We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pizza ever”

L'Osteria del Bigelli
Ranked #112 of 525 Restaurants in Siena
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Nella splendida cornice di Piazza del Campo, accanto alla grande pista di tufo, dove nell'aria risuona da sempre la fremente attesa del "Palio", lo scalpitio dei cavalli, la gioia ed il pianto dei senesi, ad un passo da questo, il nostro locale. In un clima denso di storia, di folclore, di tradizione, di monumenti unici potrete trovare la tranquillita per degustare i nostri piatti, in un ambiente che affonda le sue origini nelle antiche strutture medioevali con caratteristiche pareti e soffitti affrescati. La nostra cucina, basata su ricette tradizionali toscane e arricchita dllla fantasia e dalla grande esperienza del nostro chef, che puo prepararvi anche piatti particolari. Troverete inoltre vini prestigiosi del chianti, pasta fresca fatta in casa, salumi e dolci tipici del senese.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best pizza ever”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

The service was casual, friendly and efficient. 2 of us had pizza and the 3rd had risotto. The pizza was really the best we've EVER had. The location is outstanding as it's on the Campo. If you're a mix of sun lovers and shade lovers, they'll find somewhere for you. We'd definitely go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank olaj62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    154
    53
    20
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
northridge,ca
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, service and people watching.”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

The prawns were the sweetest I have ever had. Squash blossoms with bacalao were creamy and flavorful. The lamb and suckling pig were wonderful. The service was superb. We were not rushed, happy to answer all our questions and the waiter brought us complimentary biscotti that was better than any that I've had.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fitz424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Delicious Food; Great Service; Not a tourist trap”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Thank you TripAdvisors for recommending this spot on the Campo. Seven of us trying to decide where to eat heeded your advice since we were nearby. Not your typical tourist spot at all. Had terrific pizzas, huge delicious salads, great beer and wine selection and really friendly fast service. Would def go back if on the square. Thank you all.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sfwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Quality Tuscan Food in the Campo. Not a Tourist Trap!”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

If you've heard stories about terrific Tuscan food, but been struggling to find somewhere special, then visit L'Osteria del Bigelli. This place really stands out. First of all there's an incredible buffet table laid out by the door which will make your mouth water! There is outdoor seating overlooking one end of Il Campo, so it's actually more airy than the restaurant seating in the middle of the square, which gets no breeze at all. The food will not disappoint. It's more expensive, but the quality is worth it. Not the usual pizzas. The duck risotto and ossobucco were divine. I'd go back and eat here again without a moment's hesitation.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank miura74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
129 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food and Wine!”
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

The positive reviews are right, this place is a winner! Our starter was the antipasti platter. Right away it was evident that they put much more effort than other places. The mozzarella was served with black truffles which was outstanding. Much tastier than most other antipastis.


My main was a lamb ragu which was simple, elegant, and very tasty. My date's Osso Bucco was very well executed as well.
The wine list was extensive and of high quality. They have a great selection of locals and several vintages (try the 07!!), at a price.

The service was very friendly and efficient as well. Just understand, being it is a high tourist part of town, the prices are very high. There's a nice view and the great food to compensate for this, however.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Osteria del Bigelli also viewed

Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 
Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 
Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 

Been to L'Osteria del Bigelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing