We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm”
Review of Hotel Chiusarelli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Chiusarelli
Ranked #14 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Exactly the experience we wanted in this faboulous old city. Only wished we had planned to stay longer. Our room was spacious and had two large windows opening up to fresh pre-autumn fresh air. (Don't know how loud the stadium would be had there been a football game scheduled during our stay, as it was right there)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KamaoleParadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,008)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

272 - 278 of 1,008 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2012

Hotel is perfectly situated directly across the street from St. Catherine Basilica, a short distance from Piazza il Campo and the lovely town of Siena. Rooms were large and clean, although the bathroom and tub/shower were a bit small.

It was hard for my wife and I to imagine a better location in all of Siena. The staff was extra nice and helped us a book a Brunello winery tour (which we highly recommend doing). Being a sports fan, our window opened up to an interesting view of the local soccer stadium where AC Siena plays their home games. We stayed 3 nights and would book here again without hesitation. Again, hard to imagine a more convenient location. If/when we return to Siena, we will book my trip around the availability of a room at The Chiusarelli.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Good location, close to the center of city and to the bus stop, renovated building, friendly staffs, wonderful breakfast, and etc. The only disadvantage of the hotel was the lack of elevator. Our room was on the 4th floor and we had to carry our luggage up and down 4 story hotel!!!

Room Tip: Get a room on lower floors, if you have heavy luggage. No elevator is there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yar521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

On the plus side I have to say this hotel has a good location and is not very expensive. Also, we found the restaurant (where it was very quite) surprisingly good (we were tired and did not want to look for food in the centre).
On the minus side, the hotel lies next to the football stadium where a lot of cars park. It is therefore noisy. With windows shut it is much better, but then it becomes to warm (in August). The airco is efficient, but makes to much noise to fall asleep ( I am a bad sleeper). In the morning the warm water was half an hour off. It was resolved fast, but to late for us. However, we got a 5 EURO reduction for this inconvenience.
The hotel is certainly not bad, but I would probably spend more money for a hotel the next time in Siena.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BramNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed for two nights to visit Siena and see the Palio, the location was fantastic being right next to the bus station and a short walk to major attractions.
The staff were helpful and friendly, especially Barbera on reception who helped us with information on Siena and the Palio - and can also carry three times her body weight in suitcases!
The room was small but clean and airconditioned which we were very grateful for. Overall a great hotel for seeing Siena and the Palio.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ele2618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Stayed there for 3 nights. It is located just outside the historic center os Siena and which is reachable on foot. Easy access to the main bus station which is down the road.

The hotel itself is good, the service is good.

The two advantages were the fact that we were given a room facing the road so we could not open the window and also the fact that the air condition of the room is centraaly located and since it was very cold we had to tell the reception everyday to turn it off

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chr74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Very smart clean hotel. Staff very efficient & helpful. Lovely breakfast. Position of hotel good and pleasant outlook over the football stadium from the back of the hotel. We enjoyed using the very nice communal balcony with tables and chairs to relax on overlooking the stadium.

Room Tip: We liked our ground floor room overlooking the stadium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizibeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiusarelli, Direttore at Hotel Chiusarelli, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear Guest,
We thank you very much for your good review about our Hotel, hoping to see you soon again at our Hotel!

Kindest Regards,
Francesca Rosi
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#7 of 40 in Siena
3,337 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 40 in Siena
2,127 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#16 of 40 in Siena
1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#18 of 40 in Siena
1,356 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#5 of 40 in Siena
763 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alma Domus
Hotel Alma Domus
#21 of 40 in Siena
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chiusarelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chiusarelli

Address: Viale Curtatone 15, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Price Range: $60 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chiusarelli 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Chiusarelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chiusarelli Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing