We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid, unless you like mountaineering!”
Review of Hotel Chiusarelli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Chiusarelli
Ranked #16 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Avoid, unless you like mountaineering!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Location is good, just outside the old town.
The rest is poor!
1. What year is this? No elevator in a four star hotel??? No mention of this on the website etc! Had to climb with luggage and to traipse up & down to breakfast each morning.
2. When was this place supposed to have been refurbished? Our room did have a small balcony, but was otherwise dark and drab, with tatty furniture.
3. Lots of noise from outside - rowdy kids, church bells early, restaurant below. Noisy air con inside too!
4. Breakfast had little variety, generally poor, tables not cleared fast enough.

We had booked and prepaid for four nights, but decided to leave after three - just wrote off the money. Hotel did not ask about the reason for premature departure, nor enquire about our overall stay. Their only concern was that I would not ask for any refund or return of my money.
One of the poorest experiences we had in France and Italy. Would avoid.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guys_trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    459
    201
    48
    23
See reviews for
176
461
59
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Hotel itself is quite good. The rooms are old world charming but not updated. The location is excellent and they have a lovely terrace. The breakfast room is beautiful and the breakfast itself is pretty good. The staff however is horrible. They let you wait at the counter for 10 minutes before they will make any effort to look up to help you. When they do help you they act as if you are bothering them. This happened every time we went to the desk including checking in and checking out. We would not go back to this hotel because of the staff. While we were there we checked out alternate Hotels to recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whiterocker55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Great location inside the city walls. No lift but strong reception staff who carried bags up many flights of steps. Staff spoke basic English and were helpful and fun. They happily packed a breakfast pack for our early departure. Note to travelers: it is quite a walk uphill from the train station - so a cheap cab is a great option to preserve energy ready for walks though the steep Sienna streets. Nice and close to the centre of town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Exactly the experience we wanted in this faboulous old city. Only wished we had planned to stay longer. Our room was spacious and had two large windows opening up to fresh pre-autumn fresh air. (Don't know how loud the stadium would be had there been a football game scheduled during our stay, as it was right there)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KamaoleParadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Hotel is perfectly situated directly across the street from St. Catherine Basilica, a short distance from Piazza il Campo and the lovely town of Siena. Rooms were large and clean, although the bathroom and tub/shower were a bit small.

It was hard for my wife and I to imagine a better location in all of Siena. The staff was extra nice and helped us a book a Brunello winery tour (which we highly recommend doing). Being a sports fan, our window opened up to an interesting view of the local soccer stadium where AC Siena plays their home games. We stayed 3 nights and would book here again without hesitation. Again, hard to imagine a more convenient location. If/when we return to Siena, we will book my trip around the availability of a room at The Chiusarelli.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Good location, close to the center of city and to the bus stop, renovated building, friendly staffs, wonderful breakfast, and etc. The only disadvantage of the hotel was the lack of elevator. Our room was on the 4th floor and we had to carry our luggage up and down 4 story hotel!!!

Room Tip: Get a room on lower floors, if you have heavy luggage. No elevator is there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yar521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

On the plus side I have to say this hotel has a good location and is not very expensive. Also, we found the restaurant (where it was very quite) surprisingly good (we were tired and did not want to look for food in the centre).
On the minus side, the hotel lies next to the football stadium where a lot of cars park. It is therefore noisy. With windows shut it is much better, but then it becomes to warm (in August). The airco is efficient, but makes to much noise to fall asleep ( I am a bad sleeper). In the morning the warm water was half an hour off. It was resolved fast, but to late for us. However, we got a 5 EURO reduction for this inconvenience.
The hotel is certainly not bad, but I would probably spend more money for a hotel the next time in Siena.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BramNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
3,225 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 40 in Siena
2,046 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alma Domus
Hotel Alma Domus
#20 of 40 in Siena
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#18 of 40 in Siena
1,263 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#3 of 40 in Siena
1,420 reviews
0.3 mi away
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
#26 of 40 in Siena
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chiusarelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chiusarelli

Property: Hotel Chiusarelli
Address: Viale Curtatone 15, 53100, Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chiusarelli 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Chiusarelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chiusarelli Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing