We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel inside the walls”
Review of Palazzo Ravizza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palazzo Ravizza
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Billerica, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel inside the walls”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed in room 50 a tower room with a fantastic view of the valley. Room was large and bed was very comfortable Typical breakfast with good espresso and cappuccino. Service was very good. Front desk staff was very friendly. Ariol at the front desk was particularly helpful with restaurant reservations. We had chosen 3 restaurants using trip advisor. He made reservations at 2 of them and emailed to let us know that the 3rd had a fixed menu and to decide when we got there. He was right. Garden behind the hotel is a great place to relax with a bottle of wine after long days of sightseeing. There is also a big room inside if the weather is not good. Parking is gated and safe although there is a long climb up the stairs back to the hotel. Very close to everything in Siena. Only complaint, and it is a minor one, is that there is a school across the street and the children can be very loud in the morning if your window is open.

Room Tip: If you don't mind stairs, room 50 in the tower has a great view of the valley. Elevator goes to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 72asbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    882
    406
    91
    20
    17
See reviews for
174
915
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We were recently supposed to honeymoon in Italy and were staying at the Palazzo Ravizza for part of the trip. Due to hurricane Sandy hitting the East Coast of the US, our flight to Italy was canceled and our trip inevitably cancelled as well.

Although we haven’t gotten to stay yet, we can’t say enough about the hospitality we received from the staff at the Palazzo Ravizza. They were overly accommodating in the booking and cancellation process. We are going to try to postpone our honeymoon trip in the future and we will be sure to rebook with them because of the level of professionalism they showed us during this misfortunate situation. If you are looking for a hotel, I would recommend booking with them based off the high level of hospitality they have shown us during this circumstance.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank foodieforlifeNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

This was a jewel in the rough for sure. It's so "discreet", just on the outside wall of Siena at the Porta Due. Ask for a room overlooking the garden and up high and you'll be stunned when you open the window to the most breathtaking view of the Tuscan Hills and Countryside. The staff are the ultimate professionals and friendly and all speak impeccable English. The Pillows and Duvet Cover were so comfortable I would have loved to buy and take back to the states. The room was quite large by Italian standards and the bath although a little small, was functional and the shower quite acceptable. We stayed in 4 different towns/hotels during this past trip and the Palazzo Ravizza was our absolute favorite. DO have them make a reservation for you at Nonna Gina's, just a half block away. It was quaint, reasonably priced and PACKED. The essense of a great little neighborhood restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the gardens and at least 3 floors up. You'll just want to stand and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristinaCatLvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

The location is perfect (only a couple of minutes walk to Piazza del Campo). The staff are so helpful and friendly. The view from the back of the hotel is absolutely stunning!!!!! This was an overall wonderful experience. From the moment we checked in, we were thrilled to be there. The room we had was incredibly spacious, even by U.S. standards, so it was HUGE by European standards! The wine on tap in the lobby was incredibly convenient, and we very much enjoyed drinking it while enjoying the stunning views of Tuscany at the back. Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris France
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Very nice building and decoration, very nice garden, very nice room and view (ask a view on the garden), excellent beds. Breakfast is perfect. Only point : for this price, a bath is expected and not only a shower.

Room Tip: On the garden and not on the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfavril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Well, our room was okay. Great view and spacious but the bathroom/shower really showed its age. However, the garden is so lovely that you won't spend much time in your room anyway. More than once, I found my husband sitting out there with a carafe of wine relaxing (something he rarely does!). Breakfast was good, served outdoors which was wonderful in summer. It is also very well located with helpful staff. We were there the day prior to the Palio (mid August) so it was an exciting time to be in Siena.

Room Tip: Face the garden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAH55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florianopolis, SC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I had read some reviews remarking the hotel's age, so I was a little concerned about that. Being mildly skeptical was perhaps a healthy attitude. For the things that matter, the hotel was very good. Room size was big and clean (we had a superior on the third floor), the mattresses were firm and towels, blankets and pillows new and updated (meaning their comfortable style). Shower had good pressure. Free Wifi worked fine in room. The location is excellent and it offers free parking. The backyard garden is very pleasant with great views.

Breakfast is OK. Bread very good, but a tad weak on the fruit section.

On the minus side, it does look a bit weary on the ground floor, but we hardly spent any time there. We would also had preferred a room facing the garden and not the street. The streets is not noisy though with the exception of a campanile which bell tolls every half our. Romantic to some, a nuisance to others.

Room Tip: call beforehand to ask how to get to parking. GPS will give you a free tour into a maze until you sw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
3,223 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
656 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Relais degli Angeli
Relais degli Angeli
#8 of 40 in Siena
104 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 40 in Siena
695 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#5 of 40 in Siena
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Ravizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Ravizza

Property: Palazzo Ravizza
Address: Piano Dei Mantellini 34, 53100, Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#5 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Ravizza 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HRS so you can book your Palazzo Ravizza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Ravizza Hotel Siena
Palazzo Ravizza Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing