We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location and Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grand Hotel Continental
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Location and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

The location of the hotel is excellent: few minutes of walk from Piazza Del Campo; in the middle of the city commercial area.

Comfortable rooms with high ceiling. Strangely, the pictures on websites don't reflect the luxury of the rooms.

Most importantly, the service. During our stay, the concierge gave us suggestions of great restaurants for all budgets. They could always get us a table, even if last minute on a busy night.

We went to a nearby Post Office to send a parcel back home. For some reasons, the box never arrived at the destination and was sent back to Siena Post office. We informed the hotel of the situation and they have been assisting us retrieving the box and send it back to us. It required several meetings with the post office people. That's what I call great after sale service!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nlaurin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBeaugonin, Executive Assistant Manager at Grand Hotel Continental, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for the kind words regarding your stay in Siena- We are pleased to know that we were able to be of best assistance to you not only during your stay but also afterwards, due to particular circumstances.

We look forward to welcoming you again in Siena, with kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    157
    53
    24
    12
See reviews for
94
357
10
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
115 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

A very quaint hotel in the middle of Siena. A great location close to shops and not a far walk from the Duomo. The staff seemed nice but they weren't very good at following up on requests or even getting the answers to questions.

Breakfast was awful. Very few selections and the food was cold. We had to ask for fresh eggs. If you can get a rate without including breakfast, do so. There are plenty of place closeby to eat.

Siena is a beautiful little town to visit!

Room Tip: Rooms facing street are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingFamily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBeaugonin, Executive Assistant Manager at Grand Hotel Continental, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Guest,
your comments have met our best attention and we apologize if your stay has not completely met your expectations. Our staff is always to complete disposal to our guests in order to assist with any requests as possibile and please excuse any inconvenience occured during your stay.
As for the breakfast, we offer complete buffet breakfast, with a wide range of products.
In order to guarantee the freshness of the cooked items, the Chef always may offer to prepare them express according to demand.

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

After a long day drive we reached this gem of a location. Arrival by car is am experience when we reached our room I opened the curtains and saw an awesome view of a plaza I felt a real pleasure of having arrived

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Salomon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBeaugonin, Executive Assistant Manager at Grand Hotel Continental, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for your time in reviewing your stay in Siena. We are pleased to know that it was a most positive experience for you.
Hoping to welcome you again in Siena.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

Beautiful, luxurious and with the best location. Service was great too, from breakfast to the concierge. We were upgraded when told we were on our honeymoon and they gave us great restaurant tips. Only annoying thing is that they charge for wifi!! Who does that anymore??

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank falbert84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBeaugonin, Executive Assistant Manager at Grand Hotel Continental, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for your comments and suggestions. We put great value to your feedback which assist us in offering always high standards of service and hospitality.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
112 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

The Grand Hotel Continental Siena is a beautiful luxury hotel located in the heart of the old walled city of Siena. It only takes a few minutes to walk to the Piazza del Campo or the Duomo, both great attractions of this lovely city.

The hotel itself is in a renovated medieval mansion. The front of the hotel is not at all imposing, but the interior space belies its modest exterior. As in many older palazzos, there is an interior courtyard, with a glass or plexiglass roof, which provides natural light for the interior. The former courtyard has been turned into a bar and restaurant, and an elevator has been added within the courtyard space.

The hotel staff were very courteous and accommodating. In particular, Elena, who checked us in, was unfailingly welcoming, charming and helpful. She escorted us to our room, which was an upgrade to a deluxe room on the top floor overlooking the city. Elena gave us some restaurant recommendations that were absolutely accurate (I tend not to trust restaurant recommendations in Italy as I have often learned that the proprietor is a relative of the concierge, but Elena’s recommendations were not tainted).

Our room was superb, furnished in a grand style and very comfortable. The bathroom was spacious, boasting a double sink and a combination tub-shower. The bathroom was luxuriously appointed, with a marble countertop, and like many European bathrooms had a bidet.

The breakfast room is grand, much more luxurious than the hotel’s restaurant, which is open only for dinner. The buffet selection is extensive and we enjoyed eating there every morning.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silverbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBeaugonin, Executive Assistant Manager at Grand Hotel Continental, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Guests,
thank you for your kind words and we appreciate that you have enjoyed both the services and the location of our hotel in order to truly enjoy your time in Siena!
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
241 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Magnificent hotel right in the heart of Siena. All major sites were an easy walk. The room was spectacular and huge. We had a terrace overlooking a little square. The bed was so comfortable and the robes were plush. The only negatives were the water in the shower would go from the right temperature to too cold or too hot. It might have been easily fixable but we didn't mention it until the end of the stay. Also our package came with a free dinner. We took it the first night because we were tired. It was just average food though the service was great. Parking is a outrageously expensive at the hotel (45 euro). We stayed there the first night because we were tired and after that parked in a lot near the stadium and walked about 10 minutes to the hotel.



The staff was amazingly friendly and helpful greeting us by name and giving us great travel advice and restaurants. Breakfast was nice too.




We got a great package on the hotel through luxury link so look around.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front are beautiful but could be a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank segmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBeaugonin, Executive Assistant Manager at Grand Hotel Continental, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for your comments which have met our best attention by taking
appropriate action where necessary.
We are pleased to know that the stay in Siena was a most pleasurable one and hope to welcome you again in the future.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom Downs, Surrey, England
Level Contributor
96 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed here for 4 days in October whilst attending a wedding nearby. The hotel is in a fabulous location, right in the heart of Siena. We had a spacious room, an Executive Double - a lovely and comfortable huge bed - and very nice bathroom with walk in shower, twin sinks, separate bath. The room was really quiet most likely because of the padded walls which soundproofed it. We also had a tiny balcony that we could step out of and look across the rooftops of Siena. Stunning view.

There was a good choice for breakfast and we ate lunch in the restaurant once. An imaginative and tasty menu was on offer. Concierge service extremely helpful.

The hotel is located in the middle of the main shopping street , lots of lovely designer shops! and a very short walk from the Piazza del Campo.

Perfect hotel for seeing Siena.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliamould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#5 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,095 reviews
1.1 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#15 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Relais degli Angeli
Relais degli Angeli
#9 of 40 in Siena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
2.3 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 40 in Siena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#3 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Continental

Property: Grand Hotel Continental
Address: Localita Banchi di Sopra 85, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Siena
#8 Family Hotel in Siena
#9 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Continental 5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Continental, a Sienese palace steeped in history, is part of Starhotels Collezione, Starhotels exceptional luxury hotel group. Grand Hotel Continental, the old town's only 5* hotel, has a privileged position a moment's stroll down cobbled medieval lanes to Siena's most important attractions, including the famous Piazza del Campo and the Romanesque-Gothic cathedral. Every one of our rooms and suites is a masterpiece, honed over centuries, designed for the tastes of the 17th century aristocracy and refined to meet the demands of the discerning modern traveller. From our beautiful classic rooms to the magnificence of our Royal Suite, our accommodation is unashamedly opulent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Jetsetter, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Continental Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing