We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Excelsior Excels”
Review of NH Siena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
NH Siena
Ranked #16 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We stayed three nights in late November. If you're arriving by bus the location is fantastic as it's across the street from the bus "terminal" which is really just a couple of curbs and not some ugly bus station. Everything was first class, from the lobby to the rooms to the breakfast to the location, just a few minutes to walk to the center of the old city. The two big complaints that people seem to have with this hotel (air conditioning issues and noise from the soccer field just behind) did not affect us at this time of year. I thought the place was wonderful and when we finally got to Florence I missed the Excelsior, and Siena too.

Our room overlooked Saint Catherine's, which is a big red brick box of a cathedral. Saint Catherine's head is inside, in a glass case. Her thumb is there as well. Apparently pieces of her are all over Italy. My guidebook said her ankle can be found in Venice! My next trip to Italy will be a Saint Catherine Tour. I intend to visit all the various pieces.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dylan15046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,473)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

235 - 241 of 1,473 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2013

It was our first visit to Siena. The hotel was tough to find in our rental car. Siena is no place for a car. Fortunately, the front desk pointed us to a free public lot about a 5+ minute walk away. The car did not move for 60 hours. The Hotel is by a small park and in the student section of town. We arrived late on a Saturday and headed out to look for dinner. We wandered then found a busy street that took us to the Piazza del Campo. It was full of people; very lively with an open market that kept going until past 8. It is a <10 min walk from the hotel. We went back every day

Our room was on the 4th floor, rear. It faced a soccer stadium (could be good or bad on game night) and had a great view of the basilica. Service was friendly and efficient. We only used the dining room for the breakfast that was included in our room rate.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

We walked into the hotel and had great expectations which quickly turned ugly. We checked in and were provided with the wrong room with too few beds so we had to change (no biggy). The new room faced the bus route and was incredibly loud...didn't get a wink of sleep. Then, the toilet broke and no one showed up to fix it. The room was hot and muggy so when we tried to reduce the temp we were told that they couldn't accommodate the request and that they were the ones who regulate the room temperatures! (Crazy!)

Simply put, I don't recommend this one.

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank Wmoore568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Very nice looking hotel and the staff were very helpful. Our room was very clean bed a great size but not a lot of space for luggage...Bathroom was very big but we did have to keep door closed as the drains could get a little smelly. we only stayed overnight so didn't bother asking to change rooms..
Location is great, although on quite a busy street but in the hotel you would never know.
Cross the road and enjoy the walk to centre So many shops, cafe's and bars. Irish pub over the road " The Dublin Post" is great.
Breakfast was wonderful, everything was so fresh and even little snacks to take with you. Check out was so easy and swift.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Having stayed in other NH Hotels and not been disappointed, we booked a 2 night stay in Siena. We were NOT disappointed, check-in was swift, the room immaculate, yes it overlooked the bus station but the double glazing was sufficient to keep out the noise. The breakfast was very good, my wife requires a gluten-free diet and the hotel staff provided GF bread and rolls immediately. Siena is an historic and therefore a very touristic city, when you have an hotel in such a location you must expect for it to be well populated and when groups arrive there are likely to be delays, There was a problem with a tour group checking in when we arrived which had apparently been caused by an agency. The hotel staff were fairly harassed and took a little longer to sort the problem out. It was eventually solved to everyone's satisfaction. Having read comments by some previous guests, I do wonder if they should have been allowed to leave their own countries.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Longfellow1928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This hotel is located just outside central Siena and is easily accessed by car. It is an easy walk to the Campo. The room was modern although showed signs of wear and tear but was of a good size ( for Europe ). The bathroom was very good with a spacious shower and plenty of storage space for your toiletries. However, space for storing clothing a bit more limited for those things that one wants to put into drawers. Noise level variable as there is a stadium adjacent to one side of the hotel. Breakfast was very good although if several large groups present then staff had trouble keeping up. Overall a decent place to stay.

Room Tip: Avoid the side of the hotel closest to the stadium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chester C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

First, a general comment about visiting Italy:You don't need / want a travel agent! Between tripadvisor, Rick Steves' book on Italy (a must have) and the internet you can do this much better than a travel company, IMO. Our tour guide which we got from Rick's book was the very best!! Tours by Roberto was one of the best things that happened to us in Italy. Roberto and his American wife handled not only our tour of the wineries but also stops at little towns with full explanation of it's history, lunch included! Roberto was our tour guide with 3 other couples, what a gem he is! Anyway back to the hotel....
This hotel, we were told was rated 4 stars. Don't rely on stars. At most it was a 1 1/2 star. Our agent booked us for 4 days stay. The hotel is right across from the major bus stop, noisy and dirty and late at night probably not safe. The hotel itself was packed and lacked any resemblance to Italy, it looked like a cheap chain hotel. The rooms, yes we switched rooms for a leaky bathroom, were terrible. The beds were thin and moved if you tried to sit up and read because they were on wheels and not attached to the head board. The best we can say is that the breakfast was good.
Siena was a blast, wine tours, piazza people watching and shopping, we will return but not stay at this hotel!
Next: On to Monterosso in CinqueTerre region....

Room Tip: Make sure the shower / tub does not leak and try the thin beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#7 of 40 in Siena
3,337 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 40 in Siena
2,127 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#18 of 40 in Siena
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental - Starhotels Collezione
1.0 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#5 of 40 in Siena
764 reviews
0.1 mi away
Relais degli Angeli
Relais degli Angeli
#6 of 40 in Siena
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Siena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Siena

Address: Piazza La Lizza | Stadium, City Centre, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Siena
#5 Luxury Hotel in Siena
Price Range: $104 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Siena 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beyond the rolling hills and plentiful olive groves of the sweeping Tuscan countryside, Siena's NH Siena (previously NH Excelsior) welcomes visitors with a striking blend of natural elegance and historic charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Siena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Excelsior Siena
Nh Excelsior Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing