We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ignore Bad Reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Piccolo Hotel Il Palio
Ranked #39 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ignore Bad Reviews”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Please, please ignore the bad reviews for this hotel. I am really not sure where these people have been but evidently not the same place as me and my partner. Firstly the price is reasonable, especially so for a charming historic building in a wonderful city like Siena. The staff were friendly at all times and seemed to appreciate that we were making an effort to speak Italian, while being entirely able and willing to revert to English when it became necessary. The room was clean and nicely furnished with a couple of large antique style items of furniture entirely in keeping with the age of the building. The bed was especially comfortable, with sheets and bedspread as well as additional pillows/sheets in the wardrobe. The bathroom was small but perfectly adequate for two people to share. The shower could have been updated possibly, but again it was clean, and powerful enough for me to wash my very long hair, as well as being large enough for two people to use at once. We were provided with a good stock of clean soft towels in a variety of sizes, and these were changed every morning. The location of the hotel is lovely, with a nice friendly pizzaria just across the square, and only a five minute walk from the centre of the city. There is noise from outside at night, which we could hear as we left the windows open all night, however I doubt that this would have been much different anywhere in the city, and it certainly didn't keep us awake. The breakfast in the morning was very nice, with fresh fruit, a selection of cereals, cheeses, cold meats and breads as well as juice and tea/coffee from a machine. The only downside here was that my partner got a little confused by the Italian coffee machine and initially ended up with a cup of hot milk instead of the milky coffee he expected, but this was a language difficulty and was quickly sorted out. The décor in the hotel was very much on theme, with images from the Palio throughout the hotel, and a collection of Contrada flags in the reception area. The only downside here was that the carpet on the stairs was a little dated and scruffy, this could probably do with an update soon. Overall however this is an excellent hotel and I would both stay here again and recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    21
    33
    37
    86
See reviews for
28
68
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

The room was small, the bathroom was smaller and then there was the shower. Its doors slid back to allow a gap of the width of my index finger to my thumb. My wife got it but alas could not wash her hair as she could not raise her hands above her head in the 60cm x 60cm shower. I had to bend the plastic glass back to squeeze myself in like trying to get the sardines back into the tin.

I have never failed to get into a shower so I persisted and won.

Room Tip: Ask the size of the shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smithsd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Siena hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siena
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Pluses - good location, rather cheap cost.
Minuses - too small rooms, no air condition,
Other details - ok, in general.))

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Andrey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We found this hotel just by coincident and thought the buliding looked nice from the outside so we checked in for one night. The only nice thing was the balcony, the rest of the room was horrible!!!! It was so dirty, the carpet was not hoovered, the walls just dirty, the interior dated and scruffy. But the worst thing of all was the airplaine like bathroom box (white plastic cubicle). It was a joke really. It was so tiny, everything got wet and flooded when having a shower, no room for putting anything and everything was discoloured and stained!
The biggest disappointment really was, that LonelyPlanet has recommended this hotel in their Tuscany travelguide.

Room Tip: I would recommend anyone to stay here. I hope there are better rooms than the one we stayed in. Our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiaLisaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lage Vuursche
1 review
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Everything was good organized. The only thing that could better is the shower. The water came almost in the sleeping room !

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Frans V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

I would reccomend any traveller never to stay in this horrible establishment.Its medieval credentials did it no favours,on the contrary,it was the gloomiest most uugly hotel imaginable.The receptionist looked embaressed to be there.Huge flags decorated the dark,vaulted walls of the sinister entrance.No porter assisted us with baggage.No-one was on duty after 7.30pm.After 7.30pm the lifts did not work either.Coming back from dinner ,letting ourselves in with our own key,and then walking to our dark room,was a nasty experience.And the room.Well,I can only shudder at the memory.The tiny bathroom had a sickly urine stench that never went.The dark green wall to wall carpet was stained.The matresses sagged.The covers looked dirty.It was apalling in every way.Run a mile if you get offered this dump in your itinerary.

Room Tip: run away,thats my only advice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennifer d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

This place is beyond dreadful. I booked because I was charmed by the notion of a historic former monastery and it supposedly had parking. I have stayed in quirky old properties before. This was not in that category. It was dirty. There was only one power outlet, which was already occupied by the clock. The shower consisted of a drain in the floor of the bathroom. Since the drain was very slow, you had to take a zippity quick shower so the water didn't spill into the bathroom. Who knows what would have happened if I had dropped the only towel on the flooded bathroom floor because the staff left at 7:30. The "free parking lot" consists of whatever street parking you can find outside the city walls by divining the limitations in the street signs and then trying to find your way back through the streets of a medieval city.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank CassieLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.4 mi away
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
#25 of 40 in Siena
264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chiusarelli
Hotel Chiusarelli
#17 of 40 in Siena
970 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Cannon d'Oro
Albergo Cannon d'Oro
#33 of 40 in Siena
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel la Perla
Hotel la Perla
#31 of 40 in Siena
172 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tre Donzelle
Hotel Tre Donzelle
#27 of 40 in Siena
240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Relais degli Angeli
Relais degli Angeli
#3 of 40 in Siena
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piccolo Hotel Il Palio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piccolo Hotel Il Palio

Property: Piccolo Hotel Il Palio
Address: Piazza del Sale 18, 53100, Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Piccolo Hotel Il Palio 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel set in former Convento de Tre Mori dating from the 1400s; set in the historic centre of town near the Piazza del Campo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Piccolo Hotel Il Palio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccolo Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing