We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Poor staff service.”
Review of NH Siena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Siena
Ranked #16 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great location. Poor staff service.”
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Located in a fantastic area, as the shopping precinct is close by as well as local and famous attractions. HOWEVER upon arrival, we were told our rooms had been cancelled two days prior, which we didn't get told about. Then we were put on the lowest floor, (-2) (the dungeon) which had no view and was very hot and stuffy. The staff in the reception, apart from one lady were rude and made us feel a nuisance and unwelcome. The rooms were good, clean and an alright size. One staff member in the bar/restaurant was extremely nice and helpful. The breakfast was good as there was variety.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    604
    274
    82
    46
See reviews for
205
627
37
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

The room was large and comfortable and the balcony overlooked the football ground and cathedral. The air conditioning worked well and the minibar was great for cooling snacks and drinks.

The hotel has a great location, only a few minutes from the pedestrianised streets and 10 minutes walk from the main square. There are plenty of bars and shops nearby as well as the main bus station (although some buses depart from the railway station).

If you take any day tours of Tuscany, they tend to leave from opposite the hotel. I would recommend the afternoon trip to San Gimignano and Chianti wine tasting - great views and the wine tasting was good fun!

There was a large selection at breakfast and the breakfast room wasn’t too crowded. The waiting staff were friendly and tables were constantly being cleared and food restocked.

There were two things that let the hotel down. The first was the Wi-Fi which was painfully slow. I haven’t seen webpages load this slowly since the internet was first developed! You rarely get 4 star hotels these days that don't offer a decent Wi-Fi connection.

The second was the checkout experience. When I got to the lobby there was a large queue and only one person on reception, the queue was moving slowly and people were trying to push in. Although I had paid in full in advance, you have to pay the city tax when you leave so you have no choice but to queue - you can't just drop the key and leave.
As a result of this, I missed the bus to the railway station and as I couldn't see any taxis, I had to run to catch my train. It wasn't the best parting memory of an otherwise fantastic stay in Siena.

Room Tip: Choose a Superior room and ask for one at the back of the hotel with a balcony. 108 was a great room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmd76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Las july we went to know Sienna and we stayed at this hotel for a couples of days. Summarizing the hotel was excellent. The accomodations, guest care, ammenities were just great. I strongly recommend this hotel if you need to stay at Siena. It is well located and from waling distance from downtown and train terminal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SergioStivala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Siena is a bit of a confusing town but once you orient yourself you realize that this hotel is in a great location. The room was great. They need to upgrade the TVs to flat screens but the bed, shower and lobby was great. The staff was very helpful and of course Siena was great!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JG1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Having stayed at this hotel two years ago and having what was a great experience at the time, I decided to go back in early September 2013 on my travels through Italy for 2 nights.

Unfortunately on this occassion I had a completely different experience because of the person working on reception. 'Roberto'

Put simply, Roberto was rude from the start and made us feel like he was doing us a favour by checking us in. The entire time he was 'huffing' and 'puffing' when he was looking to allocate us a room and when he did speak to us he did so in a dissmissive manner, almost to say I have better things to do to help you.

Perhaps Roberto had a long summer dealing with us silly tourists and it had finally got to him...

Shame, because we will never stay there again.

Room Tip: check if a soccer game is on and ask for a room on the street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KKDDMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We checked into this hotel on a Saturday, our room was small but had everything we needed. The check in was slow and the gentleman doing the checkin was abrupt and unfriendly. We later asked him about renting a car (sunday morning), he stood up to talk to us and treated us like we were an annoyance, then just threw his hands in the air and said "impossible to rent a car, its sunday", it was the way it was done that we didn't like, he was not a good person to have on the front desk. I had tried calling the front desk the night before to ask about car rentals as the information in our room said to do that, no one answered, I tried 5 times during the space of an hour, so very disappointed in that part, but our room and breakfast was really good, the position of the hotel in Siena was perfect, we could walk to everything.

Room Tip: Our room looked out on a soccer field, the rooms across the hall had views of the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirfield, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in September and after a very slow check in we found this hotel to be a great choice. Our room window overlooked the street with the Bus Station but we were not affected by any external noise. The room was small but clean and modern- the mini bar is expensive but has space for your own snacks. The bathroom was clean with fresh towels and toiletries daily.
Breakfast offers a wide range of choices and all seems tasty. The hotel is also close to the centre of town and the fortress which was useful.
A good stay overall.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RebeccwaaGStead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
3,222 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 40 in Siena
2,044 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#13 of 40 in Siena
2,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
0.6 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#3 of 40 in Siena
1,417 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Siena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Siena

Property: NH Siena
Address: Piazza La Lizza | Stadium, City Centre, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Siena
#5 Luxury Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Siena 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beyond the rolling hills and plentiful olive groves of the sweeping Tuscan countryside, Siena's NH Siena (previously NH Excelsior) welcomes visitors with a striking blend of natural elegance and historic charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your NH Siena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Excelsior Siena
Nh Excelsior Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing