our rooms were facing the noisy street... No view. The loft has steep steps and very hard to navigat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

A highly recommendable hotel on one condition: Get one of the rooms on the back of the hotel that have the delightful view of the garden and the Tuscan hills. The rooms on the front of the hotel get a view of a busy street.

This became clear to us as soon as our taxi dropped us off at Hotel Santa Caterina on a recent Friday afternoon. So when we checked in, we asked the front desk clerk if a room with a garden room was available. Rather than simply saying yes or no, the clerk took this as an opportunity to chastise us for not requesting a garden-view room before we arrived. In fact, he instructed us that, whenever we check into any hotel anywhere, we should make any room requests prior to our arrival. Well, aside from the fact that, in our travels in various countries, we’ve often asked for certain rooms upon arrival, like an upper-floor room, without ever getting such a response, this seemed like a very strange way to welcome paying guests.

When we told him we didn’t realize there was such a difference between the two sides of the hotel until we arrived, the clerk didn’t leave it at that. Instead, he went on to say that we should’ve researched the hotel’s website beforehand. Looking at the website now, I see no indication in its language or photos that there are rooms facing a busy street. But again, more to the point: Why was the clerk addressing us this way?

To make it all the more bizarre, after his little lecture he then informed us we were in luck: They had a garden-view room for us after all. So…to our initial question he could have simply replied, “Yes.”

Puzzled by this strange encounter, we finally got to our room. And the view was indeed beautiful: the rolling green Tuscan hills that seem to go on forever. Glimpsing inside a couple other hotel rooms during our stay, we realized we were lucky to get not only a room with a view but a corner room, since its small bedroom and bathroom were separated by a little hallway. The other rooms’ bathrooms seemed to be tucked inside the tiny bedroom spaces. Though small, the room was comfortable and clean, and again, the view was gorgeous—and almost worth the clerk’s lecture.

Despite that employee, the other staff members we encountered were all kind and professional—especially the very sweet lady who took coffee orders at the included breakfast buffet, which offered tasty pastries, juice, salamis, cheeses and breads. Guests can have breakfast inside a bright, window-walled atrium or outside in the well-tended garden. We chose the latter everyday to take advantage of those lovely views. The hotel has a pleasant sitting area inside but not much else. Not that we needed anything else—it’s just a short walk to the center of Siena.

We’d certainly return to this hotel, but next time we’ll make sure to request a garden view beforehand—and we’ll pray we don’t get the same clerk.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChiTravel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I cant imagine ever wanting or needing more from a city hotel. With a great location just outside the walls, this charming characterful classy hotel was spot on. The rooms were extremely comfortable, the staff were friendly, colourful and helpful and the breakfast views were stunning.

Thank you for being so accomodation of a 3 person family and for making our stay so pleasurable.

We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BennyDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We realised that we got a booking wrong, we thought we were staying near Perugia tonight but turns out we're booked in for tomorrow! So we booked this place randomly, first place we saw online and what a find. Really friendly reception, everything is nice, clean, tidy, matching, vintage and not tacky. The courtyard is beautiful and we have an amazing room for only €110 for the night.
This is what we came to Italy for. Boom.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielfilmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Just outside the wall of the old city, this conveniently located hotel was perfect for what we expected to find in Siena. The hotel itself is more like a welcoming B&B. Breakfast on the treed and floral grounds resting atop a ridge that overlooks a picture post card view of the Tuscan landscape is just breathtaking. We had a second floor room with a real balcony that was a perfect panoramic sun setting for an evening drink before dinner. The staff could not have been more helpful and courteous, and our room was clean and comfortable throughout our two night stay. The staff helped us with fine dining reservations and be sure to have them make a reservation for the 5 hour Tuscan wine tour....you'll just love it.

Room Tip: Ask for the second floor rear room with the balcony facing the breakfast garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank igbseb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We only stayed one night, but it was very nice. We had the two-bedroom apartment slightly apart from the main hotel, which is not air-conditioned, but was provided with efficient fans and was wonderfully spacious.
There was a good choice at breakfast: meats, cheeses, breads and pastries, cereal, yoghurt, fruit and fruit juice. Being able to take breakfast in the shady garden was a real delight. People also sat out there to enjoy the summer night.
The staff are superb - friendly and helpful. For example, we got caught in a sudden downpour on our way back to collect our bags and were given fluffy towels with which to dry off, despite the fact that we had checked out 8 hours earlier. There was no problem about getting a cup of coffee before breakfast, either.
If you like coffee, I'd suggest you take the hit and order one from the menu. The breakfast coffee tastes like a send-up of American coffee.

Room Tip: Light sleepers may want to request a room on the garden side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
3,184 reviews
0.7 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#3 of 40 in Siena
1,402 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 40 in Siena
2,022 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
1.9 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#11 of 40 in Siena
2,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Caterina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Caterina

Property: Hotel Santa Caterina
Address: Via Enea Silvio Piccolomini 7, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Siena
#4 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santa Caterina 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Caterina Hotel in Siena offers more than a bed and a breakfast service. Housed in a renovated 18th-century patrician villa, it is a small and cosy hotel lying just a few metres from Porta Romana (Roman Gate), one of the medieval accesses to the town centre of Siena.If you are looking among all the hotels in Tuscany - and specifically among the hotels in Siena - for the one that can serve you both as a base for daily excursions and as a comfortable pied-à-terre within the city limits, our 22-room facility will meet your needs. All rooms have en-suite bathrooms, direct telephone, TV Sat, minibar, air conditioning, wireless Internet access, and are furnished, as the lounge is, in the typical old Tuscan style.Providing guests with the cheerfulness and cosiness of a typical Siena’s bed and breakfast, Santa Caterina guarantees much more. The wide and luxuriant garden with its veranda where breakfast is served can offer you what other Siena hotels cannot, that is, a view over the splendid Siena landscapes that will paint before your eyes every morning unexpected, changing colour shades among hilly lines. The refined but homely atmosphere and its privileged location, make this hotel the ideal place for a romantic and pleasant stay in the land locals love to call the old-fashioned way, "Terra di Siena", the land of Siena in Italy's heart. At Santa Caterina, “hotels in Siena” means home. Come and enjoy our home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Santa Caterina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing