We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in Siena and stay here”
Review of Palazzo Ravizza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palazzo Ravizza
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Stay in Siena and stay here”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

First off I would highly recommend spending a few nights in Siena. We saw a lot of your buses come in to the city for a few hours in the afternoon but you would really need to spend a few nights in the city to the get the right feeling for it...and it is an amazing city, one of my favorite cities I have visited. This hotel is charming, clean, nothing really fancy or anything but just a good hotel, with good service and food too. The location is great, you can walk everywhere, and there is a pizza place around the corner that was our favorite pizza in Italy, including having gone to Naples. Spent 3 nights of my honeymoon here last year and would recommend it. Tips: The pizza around the corner. The tower room. Vespa wine tours - ask the receptions, they'll get you a vespa to drive through the country and do some wine tasting.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    869
    404
    91
    20
    17
See reviews for
169
908
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2014

We spent two nights at this hotel whilst travelling around Tuscany. Unfortunately, it came after a horrible experience during an afternoon passing through Pisa where our luggage was stolen from the locked boot of our hire car. DO NOT VISIT PISA. IT IS A CRIME HOTSPOT!

The hotel was generally a bit of trouble to find by car, as the signposting is inconsistent, but we got there in the end. The on site, free and secure car park was a big bonus. The staff were friendly and went out of their way to knock together a meal for us out of breakfast goods and provide whatever assistance we needed given our predicament. The lady who worked nights especially, was very kind. We were allocated a room right beside reception with a lovely tiled bathroom and decent sized room. The book shop on site was fascinating.

Breakfast was, I have to say, basic and could do with some broadening out, but what was presented, was tasty enough.

The hotel was within easy distance of just about everything you may wish to see. There is free internet access as well as wifi and a printer for guests to use, along with complimentary tea and coffee in reception.

I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadine1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

We stayed here for one night in this charming hotel. Best of all is the garden and the fabulous view overlooking the fields of tuscany. Would highly recommend it, but make sure you have a room with a view

Room Tip: Get onbe with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
290 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Excellent sized, classically decorated rooms, with superb views over the Tuscan countryside beyond the city walls if you can get a garden view room. Comfortable very large beds, in very clean rooms.

Friendly helpful staff. Good breakfast selection, taken in the garden in warmer weather. Our only gripe was the very poor coffee which none of our party liked.

Excellent location inside the walls, with its own parking, although not the easiest to get to. 10 to 15 minutes walk will get you to the main sights. Excellent spot if you are attending the pantera contrada dinner which is held outside.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lewis_England_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamata, Greece
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Palazzo Ravizza is a hotel, just a few steps from the old city centre, offering parking space, which is a real advantage. The room we stayed in, was rather small but elegant ,with a beautiful view of the garden and the hills in the distance. It was decorated in blue colours and it was comfortable and clean. The bathroom, which had a bathtub and a window, was quite spacious. The staff at the reception desk were really friendly and extremely helpful!
However, our disappointment was great when we saw the breakfast, which was poor and totally inappropriate for a hotel of this kind. Coffee from a machine in Italy?

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giorgos_Kalamata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Excellent location near the city centre, the hotel is very peaceful with lovely garden boasting amazing views of the valley. room was very attractive and comfortable but TV lacked channels. our room was facing the front street which was loud if the window was open but no noise if closed. staff were really friendly and helpful. Private parking available which was free and very helpful. perfect for a one night stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chap_Abroad2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
139 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Our first time in Siena...beautiful medieval town in the heart of Tuscany ( my husband did not even know existed :)). What a great surprise.!!!!. I did not know where to start on finding a hotel..after researching a few, Palazzo Ravizza caught my attention, why! AMAZING VIEWS . DO REQUEST A ROOM WITH A VIEW. makes all the differences... feels like you are staring at a postcard.

The Hotel is situated close to Porta San Marco (Porta means gate) Oh Yes, Sienna is surrounded by a "medieval wall" therefore there is 6 gates to access the old center... (so if you book a hotel..and you are driving in yourself, make sure you get not only the address but which gate you access from) ... so Palazzo Ravizza has gorgeous views to the vineyards and ravines just outside Siena, you can enjoy breakfast in the morning or a glass of wine in the afternoon in their beautiful garden/terrace looking at the breath taking views.
Room is simple, high ceilings so it looks bigger... it feels you are staying at an old castle, thick walls, strong furniture, antiques...low doors etc. Wifi all over the hotel, complimentary. Hair dryer, shower. Siena is surrounded by vineyard...so we found that the mosquitos really liked my husband... just pick us some repellent, (Hotel did not have) which they sell in any pharmacy.
Staff is helpful and very nice.
The old city center is all walkable, the Hotel has a parking which you can access from the Hotel.
We will definitely go back.... (did I mentioned that JFK stayed here as a student... the history of the Hotel is quite interesting... if you go, get one of their little brochures...) Enjoy.

Room Tip: book a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nala1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#7 of 40 in Siena
3,179 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
651 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
747 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 40 in Siena
684 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Ravizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Ravizza

Property: Palazzo Ravizza
Address: Piano Dei Mantellini 34, 53100, Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#5 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Ravizza 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Palazzo Ravizza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Ravizza Hotel Siena
Palazzo Ravizza Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing