We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable”
Review of NH Siena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Siena
Ranked #16 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
381 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I spent three nights here. I think this hotel is very well located at the north end of town. There are hotels on the other end of town, but I thought this was a better end to start from, at the top of the hill instead of the bottom. It is a prominent building, with a somewhat faceless, international hotel feel to it and is a bit dark in the lobby. But the rooms are well thought out, are bright both from lighting and from the windows, and provide a decent amount of space. (I feel particularly qualified on this topic because I had to shift to three different rooms when the first one's toilet smelled horrible and the second one's shower flooded. The hotel responded quickly and satisfactorily to these problems.) The double bed was pretty comfy with good linens, although it was two mattresses pushed together. The bathroom had good space and a rain shower and the amenities were outstanding, particularly the grapefruit-scented face soap. The towels were pretty fluffy. The Internet was weak in the room. My room had a great view of the town's soccer stadium and I watched a Serie A game from my window. The breakfasts were plentiful, varied, and filling, although the scrambled eggs were really bad. My room's temperature was almost never right due to the fact that the temperature is controlled at the front desk for some reason I certainly never understood. I found out that there was a similar power grab by the front desk when I could not get a line out and, after walking downstairs, learned the front desk had to clear something. I never understood that either. The staff were all quite proficient, although a couple could be more cheerful. Despite the negative points I note, I do recommend this hotel in Siena, and Siena as a good base for Tuscany, and I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank busyflying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    585
    269
    82
    43
See reviews for
199
606
33
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Air con in 301 is not functioning.. Just imagin whole night no hot air from air con..freezing like hell..The hotel actually control the power saving...you will end up sleeping in a cold room.. Not worth staying..did a complain to Manager SANO she was rude...answer was this is the system they have.. Can't help it.. Simply can't believe this is a 4 star hotel..!!!! Rotten luck to stay in such hotel in Europe

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lester O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
115 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This hotel is modern and well-located. The room is a typical modern hotel room... not too big, but perfectly adequate, with a desk and 2 small chairs. The bed was fine, as was the bath. Our room looked over the soccer/athletic field, a view I found rather sad, given the beauty of Siena, but we could see the lovely buildings beyond it in the distance, and we could hear the bells toll every once in a while, which was nice. One quirk of the room was quite annoying and that is that we could not run electricity through the night once the lights went out. We had to keep the lights on near the door to keep needed electricity going... and as the room was small, the brightness made the room difficult to sleep in. Luckily I could borrow an eye mask to help me sleep. Overall, I had no other complaints, but I'll probably look for a place with more character next time I visit Siena.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bettyb2973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This hotel is situated near the town square (10 min walk) of Il Campo and is near lots of interesting, quaint dining options. The room had a safe for our passports as we strolled around and took in the inspiring scenery of this beautiful town. The complimentary breakfast was fabulous, offering a wide variety of breads, meats, cheeses, fruits, etc. We would definitely stay here again. One thing - in the morning when the hotel offered to call us a cab so we could get to the train station, he didn't mention that it is quite easy to catch cabs on your own and that by accepting his help, we would be charged an additional 3 euros. Not a biggie, but we felt a little taken (and ignorant I'm sure).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny1stAv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

As many of the contributers have noted, the location of this hotel is very good. Within three minutes walk you are in Il Campo the huge main square. My room was adequate. The only problem in my room was with the air-conditioning. When it didn't seem to work I reported it to the reception. One arrogant young man informed me that the manager had ordered it to be switched off. As though that was an adequate reply. Although it was October the room was suffocating at nighttime. The breakfast was good but every morning they ran out of cups and a queue formed at the coffee machine so when a waitress arrived with about a dozen cups on a tray they were all snapped up before she had time to put the tray down. This happened every morning!. Siena is a wonderful city and attracts a lot of tourist so some hotels don't give the service that they should.

Room Tip: If the air-conditioning is off don't get a room on the front overlooking the busy bus station be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrigaholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
303 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

In general, based on the five nights my wife and I spent, the hotel is clean and well organized. Rooms are adequately large and the bathroom is quite good. The front desk, all males, have not yet smiled at any person and give extended attention to Italians when American tourists are waiting; courtesy has yet to reach this part of Italy. The location is across town from the major visitor targets, such as the Duomo Complex and the Campo, taking about twenty minutes for an unhurried walk uphill, but passes many high-quality shops. We didn't ever see a concierege, making where to ask about the city's interests a bit difficult. Air conditioning was not on even though the days were warm this year; one staff person said that an agreement with the city requires hotels to shut down A/C in October until late next spring. I asked a bartender what time he opened each day in the lounge and he said 10:30 a.m. It has in fact never opened before four or five during our time here. WiFi is now free here, a change. It is sometimes quite slow, perhaps when there are lots of people on their computers, as it varies. While there are problems, the hotel is still comfortable and clean with good rooms. We would return but be aware of imperfections.

Room Tip: On the street side, the major bus site in the city, the noise of vehicles and people is constant unt...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Dunsmurian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stay here one night. The location is great and the hotel was clean. The people at the front desk were pleasant. The restaurant service was horrible. We could get served at the bar and the wait staff was short. They had three waiters serving fifty people in the restaurant. The bartender was rude and only served the native Italians. Breakfast is the same way. Make sure you eat out.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
0.9 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#13 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,002 reviews
1.3 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#7 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Siena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Siena

Property: NH Siena
Address: Piazza La Lizza | Stadium, City Centre, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Siena
#5 Luxury Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Siena 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beyond the rolling hills and plentiful olive groves of the sweeping Tuscan countryside, Siena's NH Siena (previously NH Excelsior) welcomes visitors with a striking blend of natural elegance and historic charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your NH Siena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Excelsior Siena
Nh Excelsior Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing