We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cathy”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Garden
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cathy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

Just back from trip.
We did Venice,Florence and last 4 nights in sienna.
Hotel garden was a perfect ending to our holiday.Beautiful setting,lovely friendly staff,very clean rooms.Nothing was too much trouble.If I visit Siena again it will be top of my list.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    797
    788
    257
    98
    46
See reviews for
393
1,001
41
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

An excellent hotel which provided a relaxing contrast to walking around the busy streets and monuments in Siena. The grounds are wonderful and the terraces had a great view of Siena. We dined each night in the restaurant where the food was first class and we were well looked after by the Maitre D. All staff were friendly, polite and extremely helpful. The rooms were well appointed, clean and very comfortable. There are regular buses from nearby to the centre of Siena. Mention must be made of the first class barman who was most attentive and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lacey1949uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights at this lovely hotel and although it is a little out of the city it is a quiet and tranquil location. We ate in the restaurant which has a varied and tasty menu of good solid food. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and I would mention Orlando in particular who made us feel very special and welcome.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank BarbaraAndDuncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
154 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

A super hotel with great views over Siena and the hills beyond. Fantastic reception by a knowledgeable,friendly and helpful young man who spoke great English. As we were pathetic at Italian it is a good job he was! Indeed all the staff were very friendly and helpful. He suggested places to go and how to catch the bus to Siena. It is walkable but takes about 25 minutes. Note that the buses stop running about 9.00p.m. a taxi ride from the taxi stand in Siena is about 8 euro..
We were place din one of the annexes. The main building looks to have fantastic vew but may be more expensive. In the annex our room was dark and it looked out onto a grass bank. the advantage was that it stayed cool. The room was very clean and very well appointed. British tourists should note that there are no tea/coffee making facilities. Large and comfortable bed. Super bathroom (only a shower, no bath).
Breakfast is always provided and includes everything you expect including hot food such as scrambled egg and bacon. eat as much a s you want and enjoy it on the terrace with the great views of Siena.
Evening meal: do not be placed on the table in front of the red wine. We made a reservations and were given the table as a special table. If special meant being knocked by a waiter every few minutes then it was special! It was also next to the hifi which was playing the local radio station which was not always conducive to a lovely dinner. Our displeasure was obvious and the maitre d apologised. What was strange was that he found better placed tables for those who had not booked! A sweet was offered but too late really. Food was ok but not outstanding. the service and food did improve several nights later. Arrived for lunch one day ten minutes before it finished and did not receive a warm welcome form same maitre d though.
The bar was great. Fantastic selection of nibbles and food on bar from about 1600h. Atla and Ciam(?) were great hosts. Friendly and very efficient-a great experience to be in there or out on terrace,
Pool was good and there were tennis courts
Very good wifi outside busy times
Plenty of parking and well sign posted.
Despite the minor problem would thoroughly recommend this hotel and would stay again. Great centre for touring whole of Tuscany

Room Tip: Ask for main building overlooking Siena though they may cost more
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redoubtwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Located slightly out of town but walkable in 15 minutes for the fit and able; regular buses also available. The location gives it the advantage of being much more spacious than average as well as more peace and quiet. The staff deserve a special mention for their friendly and helpful approach - all of them! Our room was in the main villa. Notable for it's cleanliness and more towels than you could ever need!
My advice... Book now before they use it's advantages to turn it into a five star hotel with associated prices.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

This was a great hotel in Siena. A little bit from the square but made up for with its outrageous views and fantastic service. The rooms were decent size and they had good showers and bedding.

Highly recommended for rooms and drinks. We did not eat dinner here... But we enjoyed every aspect of the hotel. They had an English speaking bartender who was fantastic - and they provided a good happy hour selection of snacks for the guests.

Did I mention the views? Gorgeous views of the city and country side.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

My partner and I stayed 11 nights in the hotel garden. It is a 30 min walk to the walled city of Sienna. We travelled all over the tuscan region each day and looked forward to returning to the hotel each evening with its fabulous views of the tuscan countryside. The service is without doubt one of the best we have experienced. The staff are so hospitable, helpful and efficient.Donato, the restaurant manager and his team including Roberto, Amin and Giampierro are only too happy to mix and match lunch and dinner menus to suit individual choices. There are bar snacks available each evening. Atla, the bar manager mixes the best cocktails including his own special creations. Our room was clean and spacious with a big tuscan designed bed. Daily cleaning including ichange of bed linen and towels. (Big thank you to nina for this). The swimming pool is lovely and
the garden is perfect for sunbathing. We look forward to returning in the future to the best hotel in Sienna.

Room Tip: Casabianca annex, room 119 is quiet private and has a big tuscan bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#5 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,097 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,974 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
0.9 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#15 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa Scacciapensieri
Villa Scacciapensieri
#17 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garden

Property: Hotel Garden
Address: Via Custoza 2, 53100, Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prestigious Villa dated back to the 1700, located in the north part of the city, just 10 minutes form the historical centre. The large rooms are divided between the main building; different in style and colours with classic refined furnishings. The restaurant “ La Limonaia” offers typically Tuscan tastes with panoramic view. Halls will surroundyou with their frescoes in the reading room and bar area. A large ancient oaks park and a roses garden host an open air swimming pool and a tennis court. Large meeting and banqueting area. Private parking for cars and buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing