We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel five minutes from the Campo”
Review of Palazzo Ravizza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palazzo Ravizza
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel five minutes from the Campo”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed two nights here and enjoyed our stay immensely. Our room was spacious, well furnished (old fashioned but quality), and very individually decorated. The air conditioning was excellent.

Sadly we did not have a view over the countryside but out friends did and it was stunning - however the garden terrace is just as good and a great place to have a glass of wine while deciding which restaurant to visit.

Also the staff were very, very friendly and helpful. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: If you can, get a room at the back with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reenby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    890
    412
    91
    20
    17
See reviews for
175
923
22
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Go! That's my only advice to you! This is one of my favourite places I have ever stayed! A large homely pensione-style accommodation hosts gorgeous, authentic rooms, comfortable, cosy beds, romantic views and friendly service. The breakfast is delicious, and the lovely lady at the front desk was helpful to a fault! And all for such a reasonable price! I want to go back to Siena for this place alone - other hoteliers should be trained here!!!

Room Tip: As for a view over the surrounding countryside, on the upper levels if possible - you won't be d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kineton
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Just got back after a week at this hotel. We found them very helpful with all aspects of the booking, including recommending a cab company for the journey from the airport as we did not hire a car.
We had a room with a view over the garden and the beautiful Tuscan countryside - absolutely fantastic. Room a bit long and narrow - from the floor layouts we saw, there were plenty of other larger, better proportioned rooms. Also, bathroom layout wasn't great. Furniture is not modern, but is perfectly in keeping with the style of the hotel. If our room was typical, you would be well advised to take hangers for your clothes with you. We had a total of 4 in our room.
However.....staff were very friendly and helpful; location meant it was a short walk into town and most of the tourist sites. Public areas were good, though it seemed that very few guests used them. The garden was a great place both for breakfast and for a pre-dinner drink. Don't expect a huge cooked breakfast - for us the fresh fruit, cereal, yoghurt, croissants, bread, meats and cheese were a great way to start the day.
Most guests seemed to be Americans staying for a couple of days as part of a journey through Italy.
The hotel recommended restaurants for dinner. We tried two - Divo and San Giuseppe's - food and service both good, but both quite pricey - 3 courses for me, two for my wife plus a bottle of wine came to about 130 euro. The best place we ate at was the Castelvecchio restaurant. Best food by some distance, good service and cheaper than the other two, and though there was a cover charge, they did not automatically add a service charge.
This was our first city based holiday in Italy, and we found the Palazzo Ravizza a great base for exploring Siena and the surrounding countryside.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view over the garden. Biggest rooms are on the first floor. Avoid 22 and 32 - the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvington, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We drove up to the hotel totally exhausted, and were confronted by a (small) sign and a bank of brick buildings. My husband said, "This is our hotel?" He walked in to check in with something more than misgivings and walked out and said, "WOW". Then we got to our room: what a view of the Tuscan countryside! The room was spotlessly clean. While it looked "old" it had every amenity we could think of including a frig disguised as a cabinet.
The hotel staff was wonderful. They recommended a great restaurant for dinner, not fancy, just super good. And the breakfasts were wonderful and served in a room that looked medieval.
All in all a great small hotel in a very convenient area. There's even on site parking.
I'd go again tomorrow and stay longer!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. You won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DnYC176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I stayed 10 days in the lovely hotel. Rooms were very nice. Breakfasts were excellent. Hotel staff went out of their way to be helpful. I highly recommend this small hotel. Nice restaurants nearby. Just a walk to the Campo

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gizzway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We were with a group and was delighted to find we had a room facing the back with the view. Breakfast was great. Although all the personnel were nice, Elena was a standout--she has a magnetic personality. Every room is different. One room was decorated by Fricks (of the Frick Mansion in NYC)-- so it had extra nice touches. It is a mansion converted to a hotel-- so there is a sense of a home vice an everyday hotel. Nice for a treat!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Latechy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahopac, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Staff was exceptional, very friendly and helpful, the room was quite comfortable with a beautiful view of the hotel garden and Tuscan hills behind it. The ambiance and decor of the common rooms for breakfast (which was ample, fresh, and delicious) was like something out of a fairy tale. The hotel had convenient parking (we rented a car in Florence) and was within easy walking distance of major sights. A terrific find!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#7 of 40 in Siena
3,257 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
662 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Relais degli Angeli
Relais degli Angeli
#3 of 40 in Siena
111 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
758 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 40 in Siena
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Ravizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Ravizza

Property: Palazzo Ravizza
Address: Piano Dei Mantellini 34, 53100, Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#5 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Ravizza 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Palazzo Ravizza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Ravizza Hotel Siena
Palazzo Ravizza Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing