We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good hotel, worst service i've ever seen in a hotel...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Siena degli Ulivi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Siena degli Ulivi
Ranked #23 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good hotel, worst service i've ever seen in a hotel...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

The hotel is Very good located but the problem is the service. They do not attemd Guest well and when asked about something the Answer is altas rude. I am a Guest now and imagine that i asked the reception to call a restaurant just to change a reservation i made (because i could not do it from my room) and they asked me to came to reception and do it by myself. Today september 18 they turned off the hotel Air conditioning and said that it will be turned on again only on march....Is This a really 4 star hotel ? i cannot believe it. I will never be here again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Viviane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    290
    179
    69
    47
See reviews for
145
285
34
148
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

This hotel lacked atmosphere and warmth. While there was nothing really wrong with this hotel there was nothing really good either. It is a short taxi ride to the centre of Siena. The room was okay and breakfast was okay the staff was okay buts that's about it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liana470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

While travelling through Italy, my travelling companion had a seizure and spent several days in hospital. After a dramatic ambulance trip and a few hours at the ER of the Siena University Hospital, I walked in a daze down the street to the hotel I had seen in a blur a few hours previously in the ambulance.

"My friend has just gone into hospital and I have no idea how long he'll be in there for," I said, nothing more than a piteous sweat stain from the Tuscan heat. "Please tell me you have a room."

"We do," replied the efficient desk clerk. "And we have a distress rate."

For that alone, I am grateful to this hotel! They helped get set up with internet so I could rearrange flights and hotels later in our itinerary. It's a great hotel if you happen to be stuck at the hospital for a few days. Otherwise, the clientele seemed to be business travellers and tour groups. It is a bit far out of the centre if you want to be immersed in the glory of Siena; however, there are frequent buses travelling into the old city. The breakfast buffet is not overly generous but more than adequate; most people should be able to find something to get them going for the day, whatever their dietary requirements.

Overall, I am just grateful to have had this hotel so close at hand and accommodating as I extended my stay at a moment's notice.

Room Tip: Even though I had a room right by the elevator, I was not bothered by the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miccodxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed one night in this hotel as a stage of a longer trip towards southern Italy. For us it was important to have a relaxing sleep and a good breakfast to make our long journey as comfortable as possible. This hotel was excellent for this, our room was clean and calm, the hotel is nice, not too far away from the centre, and the service which the staff gave was very friendly and professional. I would choose the same hotel next time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

I have stayed at Accor hotels all summer, for about the past month. They are usually quite good. This particular hotel has disappointed me the most.
1) They charge for internet.. not just in your room, but even in common areas... even the girl on the desk was apologetic, but apparently it is a particular passion for the hotel manager to charge for internet. This is a "Mercure" hotel and it should provide services such as free internet!!
2) They advertise themselves as "on the threshold of the walled city"... in fact they are a good 3 km from the wall and there is no way you would walk it... this hotel is nowhere near the city.
3) Worst breakfast buffet I have had at any Accor hotel in Europe (including ibis) bread, cheese a few cold cuts, and that is it!
4) I arrived just after 1pm. The desk clerk was very unfriendly and it seemed that I was disturbing him, He said I was too early, but he said "let me check to see if I have a room that is ready".... read on, as it turns out, the hotel was virtually empty, and it is a big hotel.
4) The hotel was virtualy deserted... there were maybe 10 guests at breakfast and the parking lot was empty...in the height of tourist season!!... say no more
Avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank igrundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Siena hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Bulle, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

I stayed at Mercure Siena for two nights but what surprised me was the quality of the service and how good the employees were trained. From the front desk team to the restaurant staff, they were caring and gentile. I highly recommend you to stay there! =)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gioreis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

I stayed with my two kids in a twin bedroom and had plenty of space to sleep with my two kids. Breakfast was included and ok. A bit outside of the center but provides free parking. Relatively new hotel with no particular facilities, but provides all the basics well including aircon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HansNguyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Executive
Hotel Executive
#26 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
0.5 mi away
Villa Scacciapensieri
Villa Scacciapensieri
#10 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,879 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Arcobaleno
Hotel Arcobaleno
#20 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Tre Donzelle
Hotel Tre Donzelle
#22 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Siena degli Ulivi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Siena degli Ulivi

Property: Hotel Siena degli Ulivi
Address: Via Antonio Lombardi 41, 53100, Siena, Italy (Formerly Mercure Siena Degli Ulivi, Academy Hotel)
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Siena degli Ulivi 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers 143 rooms, fully equipped with 4 star amenities. Located on the threshold of the historic city walls, a few minutes from the city centre with its medieval atmosphere and the splendour of the Piazza del Campo. Ideal for business and leisure travellers alike, the hotel features a restaurant serving regional and international cuisine, a bar, a gym with sauna and modern and well equipped conference facilities. 4 suites available, to be booked with the hotel directly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Siena degli Ulivi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Siena Degli Ulivi Hotel Siena
Accor Siena Degli Ulivi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing