We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent in comparison to others in same category” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Santa Caterina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Santa Caterina
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent in comparison to others in same category”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

As soon as we entered the hotel it felt better than others we have stayed in with the same staring/price etc. The porter was charming, helpful and came straight over with a WiFi password without asking. He then offered us a drink and asked if we recommended excellent restaurants for dinner.

Our room was split level, with the bed on a separate floor, this was nice so I did not see the mess of suitcases below! The room was warm (for a change compared to other hotels who do not leave their heating on at this time of year despite needing to!) and had a nice big window which looked onto the patio and had great views at a certain angle.

The room felt clean, the bathroom was small but adequate and the shower was excellent. Breakfast was in a sun room that was light and airy. The food was quite simple but there was fruit, cake and the usual continental stuff.

It was a lovely 10 minute walk into the centre of Siena. Parking was convenient. We would certainly stay again

Room Tip: Ask for one of the split level rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlysandRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    255
    42
    13
    3
See reviews for
157
369
30
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Layton, Utah
Level Contributor
526 reviews
183 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 395 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We read “10 minutes outside of town” and thought that would be drive time, but it’s walking time. The B&B is really just a few steps outside the city wall. It is no problem to walk back into Siena; we never bothered to take the bus.

The front desk staff was very helpful and attentive. The room was clean and quiet. The breakfast was enjoyable and the staff was making a big effort to keep everything stocked and tidy. Cappuccinos were served by request for no extra charge.

There was a nice garden area to enjoy the views of Tuscany. There is a comfortable living room area to hang out and talk to other guests. We were only able to stay one night, but would have loved to stay longer. The staff deserves credit for doing a great job in all aspects.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Outdoorpartner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Great hotel and would definitely recommend to other people heading to Siena. The hotel was very responsive during our reservation process and made excellent provisions for our family of four, and we definitely enjoyed the stay.

We drove by car to Siena and kept the vehicle in the rear secured lot, which was perfect. Suggest what auto drivers should do since many of the areas inside the walls are vehicle restricted.

The hotel is located just outside the historic city walls and is a quick 15 minute walk into the heart of the town.

Room Tip: There appears to be one room with a balcony overlooking the Tuscan valley, so you may want to see if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Parent_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

This was the cheapest hotel we stayed in a 6 night trip to Tuscany but you would never have known... The service, location, room and breakfast could not be faulted. It's easy to find by car and has parking. Just a short walk into the centre..... We like walking but there is a bus if you need. We nosy stayed one night but would have been very happy to stay longer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrightonTapdancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

The description and overall impression we got from the website is very different from what we experienced regarding the the triple room (some might say misleading) - in the first floor there is a closet and the bathroom and it is not a pleasant place to sit and hang out. In the second floor there are only the beds. There are very steep stairs (between the 1st and 2nd floor) and therefore is not suitable for children.
The staff is very nice, and we moved to a regular double room, though the manager wasn't willing to refund the extra we paid for the triple room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emor_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

The hotel was nice and staff were professional and helpful. The room was a good size and had high ceilings with frescos. The bathroom was also large, but the shower itself had a circular enclosure and felt somewhat cramped. There was variety for breakfast. The garden has a great view. The location provides quick and easy access to Siena and the countryside.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMRMtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

We booked this place a few weeks prior to arriving and understood that it was located just outside of the walls of Sienna which suits us fine because walking 10 minutes into town allows you to see more than just the normal touristy things. The key reason why we loved this place are the lovely views overlooking the hills in Tuscany and the amazingly friendly staff. When we arrived we were shown three rooms to choose from and every time we have spoken with any of the staff it has started with a smile and finished with a 'is there anything else I can do for you'.

Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Tuscan hills are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bristow83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#5 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,059 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#4 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
2.4 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Caterina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Caterina

Property: Hotel Santa Caterina
Address: Via Enea Silvio Piccolomini 7, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Siena
#4 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santa Caterina 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Caterina Hotel in Siena offers more than a bed and a breakfast service. Housed in a renovated 18th-century patrician villa, it is a small and cosy hotel lying just a few metres from Porta Romana (Roman Gate), one of the medieval accesses to the town centre of Siena.If you are looking among all the hotels in Tuscany - and specifically among the hotels in Siena - for the one that can serve you both as a base for daily excursions and as a comfortable pied-à-terre within the city limits, our 22-room facility will meet your needs. All rooms have en-suite bathrooms, direct telephone, TV Sat, minibar, air conditioning, wireless Internet access, and are furnished, as the lounge is, in the typical old Tuscan style.Providing guests with the cheerfulness and cosiness of a typical Siena’s bed and breakfast, Santa Caterina guarantees much more. The wide and luxuriant garden with its veranda where breakfast is served can offer you what other Siena hotels cannot, that is, a view over the splendid Siena landscapes that will paint before your eyes every morning unexpected, changing colour shades among hilly lines. The refined but homely atmosphere and its privileged location, make this hotel the ideal place for a romantic and pleasant stay in the land locals love to call the old-fashioned way, "Terra di Siena", the land of Siena in Italy's heart. At Santa Caterina, “hotels in Siena” means home. Come and enjoy our home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Santa Caterina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing