We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel has a Polished Feel to it !”
Review of Palazzo Ravizza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Palazzo Ravizza
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Could not have been more pleased with our selection of hotel in Siena. Rooms are very clean and well furnished. Bathroom had a large walk in shower, certainly not the norm in Europe, you wanted to stay under it forever. As others have said, if you have a car, this is a great choice, as they have complimentary parking. The Garmin takes you right to the door, I cannot imagine driving in Italy without a GPS. worth the small additional cost. Also being up high, there are stunning views of the Tuscan countryside from the windows. Also serve an outstanding European breakfast. Also the wine bar in the lobby is nice, you can either have the house wine or if you have better tastes, you can get a bottle of Brunello which is some of finest wines in the world made in Montelcino which is about a 45 minute drive from this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,490)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

630 - 636 of 1,491 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed only one night but liked this hotel very much. It is quaint, very well maintained and the room was big. Parking was convenient. It was a little too far away from the centre for our liking so next time we shall probably look for something more central. Very good professional service and very well heated.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank RomileyJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I agree with many comments mentioned by previous reviewers - here are thoughts together:
- Parking is free and close to the hotel.
- The hotel is unique and quaint and the rooms are very large. The hotel has unique character, including a grand piano, game tables, and a lending library.
- Breakfast is great.
- The location is great. It is a short walk to the Cathedral, but in a quiet part of town.

I'd recommend requesting a room NOT next to the stairwell, as the doors open and shut and make noise.

Otherwise, a very satisfied customer!

Room Tip: Avoid being near the stairwell. Might be worth an upgrade for a better view (I had a view of a build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ENickinA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

This was hands down the best place we stayed during our 16 day trip in Italy. First, if you have a car, this is a great choice in Siena. Parking is available and you are able to pull up to the front of the hotel to unload. The hotel was not difficult to find thanks to the excellent directions available on the Tuscany forum.

Our room, #4, was lovely. The room was large, as was the bathroom, and we had a balcony that had a beautiful view of the Tuscan countryside. The bed was comfortable and the shower was spa-like.

The hotel staff were great. They work such long shifts but they were always so helpful and willing to indulge my poor attempts to speak Italian and bail me out when it wasn't working. They even mailed a postcard for me and covered the postage since I didn't have it.

The location of the hotel is really convenient. Siena is pretty small and easy to cover on foot. Palazzo Ravizza is about 10 minutes by foot from the center of town. The hotel serves breakfast in the morning and lots of wine is available in the lobby.

We cannot wait to go back to Siena and we will definitely stay at Palazzo Ravizza in Room 4.

Room Tip: It is worth the price to upgrade to a hillside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dboe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Definitely pays to upgrade to one of the rooms with a countryside view - absolutely stunning and tranquil view from our large windows. The rooms, with their unique period furnishings were comfortable and spacious. You can walk out the front door and are within a few minutes walk of all the sights.
Loved our stay

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ophelia89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

The Palazzo Ravizza is very clean and full of charm, with a lot of attractive antique furniture, and is located on a picturesque square at the edge of the old city. My room overlooked the garden and boasted a spectacular view of the countryside: well worth the upgrade. The whole staff is professional and helpful and I especially enjoyed the natural friendliness of Nathalie, Gari, and Francesca. The location is a pro and a con—you're a bit outside the main area—but then again, if you stay smack in the center you would never get the landscape views, and that was probably the best part of the hotel for me.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dctraveler15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Nice property, with a lot of charm and historic character. Definitely spring for the garden view and note that although you might have a better view on the higher levels, we enjoyed our stay in Room 105 which was lovely and spacious-- it had an adjacent upstairs loft area with 2 single beds which would be great for a family with young kids. An added bonus was that it was only one level of stairs to get to street level. (The small elevator was a bit slow.) We were pleasantly surprised that the Palazzo also offered inexpensive wine for sale (from a barrel on the countertop) by the glass and carafe-- it was nice to be able to sip some wine in the garden and watch the beautiful sunset from the terrace. All the staff we encountered were friendly and courteous.
Free parking was a nice feature. Be sure that when you set your GPS, you take the route by the Porta San Marco gate. (Siena is closed to traffic in sections- not all city gates will get you to the Palazzo.) Breakfast was good (loved the croissants and their multi-grain, seeded bread-yum!) Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Savvymom101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.9 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
692 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#7 of 40 in Siena
3,378 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Relais degli Angeli
Relais degli Angeli
#3 of 40 in Siena
143 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 40 in Siena
735 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#16 of 40 in Siena
1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Ravizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Ravizza

Address: Piano Dei Mantellini 34, 53100, Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#5 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range: $102 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Ravizza 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Palazzo Ravizza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Ravizza Hotel Siena
Palazzo Ravizza Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing