We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place”
Review of Palazzo Ravizza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palazzo Ravizza
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Very nice building and decoration, very nice garden, very nice room and view (ask a view on the garden), excellent beds. Breakfast is perfect. Only point : for this price, a bath is expected and not only a shower.

Room Tip: On the garden and not on the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jfavril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,488)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

646 - 652 of 1,488 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2012

Well, our room was okay. Great view and spacious but the bathroom/shower really showed its age. However, the garden is so lovely that you won't spend much time in your room anyway. More than once, I found my husband sitting out there with a carafe of wine relaxing (something he rarely does!). Breakfast was good, served outdoors which was wonderful in summer. It is also very well located with helpful staff. We were there the day prior to the Palio (mid August) so it was an exciting time to be in Siena.

Room Tip: Face the garden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAH55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I had read some reviews remarking the hotel's age, so I was a little concerned about that. Being mildly skeptical was perhaps a healthy attitude. For the things that matter, the hotel was very good. Room size was big and clean (we had a superior on the third floor), the mattresses were firm and towels, blankets and pillows new and updated (meaning their comfortable style). Shower had good pressure. Free Wifi worked fine in room. The location is excellent and it offers free parking. The backyard garden is very pleasant with great views.

Breakfast is OK. Bread very good, but a tad weak on the fruit section.

On the minus side, it does look a bit weary on the ground floor, but we hardly spent any time there. We would also had preferred a room facing the garden and not the street. The streets is not noisy though with the exception of a campanile which bell tolls every half our. Romantic to some, a nuisance to others.

Room Tip: call beforehand to ask how to get to parking. GPS will give you a free tour into a maze until you sw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Our room was perfect. Clean, comfortable and a beautiful view of the garden and hillsides of Tuscany. The staff was polite and helpful. We were only able to stay for two nights and wish it could have been longer. What a treat to sip wine and watch the sunset from the garden area. Although the elevator was across the hall from our room, it was very quiet and private. We had the choice of eating breakfast in the garden area or inside.
This is not a modern hotel and we appreciated the decor - exactly what we would have expected in an authentic Siena hotel.
Easy to walk to the sites from this convenient location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chisub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Beautiful hotel, wonderful back terrace with a classic Tuscan view. We fell in love immediately and wanted to stay longer. Excellent service from all the staff. Very nice breakfast that we enjoyed out on the terrace. Handy Book shop. Loft room was charming and still spacious. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

My wife booked a holiday in Tuscany for my 60th birthday present. Everything was excellent until we got to this hotel. The welcome started it off.We waited for over 10 minutes at reception, and were then eventually given our key to the "superior" room that we had paid extra for. We were shown where our cases were stored, and then left without any assistance to find our room, which was on the 3rd floor. When we came out of the lift, we literally waded through empty wine bottles, black sacks and dirty washing to our door. On entering the room smelt of cigarette smoke, and was not the standard of room that we expected It faced the road, not the gardens and hillsides that we expected and wanted.We decided to go back to reception to see if a mistake had been made, to be told that the room was indeed "superior" and that there were no superior rooms that overlook the garden, only suites. We were then offered a different room that was slightly better than the original. We got ready for dinner asap, as we were in need of a drink and the mini bar was empty.
We walked in to the gardens to see many rooms overlooking the gardens!! Breakfast the next morning was very disappointing, and so it went on. There was a food lift outside our room that has empty plastic bottles by it for the whole stay. Not good enough.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank SueDavidMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

When we entered our room at Palazzo Ravizza, I must confess we were a bit disappointed. It was the Garden Suite, a very large room opening directly to the garden at the back of the hotel, but it was a little worn (the table was lopsided, and we needed to put some folded paper under one of its feet to steady it; faded upholstery; old lining in the wardrobe). Since everything was spotlessly clean and the bed was very good, we decided to give it a try. And it was worth it. Our room was very quiet and the shower had a good pressure. Ariol and Francesca at the reception were extremely nice and gave us very good indications of restaurants and of a fabulous bakery – Il Magnifico – where we bought delicious Sienese pastries (panforte, cavalucci, ricciarelli – not to be missed). The hotel is inside Siena's walls, in a good and peaceful neighborhood, and it is very easy to walk to every attraction of this wonderful town. There is a secured garage on the back, and the view from the garden – which is very nice and well-tended - is simply magnificent! You could stay there all day watching the light over the beautiful Tuscan countryside.
Overall, the impression was positive. However, even as a three-star hotel, Palazzo Ravizza could use some improvements regarding decoration in the room (I can only speak for the Garden Suite, because I haven't seen the other rooms), because this is a beautiful and historical place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MARIA CRISTINA G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.9 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
692 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#7 of 40 in Siena
3,374 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Relais degli Angeli
Relais degli Angeli
#3 of 40 in Siena
143 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 40 in Siena
735 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental - Starhotels Collezione
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Ravizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Ravizza

Address: Piano Dei Mantellini 34, 53100, Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#5 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range: $100 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Ravizza 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palazzo Ravizza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Ravizza Hotel Siena
Palazzo Ravizza Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing