We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A charming and handy hotel to stay at”
Review of Palazzo Ravizza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Palazzo Ravizza
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Boulogne-Billancourt, France
Level Contributor
84 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A charming and handy hotel to stay at”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

When you are visiting Sienna, you wish to enjoy the old traditions of this marvelous old city.

Palazzo Ravizza is inside the city wall's

Staying at Palazo Ravizza helps you to understand the elegant past of Sienna.

Nice rooms, charming hotel, nice breakfast with local products cheese and Salami, fabulous fresh bread.

Private parking, good service, 10' walk to Piazza Il Campo.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gisele72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    857
    402
    91
    20
    17
See reviews for
167
901
20
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire, England
Level Contributor
165 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed here for just one night in March and the Palazzo Ravizza was all we could look for in a hotel. Normally there's one or two things that could be better in a hotel, but this once ticked all the boxes.

Central, just a short walk to the centre of Sienna (5 minutes at the most), but with free parking available. The only difficulty we had was finding the place and once we had identified where we were on the map working out how to get to the hotel. There are a number of roads in sienna which are marked as restricted access, and being a foreigner in Italy, i was unware i could drive down these roads if i had a hotel reservation. Once i was told this I was then able to park outside the hotel and get directions to the car park from reception once we had checked in (very easy to find the hotels car park from the hotel).

Historic. It was good to stay in a place which has a bit of history and available for a reasonable price rather that a standard characterless chain hotel. In reception there are some 4 page guides telling you about the history of the place which was interesting. Also on the first floor there was a large room laid out like it would have been a century or so ago which was a bit different and provided added interest.

Clean. The place was clean and although our room wasn't spacious it was adequate. Some of the furniture and fittings were worn from age, but in my view this adds a bit to the hotels character, but were clean. Because we were only booked in for one night we got a street facing room rather than a back facing view over the surrounding countryside but this was fine (not noisy).

Comfortable. Very comfortable, large bed

Breakfast. Good by Italian standards, the usual continental breakfast (no cooked breakfast, but didn't expect this anyway in a hotel of this size in Italy), was of good quality, and i especially enjoyed the fresh natural yoghurt.

Garden. Nice garden over looking the hills looking way from Sienna. An ideal place to enjoy a drink, if the weather would have allowed it (it was March after all)

Staff. Friendly and helpful.

Would i stay here again? Definitely. If i was returning to Sienna, or even looking to visit the surrounding areas and wanting to stay in a town rather than the country this would be my first stop. Might not suit someone looking for a luxury hotel, but i can't see many people having much to complain about at the Palazzo Ravizza.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarrenHenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed here 4 nights after a week in arented farmhouse near Lucca.
We had room on the top floor that overlooked the lovely landscape.
The breakfast was very good. The bread was one of the best I have ever had.
Also the complemantary bottle of Cava in the garden was a nice touch.
Only minutes from the Campo square.
Will stay here again.

Room Tip: Top floor facing the countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PivoNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

The Good:. Very helpful and charming front desk staff, pretty view of surrounding countryside, parking within city walls, nice breakfast room.
The Bad:. This hotel has housekeeping issues. Although the bedding was spotless, the corners of the rooms, hallways, backs of doors, elevator, in room furnishings, etc. are all in need of some thorough cleaning.
This hotel has the potential to be something special, but it does not seem to be getting the care it deserves.
That being said would consider staying here again when visiting this lovely city. Just a few minutes walk from centre of town.  deluxe rooms face away from the road and overlook the garden and surrounding countryside.
` ` `

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 16canuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

How wonderful to find an hotel like this nowadays. Our room was so large, so clean, so quiet and with all we could want at such a reasonable rate. I know there were other rooms which I believe are even more beautiful, but ours had a huge bed, a very big bathroom which was separated by a door to our bedroom. The beautiful gardens looked out onto the beauty of the Siena hills and from our bedroom window, we could see the beautiful Cathedral. Breakfast was included and was a typical but delicious buffet. The staff were so friendly and helpful and it was situated close to the centre of the city and the shops. The hotel arranged tours, restaurants or any other event that we wanted. We were sorry to leave!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daphne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
200 reviews
196 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed at Palazzo Ravizza the first time in 2003 and had amazing memories of my stay. I just stayed there again and the place is still great. They have beautifully revamped the public space on the ground floor, especially the lobby, adding a coffee machine and a nice reading / library area. It looks contemporary and stylish. However, I found the room a bit tired and it contrasted with the entrance area. The view over the property's garden and surrounding hills are still fabulous; yet the bathroom is old and the tiles are rather outdated. This being said, the first time, I had a suite whereas this time, I was in a much smaller and cheaper room. I found the service and the staff excellent, friendly and helpful. We also had some of the best breads we ever ate in Italy at breakfast. In any case, Palazzo Ravizza remains a solid 3* hotel with a great value in Siena

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heiranig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed in the tower room and it was just a magical experience. The room was divided up a little oddly but was very private and had a wonderful window to view the sunset. We had a bit of trouble finding an "acceptable" parking spot when we got through the gates of the city but the front desk staff told us to just drive right up to the front door, unload and then park in their private lot. The bar staff was very accommodating too. Front desk staff were great - very friendly and helpful. We walked around town and they were more than happy to store our luggage that morning. Nice buffet breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for the tower room - great sunset views directly above the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SFCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,149 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#7 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 40 in Siena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#16 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Ravizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Ravizza

Property: Palazzo Ravizza
Address: Piano Dei Mantellini 34, 53100, Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#5 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Ravizza 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Palazzo Ravizza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Ravizza Hotel Siena
Palazzo Ravizza Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing