We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a let down!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo dei Priori
Ranked #38 of 40 Hotels in Siena
east sussex
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a let down!”
Reviewed September 14, 2008

What a let down, after a wonderful stay in Florence at a 4 star hotel, we expected a similar experiance. Despite saying they have restaurant, bar and shuttle service to the old city- restaurant only for breakfast, no operational bar and no shuttle service. our room smelled very "drainy" and the receptionist could not have been less interested! To walk to any restaurant required a death defying walk around major roads and roundabouts. Sienna is a wonderful city, my advice is stay away and visit for a day, certainly car parks or coach parks are within reasonable safe walking distance. If you are used to a small degree of comfort, give this hotel a definite miss!

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank gunstones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    105
    158
    103
    92
See reviews for
43
250
16
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex
2 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2008

Reading the latest reviews it seems that this hotel has gone downhill in the last couple of years. The advertisement we read claimed hotel has bar, conference room, restaurant with Tuscan flavours, garden, car service to historical centre. None of these existed while we were there. Room small but adequate and bathroom stale.

Too far from centre of town for easy walking so had to taxi every time. Breakfast adequate but definitely not as good as a previous comment made out.

Receptionists helpful and friendly but facilities not available so they were limited in the help they could offer.

  • Disliked — Inadequate
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnEastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Siena hotels

sussex england
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2008

We were booked in as a party of 31 retirees which, considering the distance and terrain from town centre, was unfortunate but unavoidable as accommodation closer in was not available, according to our travel agent. Walking into town was not an option for many of our members, so the promise of a shuttle bus was important. Walking the 1.8k into town involves crossing and walking along busy roads with no pavements in part and mostl;y uphill.
The sole Receptionist eventually managed to check us in, but getting to the room was made difficult as the room staff had isolated one of the 2 lifts to use as a conveyance for the dirty laundry. About 4 of the party immediately requested room changes for various reasons-no bath, smelt of smoke, too small. The rooms we occupied were small with tiny shower rooms (usually no baths), no tea/coffee facilities or safe in situ (both available at Reception) and just contained 2 metal chairs as non-fitted furniture as there was no room for anything else ie sofa.
It soon became apparent that the hotel facilities were not as advertised. There was no bar and the restaurant 'with it's typical Tuscan flavours' only served breakfast, then shut. The promised 'car service to the historical centre' wasn't available either.
I asked to see the Manager shortly after arrival; he was not in the hotel and initially he could not be contacted by phone but hours late I received a message repeating that transport was not available and an alternative would not be provided. Likewise with bar and restaurant. I never did get to meet him. Reading through the comments of previous guests, he seems to be an elusive fellow. As BW do not own any hotels, I thought to contact the owner of this one direct only to be told the Manager was the owner which,if true, would explain an awful lot.
This is not a 4 star hotel in my experience. ( My experience includes 20 years in 3,4 and 5 star hotels around Europe as an Airline Pilot, up to 10 days per month). It seemed to me that the staff and facilities have been cut, possibly to save money. The Receptionists were never 'heads up' for the guests but always busy on the computers doing work which presumably would have been more appropriate in the back office (if there was one open), though one tried to be helpful. Only one staff member was apparent in the dining room at breakfast so dirty crockery tended to remain on the tables.
I would avoid this hotel in future.

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — lack of advertised facilities, absence of manager, lack of sufficient staff
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarveysGrandad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton,
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2008

This was the third hotel on our recent trip. Having been delighted with our first 2 choices, this hotel was somewhat of a disappointment.It was fairly new and not very welcoming. It advertises a shuttle service into Siena and bar facilities but in fact gives neither. I would class this hotel as somewhere where you could stop on route for one night but wouldnt want to stay there any longer.

  • Liked — very little
  • Disliked — location, no facilities of any kind
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlewse2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courbevoie, France
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2007

We stayed for two nights at this hotel. I have mixed feelings about it. The room was nice and clean but it was a little small. It was very quiet even though the motorway is not far away. We had no problem with the AC. We appreciated the large parking (especially after Firenze). The breakfast was good.
But the location of the hotel is not really that convenient if you're only interested in visiting the town of Siena. There is a local bus running every 15 to 20 minutes but it stops after 9 PM which is a problem to come back at night. It took us 30 minutes from the city centre and we had to walk on a road not very well lit and without sidewalk... A bit dangerous event though there weren't that many cars on the road. I chose this hotel because of its rate and I do not regret: it was a pretty good value for money.

  • Liked — The breakfast
  • Disliked — The location
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Frenchie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2007

Close to highway so it's easy to find. Driving distance to the old city walls. You cannot drive in the old city unless you're a town resident so don't even try- you will get a bill with a fine in the mail some time after you're home- they monitor the traffic!

Decent room and breakfast. You will have good night's sleep and the front desk is very accommodating.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank DancerUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2007

Where do I start?

Well, firstly when we arrived at the hotel we were told that the receptionist was too busy to check us in. This was without so much as a hello or an apology and this treatment really set the tone for our whole stay. I got the feeling that the guests at the hotel were a real inconvenience for the hotel staff.

During the afternoon it became apparent that the air conditioning was not working. I asked the receptoinist whether there was a problem with my room and was told that there was no air conditioning. I wouldn't normally consider this a real issue, but the hotel is located next to a motorway and therefore to have the windows open and sleep/hear yourself think it was impossible.

We were grudgingly moved to another room, on the other side of the hotel, which was much cooler and quieter. Incidentally, the new room was also clean, unlike our first room which had a dusty floor and a nasty smear of something on the wall. The rooms are pretty tiny and are very basically furnished, with a metal garden chair in each room. The hotel sounds very grand from the description - do not believe it!!!

As mentioned the hotel is located by a motorway and it is a real stretch from the beautiful medieval town. To say that the hotel is close to the town is really something that trading standards should take a look at. We didn't fancy the walk to town as it is up a very steep climb. We therefore had to rely on cabs to get us into town, which cost about 10E a go. There is a hotel taxi driver, but he only operates for a couple of hours each day.

Next morning we hoped for a good breakfast. But no - the coffee was terrible, the croissants had seen better days and I have never seen gray bacon before.

I was duped by another review and the hotel description into booking at this hotel, thinking it would be conveniently located. My experience of Italian hotels and Best Western is that the staff are really kind and helpful. So I was really disappointed by the reception we received at the hotel. I have to say I was very pleased to say goodbye to the Best Western in Siena - one night was more than enough. Siena itself is very beautiful and I will be going back very soon, just not to this hotel!

  • Liked — Hard to say
  • Disliked — The staff - they did their best to make us feel totally unwelcome
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EllieJinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
1.1 mi away
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
#26 of 40 in Siena
268 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Tre Donzelle
Hotel Tre Donzelle
#27 of 40 in Siena
240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Colonna
Hotel La Colonna
#14 of 40 in Siena
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ai Tufi Hotel
Ai Tufi Hotel
#28 of 40 in Siena
192 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Executive
Hotel Executive
#22 of 40 in Siena
678 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Vico Alto
Hotel Vico Alto
#37 of 40 in Siena
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo dei Priori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo dei Priori

Property: Hotel Palazzo dei Priori
Address: Via Montalbuccio Selvarelle SNC, 53100, Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo dei Priori 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Palazzo dei Priori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Siena
Best Western Siena
Siena Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing