We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful palazzo steeped in history” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palazzo Ravizza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Palazzo Ravizza
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful palazzo steeped in history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Absolutely stunning hotel in an excellent location. The staff is great - helpful, accommodating, friendly. It was no problem for them to arrange a car service to pick us up in Florence and bring us to Siena, or to make restaurant reservations and recommendations.

We stayed in room 26. Large room with a really nice bathroom. Charming details, like antique furniture, but a nice modern flat screen TV as well. Small detail, but worth mentioning (for me, anyway). The shower gel and lotion that were provided smell heavenly, and you can purchase larger bottles inexpensively if you wish to take some home. The A/C worked great and there is a really large sunny window that let in the fresh air. Only negative about the room for us is that the mattress is really hard. However, we asked the front desk for an extra duvet cover and that helped a lot. Also, they were very accommodating about getting it for us.

Breakfast is served outside in the garden (weather permitting) and it's scrumptuous. Fresh meats, cheeses, mini mozzarella balls, tomatoes, yogurt, granola, and fruit. The barristas will make you a cappuccino if you ask, and it's well worth it to ask as it's wonderful. In the lobby where reception is, glasses or carafes of red and white wine are available. You can bring it up to your room, or enjoy your drinks in the pretty sitting room. There is also a cute little bookstore in the hotel.

I wouldn't even look for a different hotel if I return to Siena - I'll just book my room at Palazzo Ravizza.

Would recommend for this hotel for any traveler.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the street, which we were fine with because it's not a busy street. However...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renaissance11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    830
    390
    90
    20
    17
See reviews for
158
875
19
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed at the Palazzo Ravizza for two nights and enjoyed our stay. It is an authentic Tuscan hotel with lovely character and breathtaking gardens overlooking the Tuscan countryside. The breakfast held on the terrace is amazing (be sure to ask the barista to make you a cappuccino)! Probably the best breakfast during our travels throughout Italy. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from city center but is still very central. Upon arrival we were greeted by one of the male staff members who was quite harsh and not very friendly. The rest of the staff were more approachable during the stay however, this is something they should definitely improve upon. This is a great hotel for people who have a car as they have parking included. Wifi is also included which a very much appreciated. Our room as very nice (lovely high ceilings), however, our bathroom was very small and you could barely stand in the shower! It looks like the some of the rooms have larger facilities and so be sure to keep this in mind while booking. Overall, we had a great stay!

Room Tip: Rooms with a garden view are lovely but you will pay a premium!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank unotravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
244 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Lovely room with amazing views of Tuscan hills Our room(#4) also overlooked the fountain and gardens so it looked and sounded charming. They gave us directions to park directly behind the hotel and location was a quick walk to all Siena has to offer. Also large fabulous shower , great after along hot day

Room Tip: Prefer a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caryn1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Just another fan of this lovely hotel with the breathtaking view! So classy and peaceful and just minutes away from all the energy of Siena. Without our asking, the concierge upgraded our kids' room so they could be adjacent to ours, which was very nice. We all thoroughly enjoyed the delicious breakfast on the terrace. We hope to return!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Palazzo Ravizza for one night in August and thouroughly enjoyed it. It's a bit of a walk to the city center, but not bad at all and much quieter as a result. The room was large and "old world" - but in a good way. The staff was also great and very helpful and friendly. But For us, the highlight of the hotel had to be the view from their back terrace overlooking the beautiful Tuscan countryside below. We had a large carafe of their house red wine (which was amazing and only cost 6 euros!) brought to us as we watched the sun set from the terrace. And breakfast was served on the terrace as well. Clearly - one of the best views in Siena! Our only negative was that our room was right next to the door to the stairs, which would slam shut every time someone opened it and wake us up. But that's a small price to pay for such a beautiful view and comfortable accommodations. I definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Not sure what I can really add that has not already been said however our stay at this hotel was a lovely experience and deserves a vote. The view at the back of the hotel where breakfast is served is fantastic. Listen to the friendly staff when getting directions to get there as the GPS will lost certainly show you the wrong way. Parking is available. The front desk staff are friendly and helpful. The room we stayed in for 2 nights had a view over the town and was delightful to stay in - a perfect match for the wonderful town (City?) of Siena.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray_Perth_Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

Paid extra to have the garden view and was not dissapointed. The view on sunset was amazing. Located centrally and only short walk into main part of Siena. Beautiful older style hotel which we enjoyed. Found it a little hard to find at first. Room was awesome but lacked the finishing touches of a hotel that charges what they do, eg room service, free water in Rooms etc but only a small fault.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pantom35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#5 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,051 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
1.8 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 40 in Siena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Duomo
Hotel Duomo
#15 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Ravizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Ravizza

Property: Palazzo Ravizza
Address: Piano Dei Mantellini 34, 53100, Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#5 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Ravizza 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Palazzo Ravizza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Ravizza Hotel Siena
Palazzo Ravizza Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing