We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All for under €100 a night!”
Review of Hotel Minerva

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Minerva
Ranked #18 of 40 Hotels in Siena
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
336 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“All for under €100 a night!”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Decent hotels under €100 a night are not easy to find in Siena and this one is a charmer. Just inside the city walls (everything is in fairly easy walking distance in Siena) and not far from the station. Via Garibaldi was punched through the old town walls to make access to the station easier when the trains came in the late 19c. The rooms are a good size and the ceilings are high. The decor is pleasant and unfussy, rooms spotlessly clean, beds comfortable and the shower was a good size. Breakfast was varied and fresh. Most of the rooms have little juliette balconies but some have a full sized patio with views over the valley to San Francesco basilica.
The concierges were the star turns - endlessly patient, calm, helpful and knowledeable and gave superb recommendations for dinner both nights that we stayed there. Free internet access in the lobby and free wifi (although I didn't use the Wifi). The facilities and service are consistent with more than the 3* rating. I am very happy to recommend the hotel and would certainly return myself.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlooking the valley have a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank galloping_grannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROCCO L, Direttore at Hotel Minerva, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Grannie,

many thanks for your beautiful words. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and are satisfied that you appreciated our services.
We hope you will visit Siena and us again, maybe with some of your firends in a next future.
Warm regards from Hotel Minerva's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    537
    277
    71
    23
See reviews for
220
614
51
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We fell in love with Siena during our 3 day stay there and this hotel was perfect. Yes it is a 10 minute walk into the old city but it was an easy walk.
The staff were always pleasant. Breakfast was great. We had a superior room with our own balcony overlooking the old city. Gorgeous views! The room and bathroom were both big & spacious - also very clean. It was amazing how reasonably priced this hotel is considering all it had to offer.

Room Tip: Definitely get a superior room and enjoy a bottle of wine while you overlook the old town of Siena.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meganne1164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROCCO L, Direttore at Hotel Minerva, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Meganne,

many thanks for your very nice words on our hotel. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay by Hotel Minerva. We hope you will come to viusit Siena again and stay once again in a wonderful room and enjoy the view from the balcony.
Best regards from Hotel Minerva.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely, very clean & extremely reasonably priced 3 star hotel in central Siena. It's a 10min walk uphill to the piazza del campo and duomo. The only people that might find this difficult are the disabled or very elderly, however as Siena is full of hills this can't be avoided when visiting. The staff in particular are very friendly & helpful especially on the front desk with information and booking the tours they have. Our room had a stunning view over the city & we stayed in one of the basic ones. For the price of the hotel it cannot be beaten for great value & location. Ignore the moaners on here, as always there are those who expect 5 star experience but are only willing to pay 3 star prices! This place is lovely & I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SXR101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROCCO L, Direttore at Hotel Minerva, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear guest,

many thanks for your beautiful commentary. We are very happy to know you appreciated our hotel and it's services and we hope you will come back to visit us and our beautiful city again.
Best wishes from Hotel Minerva.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Hotel location means you need to be fit to get to main attractions of town. Uphill walk from hotel 15 minutes to Il Campo. Easy coming back!! Good buffet breakfast, staff in dining room very pleasant and helpful. Hotel a bit tired, needs a face lift. Booked a room with free bathrobes, but still have not seen them. Check in staff a bit brusque. garage parking possible but 12 euros per night, but nice and handy and not much alternative.

Room Tip: Some rooms did appear to have balconies facing the town with views. Ask for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shearer032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROCCO L, Direttore at Hotel Minerva, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Shearen,

thank you for your commentary. As you have realized, Siena is displaced on several hills, so it's normal to walk up and down.
As far as of the hotel, we are aware that we need to intervene on the structure, and I can assure you that every year we do some refurbishment. Of course the hotel is quite big and it is not possible to renew everything all at once.
Best regards from Hotel Minerva.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Now im not complaining that they won't be my friends. I'm saying as a guest I felt terrible uncomfortable being there. I made no requests other than to check in and check out.

Firstly when I arrived I had to walk around 2 guys in suits standing in the door just talking. I went to the check in counter stood there then they turned around to see what I wanted. We were 2 hours early. There first words from them were "check in is at 3pm". Which is fine by us, we were just asking in case.
There never was any pleasantness about the dealings.

Check out was even worse.

The hotel is noisy. We heard tables being dragged around above is constantly. There are 5 or 6 floors there going up. We got floor minus 1 yes 1 level down.

Location was good. People talk about Hills but really there not steep and easily walkable.

Parking on site was a must and is a big advantage.

Breakfast just ordinary.

This hotel is really for bulk business tour groups where personal service is not given.

I would not go again.


  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xshaun3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROCCO L, Direttore at Hotel Minerva, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear guest,

I'm sorry for the bad personal relation with the receptionist. The check-in is at 3 p.m. beacuse above all when the day before the hotel is fully booked, it is difficult to have the room ready before that time.

As far as for the noise, if during the night you hear noises from the room above you, you have to call the reception and we will phone the room to ask to be quiet.
Bacause the reception is far from the rooms, we are not aware if there is some noise.

Kind regards from Hotel Minerva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth
2 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2013

lovely spotlessly clean hotel ideally situated for access to sienna .Catch the bus or discover various short cuts to the city. .There is a very good restaurant just across the road .If you book the right room,ours was 408 the view is spectacular all in all good place to stay .lastly. top class staff.

Room Tip: we only saw room 408 what aview
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ianrippo04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROCCO L, Direttore at Hotel Minerva, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Ian,

I agree with you: the view from the rooms is spectacular. You can enjouy your stay because we are in the very centre of Siena, and you can walk from the hotel anywhere.
Thank you again for the nice words you wrote about us and we hope you will come back to visit us.
Best regards from Hotel minerva's staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

It doesn't get much better than to be able to open your window and see Siena. This hotel is beautifully sited to see The old city.
In the morning, pull the curtain back and watch the swallows dip into the valley and over the hills of Siena. The old city is all there in front of you and you can wander your way up to it past Roman baths. The whole hotel, from the service at the front desk, the cleanliness, the comfort of the beds and the good breakfast makes this a much more enjoyable stay than the 4 star we stayed at last night.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROCCO L, Direttore at Hotel Minerva, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Jennifer,

many thanks for your commentary. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and our beautiful town.
We hope that yolu will colme backi to visit us again in your next future.
In the meantime a big hello from Htel Minerva's staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,144 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,000 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#13 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#16 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#7 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Minerva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Minerva

Property: Hotel Minerva
Address: Via Giuseppe Garibaldi 72, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Minerva 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minerva Hotel is a three star hotel in the historic center of Siena, overlooking from its position the city of the Palio. Hotel Minerva is located in the heart of Siena, the medieval city known around the world for the Palio and its age-old traditions, miracles and saints like Catherine and Bernard Tolomei, art, culture, food and wine. Just 10 minutes from Piazza del Campo and very close to the train station, the three-star hotel has 56 rooms, divided into Standard, Superior and Business, a meeting room and a garage. Perfect for business trips as a vacation exploring Siena and the most beautiful cities of Tuscany, Hotel Minerva is characterized by a warm welcome and an extreme attention to the customer. CHECK-IN 3.30 P.M. CHECK-OUT 10.30 A.M. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Minerva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minerva Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing