We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Come down …to Earth!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Osteria Il Grattacielo

Osteria Il Grattacielo
Ranked #27 of 516 Restaurants in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $16
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Cash Only, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
271 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Come down …to Earth!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

After spending the morning in beautiful Siena with the stunning square we found this very old fashion osteria. There were only 3 tables. They only had roast chicken as dish of the day plus a selection of cold dishes. We went for the mixed starter made of chick pea, salad, spinach, macherel and finocchiona (a Tuscan speciality of salami with fennel seeds inside). I had some ham after seeing the person who shared our table order some. We also had the chicken as a main course (not that we had a choice!). The starters were quite tasty although the ham was slightly nervy but with a pleasant flavour. The chicken very yummy but slightly overcooked therefore a bit dry. We had half a litre of a decent house wine with some sparkling water. The place was run by two guys and one of them did not have a nice attitude, maybe he was not happy when I asked if I could try the house wine! If I put into consideration the price/quality/attitude it didn’t turn up as good value for money as other reviewers have made me believe at € 28 (£ 24), certainly not if I put into equation the meal we had “ Da Mario” (see other review).

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Francesco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    208
    43
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“One of the highlights of our stay in Siena”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

If you are lucky enough to get one of the very few tables, order whatever you point to or get he pasta of the day. Share a table with a local and relish the moment. If you go there late in the evening you may even be lucky enough to admire the local Siena version of barbershop quartet...a bunch of guys singing and having a whale of a good time. You will feel 100% Italian for a while.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andiamo_38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Authentic, yummy, and reasonable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

This little place is just great! There is no menu but you can get either a cold plate or hot plate. Cold plate is a mix of a variety of vegetables, meats, cheeses, and eggs - the white beans were out of this world and the pecorino was the best we ever had! Hot plate is a pasta dish - we had pici. Both the cold plate and the hot plate were excellent and house wine excellent as usual. Very authentic, lots of locals, but the owner/ chef/waiter speaks english enough to explain the choices. This is a must-do!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Out of the touristy path”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Great little place (only a few tables) that is off the beaten path but well worth it. You pick a plate of mixed food such as salami, prosciutto, potato salad, pasta salad, aged cheese with a pitcher of house wine. People are friendly and the food is good. It felt like a true italian lunch

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bila66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fine local lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Great spot for a typical Italian lunch. Non touristy, good food, good service, good value in a cool location.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stever2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Il Grattacielo also viewed

Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 
Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 
Siena, Province of Siena
 

Been to Osteria Il Grattacielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing