We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Exquisite” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palazzo Ravizza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palazzo Ravizza
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

This was a jewel in the rough for sure. It's so "discreet", just on the outside wall of Siena at the Porta Due. Ask for a room overlooking the garden and up high and you'll be stunned when you open the window to the most breathtaking view of the Tuscan Hills and Countryside. The staff are the ultimate professionals and friendly and all speak impeccable English. The Pillows and Duvet Cover were so comfortable I would have loved to buy and take back to the states. The room was quite large by Italian standards and the bath although a little small, was functional and the shower quite acceptable. We stayed in 4 different towns/hotels during this past trip and the Palazzo Ravizza was our absolute favorite. DO have them make a reservation for you at Nonna Gina's, just a half block away. It was quaint, reasonably priced and PACKED. The essense of a great little neighborhood restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the gardens and at least 3 floors up. You'll just want to stand and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristinaCatLvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    813
    380
    88
    20
    17
See reviews for
152
857
19
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

The location is perfect (only a couple of minutes walk to Piazza del Campo). The staff are so helpful and friendly. The view from the back of the hotel is absolutely stunning!!!!! This was an overall wonderful experience. From the moment we checked in, we were thrilled to be there. The room we had was incredibly spacious, even by U.S. standards, so it was HUGE by European standards! The wine on tap in the lobby was incredibly convenient, and we very much enjoyed drinking it while enjoying the stunning views of Tuscany at the back. Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris France
Level Contributor
129 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Very nice building and decoration, very nice garden, very nice room and view (ask a view on the garden), excellent beds. Breakfast is perfect. Only point : for this price, a bath is expected and not only a shower.

Room Tip: On the garden and not on the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jfavril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Well, our room was okay. Great view and spacious but the bathroom/shower really showed its age. However, the garden is so lovely that you won't spend much time in your room anyway. More than once, I found my husband sitting out there with a carafe of wine relaxing (something he rarely does!). Breakfast was good, served outdoors which was wonderful in summer. It is also very well located with helpful staff. We were there the day prior to the Palio (mid August) so it was an exciting time to be in Siena.

Room Tip: Face the garden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LAH55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florianopolis, SC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

I had read some reviews remarking the hotel's age, so I was a little concerned about that. Being mildly skeptical was perhaps a healthy attitude. For the things that matter, the hotel was very good. Room size was big and clean (we had a superior on the third floor), the mattresses were firm and towels, blankets and pillows new and updated (meaning their comfortable style). Shower had good pressure. Free Wifi worked fine in room. The location is excellent and it offers free parking. The backyard garden is very pleasant with great views.

Breakfast is OK. Bread very good, but a tad weak on the fruit section.

On the minus side, it does look a bit weary on the ground floor, but we hardly spent any time there. We would also had preferred a room facing the garden and not the street. The streets is not noisy though with the exception of a campanile which bell tolls every half our. Romantic to some, a nuisance to others.

Room Tip: call beforehand to ask how to get to parking. GPS will give you a free tour into a maze until you sw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhorn, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Our room was perfect. Clean, comfortable and a beautiful view of the garden and hillsides of Tuscany. The staff was polite and helpful. We were only able to stay for two nights and wish it could have been longer. What a treat to sip wine and watch the sunset from the garden area. Although the elevator was across the hall from our room, it was very quiet and private. We had the choice of eating breakfast in the garden area or inside.
This is not a modern hotel and we appreciated the decor - exactly what we would have expected in an authentic Siena hotel.
Easy to walk to the sites from this convenient location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chisub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Beautiful hotel, wonderful back terrace with a classic Tuscan view. We fell in love immediately and wanted to stay longer. Excellent service from all the staff. Very nice breakfast that we enjoyed out on the terrace. Handy Book shop. Loft room was charming and still spacious. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,936 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#4 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
1.8 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 40 in Siena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Ravizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Ravizza

Property: Palazzo Ravizza
Address: Pian dei Mantellini 34, 53100, Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#5 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Ravizza 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, HRS, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Palazzo Ravizza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Ravizza Hotel Siena
Palazzo Ravizza Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing