We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful stay at the Palazzo Ravizza”
Review of Palazzo Ravizza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palazzo Ravizza
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delightful stay at the Palazzo Ravizza”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We just got back from 5 nights in Siena as part of our trip to Italy. I selected the Palazo Ravizza and was definately not sorry. It is perfectly located with parking just steps outside the city gate a 5 minute walk to the Duomo. Our room was fantastic with a balcony that overlooked the whole valley with breath taking views. The room itself was large and very clean. The bed was comfortable and the breakfast was pretty good with fruit, pasteries, cereal and juices. The garden of the hotel was a lovely oasis.

Just a warning to anyone driving in using GPS. Call the hotel first as the GPS takes you through town which is closed to traffic and you can be fined. The hotel called the police for us, explained, and they waived the fine.

I would definately stay here again when I return to Siena.

Room Tip: Choose the room with the balcony. There is only one and it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCtraveler93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    853
    402
    91
    20
    17
See reviews for
166
898
20
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herndon VA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

my husband and I just returned from a 31/2 week trip around Italy. Our time at he Hotel Ravizza was the highlight of our trip. the location is perfect, just outside the city gate near the Duomo. Our room was lovely and included an excellent view of the Tuscan countryside.The hotel has a lovely garden where they serve a bountiful breakfast. they also have a parking lot and are very capable of giving to directions to those who want to explore the area. The staff is top notch. take a taxi from the train station and go to their recommended restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsmchugh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Very good value for money! Overall decoration (common areas and rooms) was consistent with the time and history of the building itself and the surroundings. The old style breakfast was delicious and generous. I felt transported back in time and I loved it! The place really did it for me especially as price was very reasonable and location was very convenient. I would definitely recommend it to those appreciative of history and traditional settings. This is not to be confused with lack of comfort. The rooms are spacious with pretty much all the ammenities needed. You just shouldn't expect a chain like hotel. Thank God for that!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Palazzo Ravizza is a wonderful historical pensione with a fabulous terracce and an incredible view (we had room #14).

Our room was nice and large with an antique armoire and table and chairs.

Filled with character, the pensione is located up the hill (hence the great view) far enough from the town centre to be quiet, but close enough to be only a few minute walk away.

The pensione also has an interesting history - pick up a brochure at the front desk and read about it.

Overall, a wonderful place to stay in Siena!

Room Tip: Room #14 was wonderful as it had a view out over the hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineM998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We found the room and especially the bathroom very small for the price we were paying. The room and hotel in general needs serious updating and some loving care. The plugs are old-style rather than standard european, the lampshades need replacing, the hair-dryer was completely useless, the bed was rock hard. Is it so much to ask to have a comfortable bed for the rates we were paying? The breakfast was good, but you had to clear the table yourself before sitting down to eat. It seemed a great shame because the building, garden and views are wonderful, but we came away feeling disappointed.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BRP L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finger Lakes, New York
Level Contributor
337 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We just completed a two-night stay here. From the street-side of the hotel, it does not look like anything very special. We checked in and were escorted to room 1 on the ground floor. It was spectacular. A large sitting area with a frescoed ceiling and with a view of the garden and Tuscan hills beyond. A large bedroom, and a huge bathroom by European standards. Breakfast was excellent. The staff knowledgeable and friendly. A carafe of wine in the late afternoon while sitting in the well-tended garden was a great way to relax after exploring Siena. Location was convenient and away from the heavily traveled tourist area. We would definitely stay here again. Our only complaint would be a few too many Americans.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tommy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This hotel is full of history and character. The gardens and surrounding views are beautiful.
Check in was quick and easy, The reception lady was always friendly and helpful. Parking is behind the hotel and is free which is great.
Our room was a spacious deluxe balcony room with amazing views over the hills/hotel garden.
The features in the room were impressive, frescoed ceilings, antique furniture etc.
Breakfast was in the gardens which was lovely. The selection was very good, the pastries and granola/muesli were great!
The location is close enough to everything you could want.
Would recommend! If you can afford it go for the deluxe balcony room!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,145 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#7 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 40 in Siena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#16 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Ravizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Ravizza

Property: Palazzo Ravizza
Address: Piano Dei Mantellini 34, 53100, Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#5 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Ravizza 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Palazzo Ravizza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Ravizza Hotel Siena
Palazzo Ravizza Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing