We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good place to sleep” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Moderno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Moderno
Ranked #35 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A good place to sleep”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

The hotel sa such is nothing much. It needs a renovation urgently, but from there on it is not bad. The location is good, near the electric stairs that lead you to the inner city. The city as such is beautifull! You will love Siena.
The service of the people at the hotel is o.k and so are the rooms also.
I would say the overall it is good.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sierides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    131
    139
    72
    44
See reviews for
107
145
8
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

We decided to go to Siena for the Palio horse race during our recent trip to Europe early this month. We was overjoyed when finally got one available triple room at Hotel Moderno because most of hotels in Siena were fully booked at that time. It took about ten minutes to get to the hotel from Siena train station by taxi. The hotel location was perfect. It was just across the escalator leading to the historic center. Our triple room was compact and clean. It had a window opening to a beautiful garden. The bathroom was small but clean. There was no mini bar, tea or coffee in our room. We stayed one night at Hotel Mederno. When we checked out the next morning we forgot to take our passports back from the hotel receptionist. We did not realize it until we arrived to Rome. The hotel staffs were very nice and helpful when we called them and told them about it. They sent our passports by courier to us immediately.What a nice, memorable experience we had in Siena.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YBfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

We were very happy with Hotel Moderno in Siena. Some of the complaints I've seen on here would be valid at a fancier hotel, but when you are traveling on a tight budget I think it's important to be realistic in one's expectations. For 130 Euros a night ( which is a great price in Siena), I got a big, quiet room for 4 with a large bed for my husband and myself and 2 singles for my daughters.
The a/c was ice cold, which was a must in the middle of a heat wave. There was also a mini fridge in the room, which is a big plus. The room was a good size and perfectly clean, as was the bathroom. Yes, the bathroom was outdated, but again, this is to be expected on a budget.
Parking was free, and the location of the hotel right next to the escalator going into town was perfect. There was no in- room safe, but I just used the safe at the main desk.
The staff helped us park and unload our car upon arrival. They were also extremely helpful in giving us driving directions for road trips we took, down to suggesting both scenic routes and faster highway routes.
Also, we ate at the restaurant our last night there and it was actually quite good and well priced.
I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed here to see Siena for a day. On the plus side they offered free parking right across from the hotel and the location is great to walk straight into Siena. It's in need of upgrades but for a night, it's fine.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emilee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

The hotel is not modern anymore, but it is clean, the staff is helpfull, the breakfast is okay. Best of all: the location is perfect. you can go to the historic citycenter by escalator wich is in front of the hotel. You can park free in the street. Parking in the hotelgarage is 10 euros. Nearby also a parkingplace but this is expensive.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RiaOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed at the Moderno as we decided last minute to overnight in Siena and had no booking anywhere. Avoid if you are looking for somewhere nice as a couple, it has certainly seen better days and is anything but modern! However,the good points. It was cheap,parking was free,the front desk were very welcoming and offered us a good rate for the rooms,and the location was good. The 24 hour escalators up to the town centre are just across the street. The price we paid was a fraction of what the hotels right in the centre were charging,but we were only ten minutes walk away.
If I'm honest it wouldn't have been our first choice but we were tired and it had availability. It would certainly be a good choice if staying on a tighter budget or if arriving by car. And as much as the rooms were from a different era,they were spotlessly clean,and that is always a good thing.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rolaaand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Ronco, Switzerland
Level Contributor
321 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

It was quite difficult to find a hotel in Siena so when we found the Moderna we accepted it.
It is in a convenient location, just across the street from the escalators that take you up to the historic center. Free parking, breakfast not too bad.

Rooms are rather old, from your bedroom you can hear the shower running, toilets being flushed etc. Beds were very comfortable though and room rate was ok. You can't expect much for what we paid.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back, very noisy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patriciazu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Il Giardino
Hotel Il Giardino
#25 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#17 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
0.3 mi away
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
#24 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tre Donzelle
Hotel Tre Donzelle
#27 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel La Colonna
Hotel La Colonna
#13 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Elda
Hotel Villa Elda
#12 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moderno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moderno

Property: Hotel Moderno
Address: Via B Peruzzi 19, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Moderno 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Moderno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moderno Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing