We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So modern it needs instructions”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Siena degli Ulivi
Ranked #26 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stayed as a single in this hotel on the Cosmos' "Splendors of Italy" tour. Very modern, very clean. But I had never stayed in a hotel where the corridor lights were motion sensitive, so when I and a couple of others got off the elevator, we stepped into darkness. It took us dancing around a bit before the lights came on. Then we got lost, and if I stopped to look at a map of the hotel floor plan, because I was still, the lights went off again. Finally found my room, opened the door, pushed buttons to turn on the lights, stepped into the room, and all the lights went out! In pitch blackness I fumbled back to the door, and only because I am BRILLIANT did I find a card holder in the wall and figure out my key card had to remain in that slot in order for the lights to stay on. Of course, when you left the room and took your key card with you, all the lights would go off. But, I had never been in such a hotel. Once I figured out how things worked, the bed was huge, clean and comfortable, and I had a nicely appointed bathroom. One tip re: this and all hotels in Italy--No tissues provided in the bathrooms and no wash clothes, either. Bring wash cloths you can discard every time you leave a hotel and a big old box of Kleenex. As for the big, tour group breakfast, it was fine, but if you didn't get there early, food was picked over pretty fast. Still, great coffee and tarts or croissants.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (796)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

91 - 97 of 796 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dwoodsie
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

last August we went to Siena for 3 days, the hotel was very comfortable , the place lovely and all around very nice...lots of people taking photos of the artistic monuments...the weather was good and we ate fantastic food in the centre.Piazza del Campo is really gorgeous.Many many tourists...the Dome is wonderful... We had already seen it, but it is worth ....
Tuscany is really beautiful, we visited also Rapolano terme and had a very relaxing day sunbathing and in the waters.....
Simply fantastic
I'd like to come back again, with my husband.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marinaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

An enjoyable stay, staff friendly and very helpfull. The hotel was quiet whilst we were there but suited us. The location is good, taxi cost 10 euros to central sienna. We will certainly recommend and will have no hesitation staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mshurmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank igb44
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

The hotel is Very good located but the problem is the service. They do not attemd Guest well and when asked about something the Answer is altas rude. I am a Guest now and imagine that i asked the reception to call a restaurant just to change a reservation i made (because i could not do it from my room) and they asked me to came to reception and do it by myself. Today september 18 they turned off the hotel Air conditioning and said that it will be turned on again only on march....Is This a really 4 star hotel ? i cannot believe it. I will never be here again.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank Viviane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This hotel lacked atmosphere and warmth. While there was nothing really wrong with this hotel there was nothing really good either. It is a short taxi ride to the centre of Siena. The room was okay and breakfast was okay the staff was okay buts that's about it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liana470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Executive
Hotel Executive
#20 of 40 in Siena
801 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#11 of 40 in Siena
2,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#16 of 40 in Siena
1,457 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 40 in Siena
2,195 reviews
1.2 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#17 of 40 in Siena
1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Siena degli Ulivi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Siena degli Ulivi

Address: Via Antonio Lombardi 41, 53100, Siena, Italy (Formerly Mercure Siena Degli Ulivi, Academy Hotel)
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Siena
Price Range: $98 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Siena degli Ulivi 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers 143 rooms, fully equipped with 4 star amenities. Located on the threshold of the historic city walls, a few minutes from the city centre with its medieval atmosphere and the splendour of the Piazza del Campo. Ideal for business and leisure travellers alike, the hotel features a restaurant serving regional and international cuisine, a bar, a gym with sauna and modern and well equipped conference facilities. 4 suites available, to be booked with the hotel directly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Siena degli Ulivi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Siena Degli Ulivi Hotel Siena
Accor Siena Degli Ulivi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing