We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Hotel with distinctive character” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palazzo Ravizza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Palazzo Ravizza
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Claremont, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Hotel with distinctive character”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

My sister and I stayed two nights in July. We had chosen this hotel because of the great reviews, the availability of parking and its central location. Though we did have trouble getting on the correct road into Siena, once we did the directions were extremely clear. The staff were helpful with the check in process and with helping us get oriente to Siena.

The room was spacious overlooking the front street. The decor is tasteful. we did utter a prayer every time we entered the "classic" elevator though! The garden in the back is peaceful and well cared for. The breakfast was had a good selection of food and allowed us to enjoy the beauty of the garden and the serenity of the valley below.

We had no trouble getting around Siena with the provided map with everything within walking distance.

We would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a hotel with a distinctive atmosphere.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    813
    380
    88
    20
    17
See reviews for
152
857
19
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Old style hotel, very basic room. I've never been a Monk, but I'm guessing this would be close to their standards. We stayed on the top floor with a tiny window covered in iron bars, looking out over roof tops. The cement and wood beam ceiling was sagging precariously overhead which was a little uneasy - I prayed for no earthquake during our one-night stay. On a positive note, the backyard garden and view was beautiful. Having breakfast outside overlooking the Tuscan vista was breathtaking.

Make sure you read their website on directions to the hotel - we didn't and it was a nightmare to find! It's inside the old city walls and hard to locate.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We recently spent two nights at the Palazzo Ravizza. When we arrived, I was a little taken back by the exterior of the hotel. It is very unassuming. Don't let that give you any dismay. We had a wonderful stay. The staff are very friendly and accommodating and the property and grounds are very nice, the breakfast was also very nice. As other reviewers have said, our room was very large, well appointed and decorated (reflected the Italian and Tuscan experience) and had a wonderful view of the garden and Tuscan countryside. I struggled whether this hotel was a 4 or a 5, because like many Italian hotels, the air conditioning leaves something to be desired, and we were there in the height of the summer heat. Other than that, we could not complain about anything. It is a short walk to the center of town, and the view from the garden at breakfast was spectacular.

Room Tip: pay for the extra cost to view the countryside. You will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HoyaBAMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed at the Ravizza for 2 nights to explore Siena. In a good location within the city walls where you can walk to all the sights and restaurants. The rooms were very spacious, clean and comfortable. The staff were very helpful & friendly. The gardens were a great plus with wonderful views making it a real pleasure to enjoy an evening drink and a leisurely breakfast. The breakfast selection was good and this was the only hotel we stayed at in Italy that provided complimentary coffee & tea all day long. We would definitely recommend as the ideal hotel to stay at in Siena.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GCDandH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was our first visit to Siena, and based on the reviews on Tripadvisor, decided to stay at Palazzo Ravizza. What a great hotel! Lots of character, but not outdated in any way. Excellent staff, and we loved the breakfast which was served outside in the garden.

Our room was on the street side, which was no problem at all. In fact, we enjoyed looking out and seeing the world quietly go by.

Siena itself was a wonderful experience, and whenever we go back, I can't imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester NY
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

This was our favorite hotel experience in Italy. We were very warmly welcomed on arrival. The manager was extremely nice and helpful. We had a charming room on the top floor with a great view of the countryside. We booked a triple but the room had a problem so they put the 3 kids in two doubles instead. All the rooms were good sized and tastefully decorated. The breakfast on the terrace was excellent. The building is interesting just to explore. Parking was very convenient in a nearby lot. Everyone staying seemed equally pleased with the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rstev3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
87 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for the Palio de Siena horse race. It was just two of us, but we chose a room for 4 people. It was spacious and beautiful. The detail on the walls and ceiling were very inviting. The bathroom was spectacular! Large with really nice tile. The view was all country side with large dome buildings in the distance. Worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lilyfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,936 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#4 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
1.8 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 40 in Siena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Ravizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Ravizza

Property: Palazzo Ravizza
Address: Pian dei Mantellini 34, 53100, Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#5 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Ravizza 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HRS, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Palazzo Ravizza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Ravizza Hotel Siena
Palazzo Ravizza Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing