We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convent - clean, cheap, convenient and quiet”
Review of Hotel Alma Domus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Alma Domus
Ranked #19 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Convent - clean, cheap, convenient and quiet”
Reviewed November 15, 2009

After a horrible experience in our other hotel in Siena (see my other reviews) we checked into the Alma Domus. Not only was it cheaper than the other place, it was much much cleaner and more charming.

The room was clean and bed was very comfortable. The shower and bathrroom were clean and basic, but with real towels. The hotel was very quiet, except for the church bells, but those hard to escape in Siena. It has a charming courtyard and free baggage storage. Breakfast is optional/extra charge. They have internet access as well.

An excellent choice for a budget hotel in Siena - I would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DC_girl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    340
    124
    32
    21
See reviews for
122
384
87
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2009

This was my 2nd time at the Alma Domus. Again, I requested a room with a view. And, agai, I wasnt disappointed, in fact, it has been upgraded, a little, since I was there 2 years ago. The rooms are small. The bathroom was functional and even had a much better shower than I remember! The perks are, the views are what you dream about when you think of Tuscany. And the location is ideal!! Just far enough away from the center to be quiet, but, close enough that walk to and from over and over throughout the day. We just loved it! The internet room was an added bonus that I didnt expect. Its not wifi, but, it certainly came in handy!! And if that isnt enough, it is a fantastic price!!! You cant beat it!!! Thanks Alma Domus for another great stay!! I'll be back!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigcheese88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, FL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2009

We're normally not directionally challenged, but we had a hard time finding this place! Make sure you grab a map at the train station (tourist office) before you head into town. Otherwise, just get off the bus at Piazza Gramsci, wander towards San Domenico, and keep asking till you find it.

Once there, we were not disappointed. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the common areas were pleasant and quaint. The room was average in size, with one double bed, and both the room and bathroom were very clean. The view of the Duomo from the balcony was gorgeous. Two computers with fast internet access are available for 1Euro/hour. Breakfast is available for 10 Euro per person per day, but we opted to find cheaper breakfast elsewhere.There is a 1am curfew, but in Siena, there's not much going on after 1am anyway.

Would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone on a budget looking for a quiet stay in a central location. Just study that map.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyinjase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2009

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for two nights. The room was very clean and I thought the bed was comfortable. My only complaint is that none of the rooms in the hotel have actual double beds. All the double rooms have two twin beds. That would be my only complaint and it is pretty minor one. So if you are looking for a budget room in a great location this is a good option.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PortlandTravelTips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2009

We stayed at Alma Domus for 3 nights. Our room was small but very cosy and comfortable (same for the bathroom) and we had a magnificent view on the Duomo from our window! There's a 1am curfew but after a day of sight seeing and a delicious meal in one of the nearby restaurants I was happy to be in bed before midnight!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Astrid2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2009

OK. So the rooms were pretty basic. But the price was good, the location was good and the view from our room, from our own balcony, was fantastic (be sure to ask for a room with a view). I was very happy with this hotel. People who don't stay at least one night in Siena are really missing out.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryInSilverSpring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
108 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2009

Pros:

- Views
- Location
- Helpful staff (we decided to leave one night earlier than we had booked and there was no problem with this, or charge)
- Cheap internet on site (1 euro/hour)

Cons:
- Small basic room

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bec_and_daz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,145 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chiusarelli
Hotel Chiusarelli
#17 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#18 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#16 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#12 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alma Domus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alma Domus

Property: Hotel Alma Domus
Address: Via Camporegio 37, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#11 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Alma Domus 1*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the center of Siena; the building that is now the Hotel began its life as the drying room of a medieval wool works (hedificum tiratorium), probably dating back to the early 1300s; several rooms have balcony with amazing view; the hotel offers a range of services and facilities including: TV lounge,Breakfast room, Reading room, Music room (with piano), Conference facilities,Internet access, Air conditioning, elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Alma Domus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Domus Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing