We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An architectural and historical gem” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Siena Cathedral

Siena Cathedral
Book In Advance
More Info
$13.17*
and up
Duomo of Siena Complex: Skip-the-line Entry Ticket
Ranked #2 of 141 things to do in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The magnificent complex of the Cathedral of Siena, its Duomo, houses a series of some of the most important monuments of the European artistic panorama. With its more than one million visitors every year, the Cathedral without a doubt represents the fulcrum of the entire complex, while other significant elements include the Crypt, the Baptistery and the Museo dell'Opera, all part of the impressive mass formed by the "Duomo Vecchio" (Old Cathedral), and the "Duomo Nuovo" (New Cathedral). Visitors will travel along a memorable itinerary to the discovery of self and the truth of faith through culture and art, the result of more than a millennium of Western history.
Philippines
Level Contributor
100 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“An architectural and historical gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

From the Piazza del Campo or the main square of Siena, you can walk to the Siena Cathedral or the Duomo (Santa Maria Assunta or Most Holy Mary of Assumption), although it might be quite uphill in some parts (one, in particular, is a bit scary to climb if you are not wearing comfortable shoes).

The cathedral is a wonderful example of Italian Romanesque-Gothic architecture. The façade is just gorgeous, and the interior is decorated in fascinating black and white stripes and floor mosaics. The ceiling is decorated with stars.

Don't forget to take a look inside the Piccolomini Library with its magnificent ceiling and walls, and to take note of one of the steps to the Baptistery where a small cross marking where St. Catherine was tempted by the devil can be found.

The cathedral opens at 1030, so do not go there too early. The ticket to see only the cathedral costs about EUR3. In front of the cathedral is the Hospital of Santa Maria della Scala, which used to be the oldest functioning hospital in Europe.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mayfsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,687 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,390
    1,041
    152
    36
    68
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
138 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful, historic cathedral”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

I lived in Siena for four months and studied Sienese and Italian history. This cathedral is a rich piece of history and architecture. Its a fully functioning cathedral with the grand walls of a newer cathedral built around it (the Sienese wanted it to be the biggest cathedral in Italy...before everyone died from the Black Plague and couldn't finish it) You do have to pay small fees for different parts of the building, but the main part of the cathedral is free to enter. Defintely a must see!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
453 reviews
225 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3,324 helpful votes
“Top Tips for visiting Siena Cathedral”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Tip 1: Once again, i have to say...if you are in Italy, you have to work in an Italian way which is....follow what the Italians feel like doing on that day! We went there and realised that the cathedral is free to enter BUT you canno enter until you go to the nearby booth to get an entrance ticket (which cost zero euros, zero franc, zero pound, zero krone, if you get what i mean? Literally $0.00. Free!). We are not sure why we need to get a ticket even if the entrance is free. And most of off, when we were queueing up at the booth, the lady behind the counter was trying to sell us a 2 euros ticket to see the cathedral library in the cathedral! We didnt want to and she showed us a very unhappy face like as if we were some cheapskate uni students.

Tip 2: We entered the cathedral and was not dissapointed. It was magnificient. Even the tiles on the floor were depicted in a very medieval old age era.

Tip 3: We pastby the library and had a peek in there. It was just some library that filled with manuscripts and we couldnt even be bothered looking further.

Tip 4: One good thing about this cathedral? There is a rest area where you can get cheap hot yummy chocolate from the vending machines and then go for a toilet break. You might need to pay some sort of toilet fee like 50 euro cents but we walked in without paying. Teehee!

If you think my reviews have been helpful to you, please click 'Yes' for 'Was this review helpful?'

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank TravelQueenie365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
99 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Wow! After seeing St. Peters for the first time, I thought that any church after it would be just okay. This is a must. We only purchased tickets for the Duomo and Baptistery, and it was enough for me.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DoubleD1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
129 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

I have been to the Duomo's in Rome, Milan, and Florence, I agree with many that this one is the most grand. I is a sight to see.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Siena Cathedral also viewed

Siena, Province of Siena
 
Siena, Province of Siena
 

Been to Siena Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing