We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palazzo Ravizza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Palazzo Ravizza
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
182 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

We spent four nights at Palazzo Ravizza. The location is absolutely perfect and the hotel is a restored Palazzo with a fascinating history. The staff was friendly and helpful, the breakfast was abundant and in a nice setting and the hotel is impeccably clean. However, the rooms are minuscule. While this did not detract from our stay, it is worth mentioning that, without exaggeration, there was barely enough space for my wife and I to open our respective suitcases. I found a spot by the bathroom door to place my bag and, whenever we had to use the bathroom we had to move the suitcase in order to open the door. Again, for me cleanliness, location and a friendly face at the front desk is far more important than the size of the room. However, if you travel with lots of bags you may need to ask for one of their suites. That said, I would return to Palazzo Ravizza in a heartbeat

Room Tip: Great location and reasonably priced
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RPG625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    830
    390
    90
    20
    17
See reviews for
158
875
19
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

This was our second time at this hotel, and its still great. A spectacular view of the Tuscan county side from our room. The room was huge with arches, columns, an ornate ceiling, a king bed, desk, a sitting room , with sofa ,and chair. The bathroom was also large, with a jacuzzi, and a great stall shower.. Breakfast was very good. Staff was friendly , and helpful. One late afternoon, I heard music coming from a lounge area on the first level. A soprano, tenor, piano player were performing arias. A small group were listening. I joined them for a highlight experience. We loved this hotel, and love the city of Siena.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in mid-November during our Italian trip.

We did have problems finding the hotel with our GPS trying to have us take the main pedestrian street to get there but eventually, after a bit of stress, found an easier route avoiding entering in the heart of the old city, using a good old paper map. The lady on reception said that many of the booking sites also provide incorrect driving directions to the hotel so best contact the hotel directly beforehand. The hotel has a good private carpark with direct access to the hotel through the terraced gardens. Once parked the hotel is only a short 5-10 minute walk to the main square.

We were given a room on the second floor with a beautiful view of the gardens and surrounding country. The room was a decent size with plenty of storage. Loved the painted ceiling. Some of the walls need some plastering or repainting after having been hit by suitcases but the room was very clean. We had a problem with the toilet flush and the receptionist offered to change our room immediately but we preferred the room we were in and managed to find a short term fix and the hotel had it fully fixed first thing in the morning.

We found the bed quite hard but this was the case in all of the hotels we stayed in on this trip so perhaps its an Italian thing. The hotel is an old palace so does not have great soundproofing. Having said that, all of the guests were conscious of this and we were not bothered by any noise during our stay.

Breakfast had a limited choice but certainly enough choice to keep you going until lunch. It must be great to have your breakfast in the garden during the warmer months.

I would recommend this hotel and would stay again. If you a a light sleeper then perhaps bring ear plugs just in case you have noisy neighbours.

Room Tip: Go for garden view on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank User_AMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed one night here. Beautiful view from our room. Staff was very nice and knowledgeable. We had a car and the free parking was a great benefit. Of note, when following the hotel's driving directions, it's okay to drive into the ZTL zone. Directions don't say that, but hotel staff writes down your information so you don't get a ticket. Good breakfast also.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank vols_fan1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

we stayed here for 5 nights, the place is unique and has a bed and breakfast feel to it although it is quite large. The staff is wonderful and give great ideas for tours etc. The city of Siena is also 5 stars, you really can't get a bad meal anywhere.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank louiedFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAIRHOPE
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed for three days in Siena at the Palazzo Ravizza, it was perhaps our favorite hotel in Italy. Siena is a great medieval town to visit and the Ravizza is in the perfect spot for a visit. We had rooms (our group had three rooms) overlooking the garden and the valley beyond. Breathtaking views anytime the windows/shutters were open. The hotel is a renovate Palazzo after all and the building and grounds are beautiful, the furnishing are tasteful and you just can't help but smile when you walk through the door. The hotel breakfast is really quite good, there's expresso if you choose, there's always coffee in the lobby, they sell water for E.50/bottle and they have wine/cheese/snacks available to serve in the garden if you choose. If the weather's nice the breakfast is served in the garden. There is an elevator but we usually used the stairs, the wide marble staircase is just part of the hotel's charm. We can't wait to get back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HAROLD B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waunakee
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

The Palazzo Ravizza felt rambling and roomy compared to our other hotels in Italy. We had 2 different rooms. The first room was at the front of the hotel and was quite large even by U.S. standards. A garden view room became available on our 2nd day so we moved. Much smaller room but beautiful view. Both rooms were very nice, but the first room was by far more comfortable. The familiar fruit, meats, cheese and pastries were served at breakfast, however the quality was a notch above. The fresh baked breads and pastries were excellent. The location is on a fairly quiet street, but an easy walk to all the historical sights. Good choice for your stay in Siena.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WaunakeeArwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#5 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,051 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
1.8 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 40 in Siena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Duomo
Hotel Duomo
#15 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Ravizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Ravizza

Property: Palazzo Ravizza
Address: Piano Dei Mantellini 34, 53100, Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#5 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Ravizza 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Palazzo Ravizza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Ravizza Hotel Siena
Palazzo Ravizza Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing