We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Center which was not a center”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Siena degli Ulivi
Ranked #26 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Reviewed May 1, 2013

The hotel was quite out of the center of the city although described as just behind the walls. We got first room close to the kitchen smelling after old used frying oil. The reception change the room eventually however without much enthusiasm.
4* must have been givenlong time ago. Definitely not a 4* hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Piotr1167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (791)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 90 of 791 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2013

the hotel is far away from a city center so forget about short walk, you will need a taxi. The first room I was checked-in smelled of used frying oil, the second was on a ex-smoking area ... horrible experience. On a bed I have found a blanket, it looked like 10 years old, I didn't use it.

So, this place rather like a huge motel, certainly not like Merure standard hotel. 4 stars on a wall at the main entrance must be sth like joke.

if you can I recommend to sleep in other places!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank martin23573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Room is big and clean. Far away from town centre. We check in and notice all the room in 1st floor 's window once u open is open widely not like others hotel. The room outside is like a roof top,people can just hop in to the room, (althaugh is 1st floor but yet is like ground fllir ouside) immediately we request to change room but was rejected, and we requested to see the manager, but the manager refused to see us. Do not accept 1st floor room.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christinaang64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The hotel is located in a very calm and pleasant neighborhood. Spacious rooms and good breakfast. The only problem is the distance from the center of Siena. You need a car or will have to use taxi everytime you want to go to the city (around 30 euros round trip)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tichaguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

If you need a rest a few kilometers from one of the most artistic towns in Italy you must stay here. Ha ve a nice sleep and the wake up and enjoy the world of Siena. After walking all day have a meal at Papei's in Piazza del Mercato

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GREGORY J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The Mercure standards every one already knows! This is a 4 star hotel with price of a 2 star.
If are traveling Italia by car (what I did) you need to consider this hotel. Is very close from the historic city - just 2 kilometers - and the parking-lot is free.
The rooms are large and very comfortable! The bad point the internet. No free wifi....
I truly recomend this hotel!

Room Tip: Try to make your reservation with anticipation. Use the Mercure website to do it. The prices in this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Celso S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Bad service - room phone was not working and stayed this way for the whole stay (3 days) although reported in the first day. No air conditioning (supposed to be a city demand but not informed during check in or before). Reception people are not very helpful. Breakfast is Ok but almost no fruits.
Rooms are good size, Beds and bathrooms are good but shower curtains have (salmon-color) mildew, a service issue

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alfi1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Executive
Hotel Executive
#22 of 40 in Siena
760 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
1 mi away
Hotel Arcobaleno
Hotel Arcobaleno
#19 of 40 in Siena
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#17 of 40 in Siena
1,514 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#16 of 40 in Siena
1,409 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel San Marco
Hotel San Marco
#9 of 40 in Siena
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Siena degli Ulivi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Siena degli Ulivi

Address: Via Antonio Lombardi 41, 53100, Siena, Italy (Formerly Mercure Siena Degli Ulivi, Academy Hotel)
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Siena
Price Range: $90 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Siena degli Ulivi 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers 143 rooms, fully equipped with 4 star amenities. Located on the threshold of the historic city walls, a few minutes from the city centre with its medieval atmosphere and the splendour of the Piazza del Campo. Ideal for business and leisure travellers alike, the hotel features a restaurant serving regional and international cuisine, a bar, a gym with sauna and modern and well equipped conference facilities. 4 suites available, to be booked with the hotel directly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Siena degli Ulivi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Siena Degli Ulivi Hotel Siena
Accor Siena Degli Ulivi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing