We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but starting to look a bit worn out”
Review of NH Siena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Siena
Ranked #17 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Milan, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good location but starting to look a bit worn out”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Recently stayed at the Excelsior in Siena having traveled from Florence on the bus and found the hotel just across the road. Surprisingly the hotel was pretty quite and in a good location to walk into the city centre, the staff were really helpful. The rooms had a good amount of space and the bathroom was a nice size but the door frame was rotting and the tissue holder had fell off the wall due to the use of double tape? It does say WI-FI in the rooms which didn't work. The beds were clean and comfortable, but the carpet needed a good clean. Breakfast was good in the morning, but again unfortunately the bar had nothing suggested on the drink list? A little disappointed, just average.

Room Tip: We stayed on the opposite side to the bus stops and main road which also has a market once or twice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WBR-italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    604
    274
    82
    46
See reviews for
205
627
37
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Somerville, MA
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Excellent location if you are flying into Florence and not renting a car. Take the bus from Florence airport to Siena. Bus drops you off directly in front of the NH Excelsior. All of the city's bus lines converge across the street from the hotel. Good location to walk to the old city, Piazza del Campo and Duomo. Extensive breakfast buffet. Echoing others... the hotel doesn't exactly exude warmth. It's designed like a decent American business hotel. But since you're in a gorgeous Middle Ages city, that may not be what you're looking for. Concierge service was a little scarce. I visited for three days beginning Palm Sunday, and there did not seem to be any concierge service all Sunday afternoon. Holy Week in Italy probably shouldn't be treated as low season by hotel management. (Fortunately, my business hosts were extremely gracious about showing off their city.) In the end, a perfectly acceptable clean hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brigit-Saule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Siena is a beautiful place; the hotel is located within walking distance of all the main sites. Parking is a real problem in Siena and the hotel only has about 6 spaces at the front. We had to leave the rental car a couple of streets away which was a bit worrying but was fine in the end. For some reason the hotel has rooms under the reception floor; our room was on level -1. As a result the room was rather dark and barely had a view. It was also over furnished but only had one bedside table. It really didn’t feel like a 4 star hotel but it was decent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oribie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan, USA
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Good location just outside the walled town and near the Fortezza. Easy walk into Siena to the Piazza del Campo and Duomo. Staff a little wooden. Hotel itself is adequate for a brief stay (1 night was good). Parking is a problem. The hotel website and staff are clear that they have no parking, but the options nearby are not ideal, free parking is some distance, and confusing to a first timer. Hotel staff were not much help after I had driven around for 15 minutes trying to find a "free spot", until the bellhop suggested to me parking in the nearby fort (Fortezza). It cost around 11 euros from late afternoon to noon the next day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1805bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Hotel was very well located for walking in and out of central Siena - 5-10 min walk to Piazza del Campo. Hotel good and clean but a bit sterile - the only contact with staff seemed to be at the breakfast buffet. No dinner service and bar was always empty. We had to park car about 500m away. Gym had only 3-4 pieces of equipment. However we really enjoyed the location of the hotel and the good room for our week's stay. Siena superb - lots of restaurants and bars to try across centre.

Room Tip: Back rooms face onto the field of the 'Stadio' and toward Siena centre - best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed here as we got a good deal on the price and also looking at the map of Siena you can appreciate how close it is to the city - so location and price are definitely good plus points. Location could turn out to be a massive bonus if you are there when the Siena football team play as you are overlooking the pitch (no, not the ground - the pitch!), that is, if you like Serie B Italian football ...... it is also opposite the bus station, which is great if you intend to use one of the shuttle services to an airport (the hotel is only about €15 from the train station by taxi).

The rooms are pretty basic, still sporting an old school TV - no flat screen modernisation here my friend, and a thin mattress small double (not queen, not king) bed. Think flowery curtains and a room that your great aunt would have liked.

I gave up on the free wifi - I simply couldn't find a way to get it for free (widely publicised throughout the hotel) and probably should have asked; so don't know if it was me being a numpty or it is difficult to use for free.

The staff were 'functional' and organised a wine tour trip for us without too much effort.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndyS100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I have been staying in this hotel regularly over the last year and have really enjoyed the service and comfortable stays I have experienced. For one time stayers the location is fantastic, close to the centre of the historic centre, Piazza del Campo, and close to the bus station for further exploration of the glorious Tuscany region. I would highly recommend the hotel, routinely used by Serie A football teams (unfortunately Siena have been relegated this season!!) and other professional sporting teams (especially basketball - massive in Italy!).
The hotel staff have really upped their game over the last year with their attention to customer service and making sure your needs are met, not something always appreciated in Tuscany!
I have use the hotel for both business and leisure stays and have really enjoyed both.

Room Tip: Ask for a rear facing room these are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StuSummers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
3,226 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 40 in Siena
2,046 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#13 of 40 in Siena
2,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
0.6 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#3 of 40 in Siena
1,420 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Siena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Siena

Property: NH Siena
Address: Piazza La Lizza | Stadium, City Centre, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Siena
#5 Luxury Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Siena 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beyond the rolling hills and plentiful olive groves of the sweeping Tuscan countryside, Siena's NH Siena (previously NH Excelsior) welcomes visitors with a striking blend of natural elegance and historic charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your NH Siena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Excelsior Siena
Nh Excelsior Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing