We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Hotel Minerva

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Minerva
Ranked #18 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Really great reasonably-priced hotel. Comfortable rooms, breakfast was very good, staff very welcoming. Easy to get to the old part of Siena. Would suggest getting bus or taxi to get to hotel as it is a uphill climb. Great pizza restaurant opposite.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolann33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROCCO L, Direttore at Hotel Minerva, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Dear Carolann,

I'm really happy that you appreciated our hotel and its services. It's a great satisfaction for me and my coleagues to know that we succeded in making your stay a pleasant holiday.
I hope that you will come again to visit us and our beautiful city.
Kind regards form the Hotel Minerva's staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,334)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Minerva
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

286 - 292 of 1,334 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2013

The Hotel is located 5 blocks from the historic center. You have a great balcony with an amazing view of Old Siena. Remember to ask for the superior rooms that shares this special atribute.
The Room and the bathroom are really big, as for Europe standards.
Breakfast maybe a week point, but everything else really great, really nice and clean. Great Value, as it is not an expensive one. Nice rest during nightime, very quiet.

Room Tip: Choose superior room with balcony, you won´t regret it!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zebaztian77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROCCO L, Direttore at Hotel Minerva, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear Zebaztian,

we are glad you appreciated your stay in our hotel. We hope that you will come to visit us again, in one of your future holiday in Europe.
Best wishes from Hotel Minerva's staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Good location, about 10-15minutes walk from the historic centre, although this will involve an uphill climb to get there.

The room is on the small side, though clean and comfortable enough. The view from our first floor room was incredible - a panoramic view of the city.

On the downside, the bed covers looked like they could be hand-me-downs from granny. The walls also seemed to be paper thin and you could hear the TV in the next room.

The service was ok. It seemed to depend on who was at the front desk - some were friendlier than others.

Other info:
Parking costs EUR12 a night.
Wi-Fi cost EUR3 per 12 hours, but there is a computer in the lobby should you not wish to purchase wi-fi.
Hairdryer was pretty rubbish.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IngC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROCCO L, Direttore at Hotel Minerva, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear guest,

many thanks for your commentary. I'm glad that after all you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
Kind regards from Hotel Minerva's staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This is close to the train station but I recommend taking a taxi as it is all up hill. There is about a 5-10 minute walk to the main square, again up hill. The hotel is nice and clean. My room was a single which was not huge but more than enough room for me and the bathroom is very clean. I had a balcony which had good views. The wi fi only worked in the lobby. breakfast was pasteries, fruit, yogurt, juice, cofee...it was very good and fresh. There is an elevator, it is very small but it works great. I would stay there again. You cant beat the price for a hotel like this.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank World-wander-woman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROCCO L, Direttore at Hotel Minerva, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Dear world-wander,

me nad my colleagues are happy to know that you enjoyed your stayt in Hotel Minerva and that you loved our beautiful city.
Best wishes form Hotel Minerva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed in Minerva for one night in Siena and it was surprisingly good hotel!
we were treated very warm by the guy from the reception and he provided us with all the necessary things.
The parking is convenient - close to the hotel entrance. Moreover they let us leave the car until 14-00 in the parking (after check-out) and we had an opportunity to explore the city before leaving it. The hotel is not in the city center but you can go there by foot in 20 min. Everything is close in Siena.
We got a double room with all facilities, actually i can say everything was really good, we had even a hairdryer which was nice.
For the price of 60 euros per night we got a double room with morning breakfast.
So we were quite content to stay there.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janna_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROCCO L, Direttore at Hotel Minerva, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Dear Janna,

many thanks for you beautiful words about our hotel. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at hotel Minerva.
We hope you will come to visit us again in a next future.
Kind regards from all my staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

For anyone visiting Siena in fall or winter, we can recommend Hotel Minerva as the place to stay. We made three trips to Siena in fall–winter 2012 and stayed each time at Minerva. As the old city of Siena is closed of vehicle traffic, coming to Minerva is easy with your car even though the hotel is situated inside the old walls. There's parking just outside the entrance and also a carage. The carage is 20€ extra per night. The hotel is within walking distance from all the Sienese attractions.
The rooms facing the city are better than the ones facing the street. So it's advisable to ask for a room with a view overlooking the northern part of the city and the Franciscan church. If you come to Siena in fall you will not be able to avoid the sometimes loud voice of the "Contrada Procession" which means a lot of drum sound. It can continue way into the night and will be audible inside the rooms. You will definitely wake up to another voice, namely the church bells. From 7 a.m. onwards there will be lovely bell ringing all through the morning from the various churches.
Some of the rooms have balcony and there are even suites with small patios with fence (ideal if you come with small children).
The rooms have a stone floor which is nice in the summer but can be a bit cold in the winter. Also, prepare to take warm clothes, night gowns and socks if you come in the winter as the rooms can be cold.
The breakfast is very Italian. Don't expect a North European style buffet with whole grain breads, bacon and eggs. You will be served lovely cappuccino, yoghurt, fruits and croissant. There's also toast with cheese and prosciutto.
Hotel Minerva staff is very friendly and cordial. The room cleaning is also very good and the bathrooms are always clean. Everything inside the hotel is working well. You can also have an wi-fi internet connection inside your room for a small extra charge.
We're looking forward to visiting Minerva again.
Eero and Caroline Antturi
Helsinki, Finland

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EeroA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROCCO L, Direttore at Hotel Minerva, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Dear Eero,

many thanks for the commentary you left on this page. We are always happy to know you appreciated our rooms and the people who work in the hotel.
We know that you will come back very soon to visit us again and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel and beautiful town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed at the Minerva for a relaxing week in Tuscany. When we walked into rtheour room for the first time and opened the curtains of our two French doors, the view took my breath away. Even better, we had a balcony so we could sit Outsider, have some wine and cheese and watch life in Sienna. The room wasn't huge, but a nice size for Europe. The included breakfast Buffet had cheese and ham, and hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit and a variety of bread and rolls along with espresso drinks. We were about half a mile from the center of town and all the sights.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROCCO L, Direttore at Hotel Minerva, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Dear Marthy,

thank you for the comment you left about us. We are happy you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Minerva and we hope you will come again to visit us.
Kind regards from Hotel Minerva's staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
3,298 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 40 in Siena
2,103 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#15 of 40 in Siena
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#5 of 40 in Siena
761 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alma Domus
Hotel Alma Domus
#21 of 40 in Siena
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Minerva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Minerva

Address: Via Giuseppe Garibaldi 72, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Price Range: $79 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Minerva 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minerva Hotel is a three star hotel in the historic center of Siena, overlooking from its position the city of the Palio. Hotel Minerva is located in the heart of Siena, the medieval city known around the world for the Palio and its age-old traditions, miracles and saints like Catherine and Bernard Tolomei, art, culture, food and wine. Just 10 minutes from Piazza del Campo and very close to the train station, the three-star hotel has 56 rooms, divided into Standard, Superior and Business, a meeting room and a garage. Perfect for business trips as a vacation exploring Siena and the most beautiful cities of Tuscany, Hotel Minerva is characterized by a warm welcome and an extreme attention to the customer. CHECK-IN 3.30 P.M. CHECK-OUT 10.30 A.M. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Minerva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minerva Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing