We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yum food and super service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Namastey India - CLOSED

Namastey India
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Cucina Indiana Di Origine Punjab..
London
Level Contributor
113 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Yum food and super service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

Before I start let me say that I am very fussy about my curries.. And when my husband and I chanced upon this restaurant in Siena, I wasn't expecting much. But I was pleasantly surprised and how! Namastey India is one of the best Indian restaurants that I have eaten in outside India (and I have tried quite a few in London where I live). The mutton (lamb) masala wasnt in the menu but was suggested to us by Bains (our very helpful host). It had the right flavours and was yum without being too hot. The dal or lentil combination (of three pulses) was something I haven't had before but it was nice too.. And went well with the mutton... And healthy too i think! I would recommend the alloo paratha (bread) which was super. But the tandoor chicken which we ordered as a starter was my favourite. The price is very reasonable for Siena and our total bill for two mains and three breads, with the tandoori chicken starter and a whiskey plus mineral water came to 38 euros. Do remember that the portions are small so order lots of food.. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DeepikaThapliyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    71
    34
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“If you're in Italy for Indian food...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

My dad and I loved the food here, delicious and nutritious! Although we were vacationing in Italy, where good food is everywhere, we had to return to this restaurant the very next day. Excellent lentil soup, nan and roti breads, tasty sauces...I'm hungry just thinking about it! The scene was an interesting mix of old Sienese architecture and Indian motifs. The primary waiter was pleasant but the helper tried to persuade us that we had ordered some dishes that we did not. Well, his Jedi mind tricks did not work on us! Shoot, I forgot to toss a coin over my shoulder, because I definitely would return to this place!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HHo32655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Authentic Indian restaurant in Siena”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

After about 8 days of Italian food we really craved some good Indian food and were happy to find this little gem in Tuscan area. We ate only vegetarian food and found that to be great value. The server were all very courteous and food was very close to authentic Indian - we asked for it to be spicy . Will definitely go back again.
The owner Mr Rajinder helped us select the best dishes so much that we even took some home for dinner.
Will definitely go back again.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jatin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“GOOD!!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

I've been here at the end of year 2011,'cause all the other italian typical Siena restaurants where full of peoples. All the things I've eaten were very good, served by very nice peoples. Though I've not a great knowledge of indian food, that Punjab chilly sauce was incredibly good!!!! Try it!
Not a great price, compared with other more typical restaurants near Piazza del Campo, unless you just eat pizza...

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WaltVortex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
“Nice little real indian place in Siena”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

Me and my wife went there in search of real Indian food and yeah we got it there! I can claim that they serve authentic north Indian food (being Indian we can).

Staff is nice and polite, we felt like having a dinner at friends place.

I would high reccomend this for those who wanna have real Indian food (not like others where food is made and served by non-Indians).

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashishha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Namastey India also viewed

Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 
Isola d'Arbia, Siena
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing