We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in Siena”
Review of Palazzo Ravizza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Palazzo Ravizza
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Palazzo Ravizza is a wonderful historical pensione with a fabulous terracce and an incredible view (we had room #14).

Our room was nice and large with an antique armoire and table and chairs.

Filled with character, the pensione is located up the hill (hence the great view) far enough from the town centre to be quiet, but close enough to be only a few minute walk away.

The pensione also has an interesting history - pick up a brochure at the front desk and read about it.

Overall, a wonderful place to stay in Siena!

Room Tip: Room #14 was wonderful as it had a view out over the hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristineM998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,507)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

543 - 549 of 1,507 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

We found the room and especially the bathroom very small for the price we were paying. The room and hotel in general needs serious updating and some loving care. The plugs are old-style rather than standard european, the lampshades need replacing, the hair-dryer was completely useless, the bed was rock hard. Is it so much to ask to have a comfortable bed for the rates we were paying? The breakfast was good, but you had to clear the table yourself before sitting down to eat. It seemed a great shame because the building, garden and views are wonderful, but we came away feeling disappointed.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank BRP L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We just completed a two-night stay here. From the street-side of the hotel, it does not look like anything very special. We checked in and were escorted to room 1 on the ground floor. It was spectacular. A large sitting area with a frescoed ceiling and with a view of the garden and Tuscan hills beyond. A large bedroom, and a huge bathroom by European standards. Breakfast was excellent. The staff knowledgeable and friendly. A carafe of wine in the late afternoon while sitting in the well-tended garden was a great way to relax after exploring Siena. Location was convenient and away from the heavily traveled tourist area. We would definitely stay here again. Our only complaint would be a few too many Americans.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Tommy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This hotel is full of history and character. The gardens and surrounding views are beautiful.
Check in was quick and easy, The reception lady was always friendly and helpful. Parking is behind the hotel and is free which is great.
Our room was a spacious deluxe balcony room with amazing views over the hills/hotel garden.
The features in the room were impressive, frescoed ceilings, antique furniture etc.
Breakfast was in the gardens which was lovely. The selection was very good, the pastries and granola/muesli were great!
The location is close enough to everything you could want.
Would recommend! If you can afford it go for the deluxe balcony room!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We arrived in Siena after a few days in Rome, in the need for some relaxation in the countryside. The town didn't disappoint, in fact we will certainly be back.

The hotel was exactly as advertised, including the amazing (priceless?) view of the Tuscan hills.

Breakfast was superb, and the staff were all fantastic and spoke superb English (possibly because of the very high number of Americans rather than Brits).

The location of the hotel is outside the main city streets, but you are about 10 min walk to the Campo. This means everything is within easy reach, but the location is quiet.

Our room was adequate-nothing special, and that's why I've only given it 4 stars. The room was well decorated and furnished, the bathroom clean, large and functional, but we paid €170 a night, and I guess my expectations are higher for that amount of money.

If you do chose Siena for holiday then eat at the Antica Osteria da Divo. It was immense and the great reviews don't do it justice, we were left in awe of the restaurant and the city, but not quite the hotel.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Howeller76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Loved our stay here and extended it by another night. Great location inside the walls, so short walk to discover the delights of Siena. Free parking is unusual in Italy and extremely welcome. Hotel is beautiful and full of history. The setting for the lovely breakfast is second to none across the Tuscan hills.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wacqui41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Loved this hotel. Although we were allocated front bedroom rather than one over looking gardens it was absolutely charming.
Beautiful gardens and staff very friendly.
Perfect location to explore Siena.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking gardens at rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lou_227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#8 of 40 in Siena
3,440 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#3 of 40 in Siena
697 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Relais degli Angeli
Relais degli Angeli
#2 of 40 in Siena
159 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#18 of 40 in Siena
1,544 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#14 of 40 in Siena
1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Ravizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Ravizza

Address: Piano Dei Mantellini 34, 53100, Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Siena
#3 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range: $112 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Ravizza 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Palazzo Ravizza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Ravizza Hotel Siena
Palazzo Ravizza Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing