We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good off-season value, would stay here again”
Review of Hotel Chiusarelli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Chiusarelli
Ranked #17 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“very good off-season value, would stay here again”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We stayed at the Chiusarelli for several days in the winter and I would stay here again. It is really conveniently located, not at all far from the "center" of things. Walking distance to everything (with lots of steep climbs...) The hotel is charming, lots of marble inside, old furnishings, etc. We had a good-sized triple room -- a queen and a single bed -- facing the street, beds on the firm side, a large bathroom with shower/bath. Comfortable. Breakfast was ample: a lot of nice fresh fruit on offer, ham, cheese, hard-boiled eggs, yogurts, etc. I can't comment on noise or lack of breakfast offerings because off-season, it was quiet and large groups of visitors were absent. The staff were very helpful and overall, we had a great visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CL W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    454
    201
    48
    23
See reviews for
174
458
58
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

We try to stay in nicer hotels at the end of our trips as a treat and although this was one of the more expensive three-star hotels, it was disappointing. The location was very good and we could walk everywhere, but the hotel or at least our room was tired looking with had no conveniences like a dresser or even a luggage rack, no shampoo, shower gel or lotion aside from some little packets of combination shampoo,conditioner and body wash. The bed was firm which we prefer over soft, but there was no top sheet over the blanket and only one extra pillow for the three of us. The bathroom was clean and although there was a shower, there was no shower curtain or door so whenever one of us showered, the floor was soaked. We had to use the towels to clean up the wet floor. I'm wondering if others had to do the same and that would explain why the towels didn't look very clean. The front desk staff was very nice and helped us get our bags to our third floor room and we were grateful for that since there was no elevator. I know it was an old villa, but I don't think it was stated that there was no elevator in the description. I hope that there will be some restoration to this lovely place in the future, but as is, I don't think I would recommend it to a friend.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nancy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location and the staff were extremely helpful. The room we stayed in was average with a view over the football stadium. Not what we expected nor wanted. Our disappointment was breakfast. By the time we arrived for breakfast the hordes from the tourist bus had cleaned out the food leaving us with very little choices.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grrdobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, RI
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We spent five nights here in April. We were four - myself, my husband and my two children. We had a king size bed plus two single beds. One of the beds was in a different room, although it was open to our room and had its own TV. The room was spacious and had a TV, although like so many Italian hotels, there was no extra chair to sit on. The bathroom was adequate but not very new. The shower, like all hotels in Italy, was quite small, but the water pressure was excellent and the hot water was plentiful. The location of the hotel is excellent - close to the center but not in the middle of all the activity. We could walk everywhere in the city. There are both free and paid parking lots nearby. The staff is excellent - so friendly and English speaking if need be. The restaurant was on the bottom floor of the building and it serves a very nice, cold breakfast: yogurt, cold cuts, cereal, rolls, fruit, etc. We would definitely stay there again and heartily recommend it.

Room Tip: Our room was on the back of the building and we were able to hear the church bells in the morning, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M0sc0wM0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid-Peninsula of the San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

The room was comfy and the location for walking into old Siema is hard to beat. Our room had a wrap around balcony on the rear of the building which afforded a view of one end of the soccer field in the local stadium right behind the hotel. There was a match on the afternoon we arrived which made getting our rented car to the hotel a challenge as the local police had blocked off several streets near the stadium, requiring us to backtrack and try three different routes to get I front of the hotel. So the lesson learned was arrive earlier on game days.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherpadad54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This hotel was easy to get to from the train station after a grueling day of Travel from Cinque Terre (Train strike's are real, and very stressful). We arrived a day earlier than scheduled due to said train strike around 8 pm, and asked the hotel concierge if they had an extra room for the night, which they did. I had to pay about 29 euro more than the following two nights but after such an exhausting day it didn't really matter. The staff were friendly and spoke decent english. They offered two great dining suggestions during our stay, especially Trattoria Pappei (ask for Amadeo). The room was just okay. I had specified that this trip was my honeymoon when booking and had asked for a special room but it seems that my request was not taken into consideration. The room had a view of the AC Siena Soccer field, which was kind of cool, but we would have preferred a view from the front side of the hotel. The bathroom although small, was clean as was the room, but there were very few elements we found comfortable. The beds are in desperate need of an upgrade! They were very stiff, and I like a firm mattress. The pillows were extremely flat and there were no extra pillows in the room. The hotel does have a restaurant but we did not dine there. Besides the mini fridge refreshments, there was nothing in the hotel, as far as I could see, that could accommodate late night beverages or snacks. Upon request you could receive an electric tea kettle and proper glassware for wine or beer. The hotel has some charm to it, and is in such a great location (10 minute walk to the piazza), but it loses points for the poor quality of bedding. After a long day sightseeing in Siena, sleep is very important, and I feel like I just tossed and turned for three nights. The staff were friendly, and accommodating but I'm not sure I would stay here next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the best view possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massies Mill, Virginia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

The location for this hotel is wonderful - right across the street from the Siena historic district. All of the staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was in the front of the hotel and we worried a bit about street noise, but it was extremely quiet all night long. The breakfast was superb and set us up for a day of sight-seeing in this beautiful area. Room and bathroom were spacious and clean. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beezzz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#7 of 40 in Siena
3,182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#18 of 40 in Siena
1,221 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#4 of 40 in Siena
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 40 in Siena
2,021 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#16 of 40 in Siena
1,368 reviews
0.3 mi away
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
#25 of 40 in Siena
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chiusarelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chiusarelli

Property: Hotel Chiusarelli
Address: Viale Curtatone 15, 53100, Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chiusarelli 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Chiusarelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chiusarelli Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing