We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is not a 4 star hotel as advertised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo dei Priori
Ranked #38 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Granbury, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is not a 4 star hotel as advertised”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2010

We checked in and tried to turn on the air conditioner and it would not work. We were told they were fixing it but after three days, it still is not fixed. Then we asked for face towels which the hotel amenities book said they had but when I asked, they did not have any. On the second day, we asked for ice and the ice machine is also broken. So we had no ice. They do have a free happy hour that is limited to white wine or sparkling wine, potato chip, or peanuts. The grounds are not very well maintained and it is far from the train station. You can catch a bus but you have to walk up a steep hill with no sidewalks.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkguthrie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    103
    153
    99
    79
See reviews for
38
241
16
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2009

Their own Best Western hotel guide mentioned a hotel shuttle - when you ask at the front desk no such creature exists. Speaking of creatures...hello bed bugs. The restaurant is also always empty. The spaghetti is the same everywhere we went in Italy (nine cities and towns)- what is with that? It tastes like it was made by Chef Boyardee but they charge on average of 8 to 12 Euros for it - go figure! We asked about how to get into town and were told to take the bus but not told how much, where to pick it up, etc. Be aware - Italian hotels have completely different standards than most. A three or four star hotel in Italy would be a one or two star in USA/Canada.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank disappointed2themax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2009

Hotel claims to have air conditioning -- Once at the hotel however I was informed that the service is not connected before June 15th. So, if the temperature is above 87F, as it was repeatedly the second half of May 2009, you're out of luck.
Also, access without a car is not easy, yo have to climb a hill to reach the hotel (lugging suitcases, I suppose). And I wouldn't do it at night.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julioM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east sussex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2008

What a let down, after a wonderful stay in Florence at a 4 star hotel, we expected a similar experiance. Despite saying they have restaurant, bar and shuttle service to the old city- restaurant only for breakfast, no operational bar and no shuttle service. our room smelled very "drainy" and the receptionist could not have been less interested! To walk to any restaurant required a death defying walk around major roads and roundabouts. Sienna is a wonderful city, my advice is stay away and visit for a day, certainly car parks or coach parks are within reasonable safe walking distance. If you are used to a small degree of comfort, give this hotel a definite miss!

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank gunstones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Siena hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
East Sussex
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2008

Reading the latest reviews it seems that this hotel has gone downhill in the last couple of years. The advertisement we read claimed hotel has bar, conference room, restaurant with Tuscan flavours, garden, car service to historical centre. None of these existed while we were there. Room small but adequate and bathroom stale.

Too far from centre of town for easy walking so had to taxi every time. Breakfast adequate but definitely not as good as a previous comment made out.

Receptionists helpful and friendly but facilities not available so they were limited in the help they could offer.

  • Disliked — Inadequate
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnEastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex england
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2008

We were booked in as a party of 31 retirees which, considering the distance and terrain from town centre, was unfortunate but unavoidable as accommodation closer in was not available, according to our travel agent. Walking into town was not an option for many of our members, so the promise of a shuttle bus was important. Walking the 1.8k into town involves crossing and walking along busy roads with no pavements in part and mostl;y uphill.
The sole Receptionist eventually managed to check us in, but getting to the room was made difficult as the room staff had isolated one of the 2 lifts to use as a conveyance for the dirty laundry. About 4 of the party immediately requested room changes for various reasons-no bath, smelt of smoke, too small. The rooms we occupied were small with tiny shower rooms (usually no baths), no tea/coffee facilities or safe in situ (both available at Reception) and just contained 2 metal chairs as non-fitted furniture as there was no room for anything else ie sofa.
It soon became apparent that the hotel facilities were not as advertised. There was no bar and the restaurant 'with it's typical Tuscan flavours' only served breakfast, then shut. The promised 'car service to the historical centre' wasn't available either.
I asked to see the Manager shortly after arrival; he was not in the hotel and initially he could not be contacted by phone but hours late I received a message repeating that transport was not available and an alternative would not be provided. Likewise with bar and restaurant. I never did get to meet him. Reading through the comments of previous guests, he seems to be an elusive fellow. As BW do not own any hotels, I thought to contact the owner of this one direct only to be told the Manager was the owner which,if true, would explain an awful lot.
This is not a 4 star hotel in my experience. ( My experience includes 20 years in 3,4 and 5 star hotels around Europe as an Airline Pilot, up to 10 days per month). It seemed to me that the staff and facilities have been cut, possibly to save money. The Receptionists were never 'heads up' for the guests but always busy on the computers doing work which presumably would have been more appropriate in the back office (if there was one open), though one tried to be helpful. Only one staff member was apparent in the dining room at breakfast so dirty crockery tended to remain on the tables.
I would avoid this hotel in future.

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — lack of advertised facilities, absence of manager, lack of sufficient staff
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarveysGrandad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton,
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2008

This was the third hotel on our recent trip. Having been delighted with our first 2 choices, this hotel was somewhat of a disappointment.It was fairly new and not very welcoming. It advertises a shuttle service into Siena and bar facilities but in fact gives neither. I would class this hotel as somewhere where you could stop on route for one night but wouldnt want to stay there any longer.

  • Liked — very little
  • Disliked — location, no facilities of any kind
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlewse2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
1.1 mi away
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
#24 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Tre Donzelle
Hotel Tre Donzelle
#27 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Colonna
Hotel La Colonna
#12 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Marco
Hotel San Marco
#8 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo dei Priori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo dei Priori

Property: Hotel Palazzo dei Priori
Address: Via Montalbuccio Selvarelle SNC, 53100, Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo dei Priori 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Palazzo dei Priori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Siena
Best Western Siena
Siena Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing