We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Piccolo Hotel Il Palio
Ranked #39 of 40 Hotels in Siena
new york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“really bad”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2007

I stayed at this hotel for one night and got the room at the last minute. The room was about the dirtiest room I have every stayed in. I like to think that there are other, better rooms in this hotel and that they save this room only for emergencies. I was not even able to put my suitcase on the floor becuase it was so dirty.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank truffolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    21
    33
    37
    86
See reviews for
28
68
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2006

We booked this hotel through Expedia amid mixed reviews, not expecting to find what we did. Even the oldish Italy Lonely Planet recommended it, saying it was set on a "quiet square".

Quiet square - yes, the square was pretty quiet however the main road is NOT quiet, at all. We stayed in a room on the main road and the whole bathroom shook when the bus stopped at the bus stop outside the window.

Being on a hill the cars and especially the scooters are very, very noisy and can go on basically all night.

The room we stayed in didn't have air conditioning, just a small desk fan. Luckily we stayed in September and it wasn't too warm. It wasn't like you would be able to open the window because the noise could keep you awake all night.

The room was very run down, the paint was peeling from all the windows and shutters, the bathroom had shutters on the outside but no curtain or anything on the inside and the toilet was right next to the window.

There were dirty marks on the walls and a cigarette burn hole in the bed sheet. Otherwise the sheets were pretty clean. The furniture reminded me of a cheap student house.

They did have a small fridge and a television and with shutters on both the inside and outside of the bedroom windows it was very dark at night.

The staff were friendly, if you returned after 10.30pm you had to put a code in the front door, not sure how you got your key because we didn't return after this time. Didn't seem particularly secure to be honest.

The room was very small and the bathroom was of equal proportions. It wasn't dirty in a daily sense but it was dirt that had built up over months maybe even years. There was also an unusual smell that seemed to hang around.

The hotel is inside the traffic restriction zone, although they will take your registration so you can enter to unload your luggage, after this you need to park in the free parking outside the city walls. This can be tricky at peak times.

The hotel is well placed as it is basically at the top of the hill to get into the main part of the city, Siena is quite hilly out of the city centre. But also it isn't too far from where you park the car.

Breakfast is served in a small cafe across the square and consists of a croissant or other sweet pastry, coffee, juice and some crackers. Nothing special.

I would not recommend this hotel, but there didn't seem to be too much choice in Siena when we booked. If you do book, request a room away from the main road.

Despite our disappointment with this hotel, it didn't detract from the lovely time we had in Siena. It is a beautiful city and a great place to visit.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Everything - see review
  • Tips/Secrets — Go somewhere else or request for a room away from the main road
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank MissClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Siena hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2006

We were booked for 4 nights but had to move, or go nuts after 2 sleepless nights. The windows had to be kept closed due to the noise on 3 sides of the hotel, so it was hot and sweaty. The piazza was also a bus turning circle with a games parlour adjacent.

The beds sagged to the extent that I resorted to putting an extra pillow down the length of the bed to try and get comfortable. Our room had a tiny prefab plastic capsule bathroom with a blocked toilet. The "buffet breakfast" was non-existent - it had been outsourced to a place across the street with an arrogant owner who snatched our docket and would only give us one pastry each and coffee, and if you were lucky, a yoghurt, cordial juice and packed toast and spread.

The carpet in the hallways seemed to be the original floral from decades back that had never been cleaned.

I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone.

  • Liked — Easy access to bus station.
  • Disliked — Shockingly sagging beds and noise
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't go there under any circumstances.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuzanneD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2006

Stayed here for 2 nights in September 06. On the plus side, the people at reception were friendly and helpful and the hotel is located centrally. But it was definitely not worth the 100 euro or so we paid per night for a "double" room for a number of reasons.

First thing we noticed on approaching the room was the worn, smelly carpet leading up the stairs - not a good vibe for things to come. It was quite hot on arrival in Siena, so air conditioning would have been nice - wishful thinking. A small table fan was all there was - pretty much useless. Then there was the size of the room. There was barely enough room to walk round the bed. The manky carpet which was in the hall continued into the room but was even smellier inside the room. Nothing against all things rustic, but that carpet should have been replaced years ago. Moving to the bathroom we noticed, as in other hotels in Italy, that there was no shower tray, just a corner of the bathroom where you pull a shower curtain around. That was fair enough, but after even a very short shower, the whole bathroom would become flooded, and there was the danger that the water would even flow out into the bedroom. Took a while for the flood to subside too. All in all, we could not recall having stayed in a poorer hotel room, so we simply couldn't ever recommend this place.

The biggest negative was the lack of air conditioning. You'll notice that the more positive reviews of this hotel are from people who stayed in the winter. Doubt they'd be so positive if the reviewers had been subjected to a baking in one of this hotels rooms on a summers night...

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank DeDrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2006

The hotel location is very good - right in the center of the town. It is very difficult to find your way to the hotel by car, so better park outside 'traffic restricted area'. Also ask the directions beforehand (you should enter Siena from the right side - there is no way to cross the center).
Now the bad points: room was very small, not too clean (stains on the walls etc). Bathroom is clean, but water from the shower goes directly on the floor. And you have a couple of cms of water on the floor for hours. No AC and since the rooms are small, it is too hot. Also, the public areas I can't call really charming. The breakfast, served at a cafe opposite, is small. No buffet - just snack, coffee and yoghurt (they brought youghut only we noticed it in menu, it was not on the table). I suspect it is overpriced, because in other places in Italy (like Venice, Florence) for 95 EUR we got much better options. Anyway Siena is great, ant the hotel didn't spoil the visit. Staff is helpful, English speaking and nice.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — shower
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2006

I am very surprised to read some poor reviews. I thought the hotel was an excellent bargain, and the breakfast room was very nice. The hotel rooms were rather sparse, but clean. Little fridges, too. I had a nice view and could open my window onto the street. Easy to walk everywhere. My friends stayed at a pricey hotel way across town and it had no charm and they had to take a bus over to my side where everything happens. They were so jealous!

Siena is a charming, but pretty quiet town, but I definintely say this is a great place to stay. Only thing is if you stay out past 12, it requires a code to get in!

I am not student, but my niece also loved it. She was studying in Firenze and raved about my choice.

  • Stayed March 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2006

I stayed at Piccolo Hotel Il Palio this weekend for two nights with three girlfriends of mine. The room was very clean, warm and cozy. Our room had four individual beds and two windows with nice views of Via Giuseppe Garibaldi and Piazza del Sale. We had excellent service; because the hotel is small, the attention is very personal. The receptionist helped us with activity plans, bus scheduling, restaurants, etc. Our phone requests were met immediately. As college students on a budget, this hotel worked perfectly for $25/night, complimentary breakfast, and a 2-minute walk from Piazza del Campo and the main streets. We have not enjoyed a hotel as much as this historic, homey, welcoming place!!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.2 mi away
Albergo Cannon d'Oro
Albergo Cannon d'Oro
#31 of 40 in Siena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.4 mi away
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
#24 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chiusarelli
Hotel Chiusarelli
#17 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel la Perla
Hotel la Perla
#33 of 40 in Siena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alma Domus
Hotel Alma Domus
#19 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
0.1 mi away
Relais degli Angeli
Relais degli Angeli
#9 of 40 in Siena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piccolo Hotel Il Palio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piccolo Hotel Il Palio

Property: Piccolo Hotel Il Palio
Address: Piazza del Sale 18, 53100, Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Piccolo Hotel Il Palio 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel set in former Convento de Tre Mori dating from the 1400s; set in the historic centre of town near the Piazza del Campo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Piccolo Hotel Il Palio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccolo Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing