We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old school and simple”
Review of Hotel Chiusarelli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Chiusarelli
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 13, 2013

A very good experience. The staff was professional, courteous and very helpful. Great location and very comfortable. Within walking distance of anything within the walls and the breakfast was one of the better ones we had during our stay in Italy.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vtrain1441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,031)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

186 - 192 of 1,031 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Chiusarelli in Dec. 2013. Staff was very informative prior to arrival with transportation information. Hotel was beautifully furnished, immaculate, great breakfast, and excellent location right on the border of historic Siena. Easy walking distance to Piazza Gramsci (bus stop) and historic Siena with great shopping, restaurants, the cathedral, and IL Campo, the most beautiful plaza in Italy!

Room Tip: Room 8 was on main floor (no stairs) back corner with a veranda and quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bedtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

A wonderful experience. The staff was friendly, courteous, and very helpful. Especially Barbara. She went above and beyond the call of duty. The location is excellent. A two minute walk to the main bus station. Less than 10 minutes to the historic center. And mostly flat which is surprising for Siena. The hotel is very clean and spacious. There are two sitting rooms in the lobby, one of which has a computer. Our room was on the ground floor and had a window which opened up to the back terrace, which we used often for relaxing. The bathroom was fairly big by European standards and very clean. The shower was great. In a tub meaning there was a lot of room to move around. Breakfast is downstairs in their very nicely appointed restaurant and was the best we had during our two week visit to Italy. A very nice selection of meat and cheeses, hard boiled eggs, breads and cakes, and something special every day. In summary, the best hotel I've stayed at in Italy. And I've been there seven times over the course of the last 10 years.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms in the back open up to their terrace. very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Hotel was clean and room was spacious and nicely decorated. Our room opened onto the front terrace but we were not disturbed. We had a ground floor room as we were travelling with a toddler and the hotel supplied us with a travel cot for no extra cost. Reception were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very nice. Good selection and very tasty. I would 100% recommend this hotel. Location is fantastic. About a few minutes walk from the centre. Free wifi. The garden terrace overlooks the football ground

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrsRog2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

After reading the reviews about this hotel we were most disappointed with our stay. Our room was really basic and uninviting. On entering the bathroom there was a strong smell of urine about which we complained. The desk clerk was quite rude and sent up a lovely female colleague to scrub around the toilet. The beds were hard, but this does seem typical of Italy. The bedroom was not one that you would feel comfortable spending reading time in if the weather was too bad to venture out ( as was our experience one day )
This was our third 3* hotel on our Tuscany tour ( the others were great!) and the breakfast was really poor in comparison! One morning I asked if there were any more bread rolls only to be told 'finished!', when there was actually an hour to go till breakfast time ended! We were offered stale bread slices!
Also on a downside there is no lift, so carrying cases could be a problem.
I would add that the female desk clerk Barbra????? Was delightful and very helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pauline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

First of all, the the staff was unfriendly, unhelpful and even sometimes rude. The was no parking place, as it was supposed to be. The building itself and lobby were nice, unlike the room, which was small, untidy and looked a lot cheaper, than it costed. In addition, the breakfast was awful. Never again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ryszard_Ochodzki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I was given a discount for the restaurant but never used it. Only stayed one night, that was a huge mistake. Was my first time in Siena and I love, love, love this city. At check in key was not opening door after calling maintenance finally the key worked. But the first desk gentleman had already decided to upgrade us to a mini suite. SCORE! We knew from other reviews to ask for room in back inflight sleeper which I am. Location was great close to bus terminal. Would definetly stay again.

Room Tip: If light sleeper ask for room in back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RitaOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#7 of 40 in Siena
3,401 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
778 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 40 in Siena
2,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#16 of 40 in Siena
1,410 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#18 of 40 in Siena
1,515 reviews
1.2 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chiusarelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chiusarelli

Address: Viale Curtatone 15, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Price Range: $51 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chiusarelli 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Chiusarelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chiusarelli Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing