We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Views, views, views!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Alma Domus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Alma Domus
Ranked #19 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Views, views, views!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

We spent two nights here during Easter week. We were in room #10 which had a balcony and the most spectacular view of Siena's Cathedral and Torre del Mangia. Not all rooms have a view so be sure to ask for a "view room" when booking. The location seems out of the way but once we oriented ourselves to the city it was actually closer to everything than we initially thought. The rooms are efficient, clean and no nonsense. Breakfast was a rather uninspired so we opted out day two and picked up breakfast at a great coffee house called Torrefazione Fiorella. Price, location, comfort, cleanliness all made this a great selection. By far, this is the best one star hotel I've ever experienced!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    336
    121
    32
    21
See reviews for
120
378
86
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

Although we visited Siena during Easter (it's pretty crowded everywhere), we were surprised to find a really quiet place, yet in the center of the city.
The view was amazing, the room spacious, clean and modern, the stuff really friendly, and the breakfast, oh boy, there were so many different delicious homemade cakes, that it was so difficult to decide!
The only negative remark is the single dose packets of gel shower, it was difficult to open. And the plastic plates and glasses during breakfast, really not for the standard of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laumiere19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

beautiful rooms with a wonderful view, the lower price rooms were not good so there are significant differences between the rooms, the room was very spacey and the shower was fine, but they could be more generous with the supplies in the shower, not everyone brings everything, secondly, the wi fi was not very easy to connect. they give you a password that available for only 12 hours, take a while to connect, the breakfast was enough But the use of plastic containers was very disturbed. i do recommend the place after all mainly because of location and view

Room Tip: the simpler rooms has no view. no feeling of air and space shower very small , so not worthy of taki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taltal_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed two nights in one of the fourth floor rooms with a balcony view of old Siena. The room was spotlessly clean, each morning there is a great breakfast, and there is wifi and TV.

The front desk is staffed 24 hrs, and they were very helpful in how to get around as well as the best way to continue to our next destination. In our case one most helpful suggestion was: we were going to Venice by rail, the recommendation was to take bus to Florance, and pick up the train there. The benefits of this approach were twofold. Much shorter walk to bus than train in Siena, and shorter travel time because the bus goes non stop after last pickup in Siena, vrs local train with many stops to Florance.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConradConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eupen, Belgium
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

The renovated Alma Domus is truly a very pleasant surprise after numerous visits during the last... 40 years. Our room was very clean, large enough for a 3-nights' stay, a modern spotless bathroom and had a wonderful view over "Siena's red roofs", the Torre della Mangia and the Duomo. Excellent location next to San Domenico. Free Internet, requiring a daily visit to the reception desk for a new access code. Very efficient, courteous employees.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pasanjes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
685 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

This simple hotel - built into S. Catherine's sanctuary - is conveniently located, features picture-postcard views of Siena, and is simple and spotless. Good breakfast buffet; five minute walk to the main sites. And the staff are friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: I'm not sure if all the rooms face the city, but ask for a room on the 3rd or 4th floor with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yog-Sothoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Hotel Alma Domus is so much more than a "hotel" - it truly is a little sanctuary in the heart of Siena. It is beautifully simple and immaculately clean. The staff is wonderful and accommodating - Emmanuelle (hope I'm spelling that right) was at the front desk during the day, and I wish I could remember the night person's name; they both made my stay so much easier. I had a single room with twin beds and an amazing view of the Duomo from my little terrace. Waking up to views of Siena every morning was something I'll never forget. My bed and pillows were so comfortable, and the room was a haven to come back to each evening after a day of sightseeing. Alexandra prepares a feast of cakes, croissants, pastries, yogurt, cereal, fruit, toast, coffee, tea and juice for breakfast - she'll also whip you up a cappuccino if you ask her. There is a room, more like a living room in an elegant home, with a piano, plenty of places to lounge, a large table, and two computers if you want or need internet access and don't have your laptop with you. I didn't have a television, but I didn't want one - I was truly on vacation and unplugged. The price for my stay was extremely reasonable, and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jannd23220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#5 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,101 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,975 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chiusarelli
Hotel Chiusarelli
#17 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#16 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#15 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,326 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#11 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alma Domus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alma Domus

Property: Hotel Alma Domus
Address: Via Camporegio 37, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#11 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Alma Domus 1*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the center of Siena; the building that is now the Hotel began its life as the drying room of a medieval wool works (hedificum tiratorium), probably dating back to the early 1300s; several rooms have balcony with amazing view; the hotel offers a range of services and facilities including: TV lounge,Breakfast room, Reading room, Music room (with piano), Conference facilities,Internet access, Air conditioning, elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Alma Domus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Domus Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing