We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My very highest recommendation!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Santa Caterina
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Hotel Santa Caterina was a perfect choice for my one-week stay in Siena.

The hotel itself — the lobby, bar, and breakfast room — is lovely and inviting. The outdoor breakfast area, which offers a wonderful view of the surrounding countryside, is a perfect spot to relax after a full day in the city or after a day trip to a nearby Tuscan hill town. The breakfast itself offers everything you might want to begin your day. The staff members are uniformly helpful, no matter what hour you might ply them with questions or request help. I've been traveling solo in Europe almost every year for the past 15 years, and I can say unequivocally that the staff at Hotel Santa Caterina provided unsurpassed service and support.

My room was remarkably quiet. Actually, incredibly quiet. I didn't hear a sound at night, maklng a full-night's rest easy. The mini-bar was well-stocked, with the items fairly priced. The bathroom was modern and immaculate, and the towels were full and plentiful, something other hotels might learn from.

The hotel is about 100 yards down from the Porta Romana entrance to the old city, or about a 15-minute walk to the Campo. I enjoyed the walk and found it an invigorating way to begin my day.

If I'm ever lucky enough to visit Siena again, I will certainly choose Hotel Santa Caterina once again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Wanderful77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (761)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Santa Caterina
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

177 - 183 of 761 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

Excellent service, crew and location. This hotel offers an excellent option to those travelers who want to enjoy the beauty of Siena; perfectly located at the "Porta Di Roma" (Roman Gate) allows you to start your trip from the most beautiful angle.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aquiles746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We really enjoyed staying at this hotel..Our room was kind of cool (a loft style), and per our request, it was facing the garden. Nothing beats a Tuscany view when you wake up in the morning.
Great location - I really don't understand the complain about the distance...15 minutes walk from the "Il Campo" is not far for me. But hey, both my partner and I are runners, so walking is enjoyable. A very nice breakfast, with the best coffee we had in Italy.
The staff at this hotel is superb. They are so friendly and polite. The younger kid who works there is just the nicest. We ran into him one night as we were coming back to the hotel one night, and we just stood outside chatting for over an hour.
We totally recommend this place, and will definitely come back.

Room Tip: Send them a message and ask for a "garden view"
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jovino r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The staff of the hotel provided excellent service. I only give this a "poor" rating because the hotel is old and located too far from the city (it's outside the wall). I would prefer and recommend staying inside the walls of the city if you are planning a visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not on the side of the street as it is very noisy. The apartment was very ni...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We had a weekend in Sienne in last January and stayed in this hotel. We had a room with a great view on Tuscany hills.It was quiet and nicely furnished (old style). The hotel is well located (10-15 minute walk to the Piazza del Campo) and the service helpful. The breakfast was also really good which is rare enough to be mentionned. We also appreciated that you can park your car in the hotel courtyard

Room Tip: Rooms on the courtyard are definitely quieter than the ones on the street
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in late April 2013 and agree with the comments of previous contributors. The hotel is within a couple of hundred metres from Porta Romana which is the start of an interesting 10 to 15 minute walk to the hub of Siena (the Campo). There are several good restaurants nearby (recommended by the staff). The hotel is very well maintained. Its in a very nice garden setting (guests are encouraged to have a drink there and the hotel provides plates and cutlery for those wanting to eat in) overlooking a wonderful view of Tuscan countryside. Our room was on the garden side. It wasn't particularly big but was more than satisfactory for our stay. Breakfast was fine. My wife was not well on the second day of our visit (confined to bed) and the staff could not have been kinder or more attentive. For non-European drivers, entry and exit to the hotel carpark is a bit of a nightmare (definitely requires side mirrors in). This hotel is a very good base for people touring around Siena and we thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CBandCB1ASH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Santa Caterina for two nights at the start of a week-long cycle tour organised by Inn Travel (who we can not recommend too highly - they were great). The hotel was in a really good location, close to one of the gates to Siena, and we had an awe-inspiring view over the Tuscan views from a quirky bedroom with the double bed on a mezzanine floor above the room entrance. It was our first time in what must be one of the most beautiful and amazing cities in the world and we were very happy with Santa Caterina as our base. It's close enough to the action to be convenient, without being on the very busy tourist trail; breakfasts were good although unexceptional; and for the most part we had good service without any hassle. We got the idea that the female manager (owner?) was a force of nature and would not have wanted a run-in with her, but everything went very smoothly and we felt well looked after and would happily recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Get a top floor room facing out to the hills!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weepaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
3,305 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
674 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 40 in Siena
2,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#3 of 40 in Siena
1,454 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Elda
Hotel Villa Elda
#11 of 40 in Siena
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Caterina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Caterina

Address: Via Enea Silvio Piccolomini 7, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Siena
#4 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range: $82 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santa Caterina 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Caterina Hotel in Siena offers more than a bed and a breakfast service. Housed in a renovated 18th-century patrician villa, it is a small and cosy hotel lying just a few metres from Porta Romana (Roman Gate), one of the medieval accesses to the town centre of Siena.If you are looking among all the hotels in Tuscany - and specifically among the hotels in Siena - for the one that can serve you both as a base for daily excursions and as a comfortable pied-à-terre within the city limits, our 22-room facility will meet your needs. All rooms have en-suite bathrooms, direct telephone, TV Sat, minibar, air conditioning, wireless Internet access, and are furnished, as the lounge is, in the typical old Tuscan style.Providing guests with the cheerfulness and cosiness of a typical Siena’s bed and breakfast, Santa Caterina guarantees much more. The wide and luxuriant garden with its veranda where breakfast is served can offer you what other Siena hotels cannot, that is, a view over the splendid Siena landscapes that will paint before your eyes every morning unexpected, changing colour shades among hilly lines. The refined but homely atmosphere and its privileged location, make this hotel the ideal place for a romantic and pleasant stay in the land locals love to call the old-fashioned way, "Terra di Siena", the land of Siena in Italy's heart. At Santa Caterina, “hotels in Siena” means home. Come and enjoy our home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Santa Caterina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing