We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel with a bit of character.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Garden
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with a bit of character.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We spent a month driving round Italy in May and just turned up at hotels and B&B unannounced. With no advanced bookings we did come unstuck a couple of times, but we also had the good fortune of coming across some really nice places, like this one. Our two requirements were that it had to have free parking, yet be close enough to the centre for us to leave the car and walk. Hotel Gaden ticked both boxes with plenty of parking and a leisurely 30 minute walk into Siena, very pleasant on a warm afternoon. If you decide to take a stroll though you may need to bear in mind that the hotel is on the hilly outskirts, quick to walk down into town, a bit slower on the way back uphill, especially after a nice meal! I understand there is a bus service you can take but after a day in the car and then consuming all that lovely food and wine, we were keen to do a BIT of exersise.

Back at the property, Hotel Garden benfits from gorgeous grounds, a lovely pool area and a great outdoor seating area with splendid views of Siena. The staff were polite and unobtrusive, which we liked. As "walk in" guests we had the benefit of being shown around some of the rooms, prior to making a decision. I must say that the standard rooms were nothing special and were in our view a little disappointing for a 4 star hotel. Nevertheless, they were functional and clean but if your budget affords it, go for the "superior" rooms, we did. The rooms are a descent size, full of character and if you are on the top floor of the main "Villa" building, they afford some lovely vistas through several huge windows. The bathroom was also big and bright. The bed was very comfortable and it was very quiet at night so we slept incredibly well, but I think being on the top floor helped.

Overall, a great place to stay in a good location.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Garden Si... D, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Garden, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Alex I,

Define our hotel as a hotel with character makes us proud because it is the feeling that we want to convey to our customers.
Thank you for the wonderful review posted on Tripadvisor, I hope that it'll be useful to future travelers looking for a nice and quite hotel with a great and personal service.

thank you so much,
Gianluigi Rubbioli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    791
    777
    253
    98
    46
See reviews for
390
990
41
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here during our summer tour of italy and had a lovely time, the hotel is situated a good 20minutes walk from the city centre but is in a lovely quiet spot on an elevated position above the surrounding area. Rooms are pretty basic but clean none the less and the pool area is very nice. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Great place, staff so cool, good breakfast, free parking, lovely location with a good view of the city.

Yet, rooms although clean were a little old and could use some renewal.

Internet was to be paid, but they gave us for free, i don´t know why.

Rooms were a little far from the reception, outside the main building. Not recommended for women alone of family with kids. Not really sure if it´s safe.

In the end, the place is great. Really reccomend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardRio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clervaux, Luxembourg
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

The hotel is situated in a good location: it's close to the center. This is also good because the area is very quiet and peaceful.
The hotel has a dated and not modern furniture, but my room was cozy.
The breakfast is very good and plentiful. It 'also very good aperitif, rich and abundant.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

get treated like royalty that used to live there! eat on the terrace over-looking the city & valley. welcome change from some hotels on the tour (tiny rooms & sketchy bathrooms). drinks were a little price-y. toured the city centre ..just terrific. got to see the parade (wow!?). carry water & bring toilet paper for rest stops along the highways ... it was H-O-T.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aaaaaaaaah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is an excellent value, no luxury, but very nice, clean, well-maintained. The personnel are helpful and friendly, creating a "feel-at-home" environment. The view from the restaurant terrace onto Siena is gorgeous. Relaxing there with free snacks and a drink in the evening is the perfect ending of a day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Garden Si... D, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Garden, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Christian M,

If you "feel-at-home" we have reached our target, it is our mission, and we work hard for it!
And it is true.... at the end of the day find a relaxing place, delicious tapas with a drink in the hand is one of the most beautiful things that can happen, even more if you are in our terrace with the overview on the city of Siena.

Our Best Regards
Gianluigi Rubbioli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

This hotel is very nice. It has a beautiful view from its patio as it sits slightly elevated. Our room was clean, neat and spacious. The staff was very cordial and upgraded our room when we checked in at no charge. The bar area is a great place to visit with other hotel guests and our bartender (Atla) was our favorite. He was very friendly and really made our stay very special. The breakfast was excellent with a large variety of food. The hotel is located on the edge of town so it is an extended walk to get to the sights but enjoyable as long as you are prepared (or use the buses). The pool was closed for the season. Would enjoy a few more furnishings around the huge patio areas as it was a little barren but that may be due to the fact it was the end of season.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJH101964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#5 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,061 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,948 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.9 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#16 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garden

Property: Hotel Garden
Address: Via Custoza 2, 53100, Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prestigious Villa dated back to the 1700, located in the north part of the city, just 10 minutes form the historical centre. The large rooms are divided between the main building; different in style and colours with classic refined furnishings. The restaurant “ La Limonaia” offers typically Tuscan tastes with panoramic view. Halls will surroundyou with their frescoes in the reading room and bar area. A large ancient oaks park and a roses garden host an open air swimming pool and a tennis court. Large meeting and banqueting area. Private parking for cars and buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing